We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
Ranked #44 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
NY, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, wonderful location”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

A small hotel, but with beautiful, clean, and modern rooms. Definitely NOT the smallest room I've had in Europe! Our room had a gigantic wraparound terrace (easily the size of the room itself) with a table, chairs, wisteria, and a lovely view. The location is wonderful, right in the middle of shopping, and near the delicious Hiltl restaurant. Walking distance to the Old Town, and very close to the train station. The breakfast was fine, not spectacular, but sufficient. Were I to stay in Zurich again, this would definitely be at the top of my list.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryWethavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    227
    83
    21
    6
See reviews for
72
103
67
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Sorel hotel Seidnhof is a good hotel. I stayed there 2 times, one week in July 2008 and 3 days last week. It's very convenient for business trips because it is perfectly centrally located, you can reach any part of Zurich easily and when you come back in the evening you have plenty of shops, restaurants and bars around.

The rooms are nice, with every comfort and not too noisy (you hear the noise of the street anyway). The only problem is that there's no free internet access, which is quite common in Switzerland unfortunately.

Breakfast is good, and you can have it in your room for free, with a daily newspaper (in german). The restaurant of the hotel offers good Asian dishes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yashodara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Great location - 8 minute walk to central train station. Rooms are clean but small. Breakfast is skimpy but for me was enough (juice, coffee and cereal). Minibar was stocked. Bathroom had everything needed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 30 nights whist we relocated to Zurich. All I can say is that the staff (reception, restaurant, housekeeping, night porter) all made us feel very welcome and they could not do enough for us. I would invite them to our new home anytime.

Yes, the rooms are small compared to the UK, but bigger than NYC! But you should ask yourself how long are you in the room? The rooms have: comfort, air con, windows that you can open, white linen, coffee machines, internet (at extra ££ cost), shower gel, shampoo and liquid soap (those with a bath have a plastic duck which you can keep), chocolate ducks on your pillow on your 1st night, flat screen TV's with English channels (&pay movies), room safe, storage facility, room service, housekeeping every day. There is one computer in the small hotel lobby which has free internet - but no wifi. You can use the free wifi in Starbucks or McDonalds near by.

The location of the hotel was excellent for exploring, and it allowed us to sample many different restaurants and bars over our long stay and we got to know Zurich.

The hotel restaurant closes at 10pm (some nights before if quiet) but to be honest, although it won the Zurich 2007 Best Bistro award (I think or it might have been 2008) we ate there 4 times in the evening due to the excellent choice near by (Hidl is good). Worth noting that breakfast is served there every morning, closed on Sunday (after breakfast), and it is really busy with locals during lunch time both indoors and in its terrace (yes - during March!) serving Thai green curry, tom yum etc.

My only -ve feedback was no free wifi/business centre, free gym (although you can use the one in Jelmoli for a reduced rate) and no laundry service - only dry cleaning (which can be expensive during a long stay).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissmissh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

I have spent time at the Seidenhof every January for the last few years. It is a great little hotel. It is about a 5 minute walk from the main train station and is right off the main drag where all the shopping is. It is about a 10 minute walk to the lake.

The lobby is small, the restaurant is small, and the rooms are small! However, everything is clean and comfortable. There doesn't seem to be a lot of staff around...but the front desk staff is always nice and efficient.

This hotel is definitely no frills! However, I like it because it is in a great location, it's clean, and it's comfortable. I'm hoping to be back again next year!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillyMcWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
707 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Let's be clear: the Seidenhof is a 3 to 3.5 star hotel, and people slating it here are clearly having unrealistic expectations. Zurich hotels are in general extremely expensive and perhaps other guests were thinking that by paying such prices, they should be having luxurious accomodations.

I stay at the Seidenhof about 4-5 times a year on business. While its location is perfect, other factors keep bringing me back. Staff is friendly and efficient, and their prices are very honest (for Zurich). The whole hotel underwent renovation 1-2 years ago and the standard of the rooms improved significantly.

The rooms are well-appointed, simply yet tastefully decorated, with big beds, flatscreen TV and espresso machines, and very nice bathrooms. Room sizes vary wildly, so if you're unhappy with what you get I'd recommend asking for something else. I have once had a single room which had a very small single bed and was the size of a cell - I don't know if they still have that after the refurbishment as I still always book single rooms and have never had anything other like it.

Breakfast is nice and is served in the hotel's "budget" Asian restaurant. The restaurant is very convenient for a quick lunch or dinner, although there are other restaurants within less than 5 minutes' walk, such as Lipp or Hiltl, Zurich's oldest and finest vegetarian restaurant.

Sure, the corridors are institutional (think a Swiss residential building), but everything is very solidly built. And all walls and doors are sound-proofed. My only complaint would be towards the lift, which is small, old and slow.

The reception is small and there's no business centre, but on the plus side you can use the fitness centre across the street (Holmes Place) for a special rate.

All in all a great choice that's not too taxing in Zurich.

  • Liked — Central location, good value, nice rooms, clean.
  • Disliked — Elevator is slow.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rafkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

I stayed here for a week when working in Zurich.

The hotel is adequate, and relatively good value for Zurich which can be expensive. The hotel is also conveniently located in the city centre, and houses a decent oriental restaurant.

The place is clean, although the rooms are quite small and there is no complimentary internet access (apart from a terminal in reception which guests can use). The in-room internet is slow.

However, that aside, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — No complimentary in-room internet, rooms are small
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bucko_globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 139 in Zurich
925 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#30 of 139 in Zurich
452 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#51 of 139 in Zurich
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel City Zurich
#73 of 139 in Zurich
217 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
381 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Seidenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Seidenhof

Property: Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
Address: Sihlstrasse 9 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Zurich
#48 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sorell Hotel Seidenhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich's Bahnhofstrasse is Switzerland's best address. It's also the address of the Sorell Hotel Seidenhof. A top hotel in a top location for discerning business and leisure guests in Zurich. The Seidenhof impresses guests with its legendary breakfast buffet and restaurant Mishio with its garden oasis. Guests also benefit from room service, porter service, laundry service and 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sorell Hotel Seidenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing