We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Florhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florhof
Ranked #65 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
U.S.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Quite and friendly the staff went out of their way to assist us and even had our room decorated with roses and provided fruit and Champaign.

our room and bathroom were large and well maintained. the view of the courtyard from our room was perfect and the old section of the city was a five minute walk. one evening we were dining outside when it began to rain the staff went out of there way to make sure we got a new table in the fully booked restaurant.

the only issue i had was the restaurant got very warm with the windows closed and no A/C but it is Zurich and i don't think A/C is in high demand.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teded001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    59
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
21
56
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Hotel Florhof was an intimate quaint hotel located right in the historic district. We were traveling with our two children , 9 and 11years, and opted for the family suite which consisted of two adjoining rooms. The kids loved having their own room. The hotel was very clean and felt more like a B&B in scale. The staff at the front desk was very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. We were able to easily walk to the restaurants and down to the lake area winding though the cute narrow roads. Breakfast had something for everyone. I especially enjoyed the buttery croissant and hot strong coffee. A tram to the train station stopped within 1.5 blocks of the hotel but with the kids and luggage we opted for a taxi to take us to the train station which was a few blocks away. I would definitely return to the Hotel Florhof:

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommynotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Upon arriving to the Romantik Hotel Florhof, my friend and I had traveled via train from Vals, Switzerland, and had a lot of luggage with us and were tired. We weren't sure how long the walk would be from the main train station in Zurich to the hotel. Even though the distance looked short on the map, we were tired and had a few heavy bags so we decided to take the local bus/tram. We were pleasantly surprised that the distance from the #3 tram to the stop near the hotel was only a few short stops so we took it and had a very short walk to the entrance of the hotel. I would suggest taking this means of transportation over a taxi as the distance is short, and over walking if you have heavy baggage. We arrived at the hotel and were met with a flight of stone steps that proved to be a little more that we bargained for, however, the concierge at the hotel gladly took our bags up the stairs and to our room, which was awaiting us, even at an early hour.

The desk clerk was very friendly and offered us a drink while our bags were being delivered to the room. In no time we were situated in our room and found it not only to be beautifully appointed, but very spacious for a European boutique hotel room. We were very happy and found fresh fruit in the room as a nice welcome.

The hotel is located near the university area and we found it to be very quiet in the evening and we slept well. Breakfast was so enticing when we awoke that we snapped photographs of the charming room off the lobby that provided a very fresh and sumptuous display of fruit, fresh pastries, eggs, juices, etc. We wished we could have stayed longer but were off to the airport that morning and met with the pre-arranged cab that the hotel had kindly called for us the day before. Upon checkout, the desk clerk offered us a parting gift of swiss chocolate asking if we preferred milk or dark chocolate! It was a perfect ending to a brief stay at a very charming and comfortable hotel which we hope to return to again. I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone who is looking for a convenient location, charming and beautiful surroundings as well as a courteous and helpful staff. It was a true pleasure and a hotel that is on the top of my list for Zurich.

Room Tip: We went through a travel agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nygalonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

From the time I arrived at this hotel, I knew this would be a beautiful place to stay. My room was beautifully decorated in a 19th Century decor, and was very comfortable. Indeed, it overlooked the music school of the Zurich High School of the Arts. During the daytime, I could hear music streaming into my room, which was a lovely touch! As well, the hotel staff were very helpful and courteous!

Besides all this, the hotel is in a very good location in the centre of Zurich. It is close to many good shops and restaurants, as well as the city's main art gallery, the Kunsthaus Zurich, and the Opernhaus (Opera House). As well, it is close to Zurich's public transit.

Finally, I must point out that when I checked out of this hotel, the staff gave me a big Swiss chocolate bar! This was an appropriate parting gift for what was the best hotel stay I had during this two-week visit I made to Switzerland! I'm sure I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arejaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

My daughter had chosen it, because it is so very close to the University and I visited her there. But it is also close to the Old Zurich, a great yet quiet location. The room was very romantic, very pretty so may be it is rather destined for couples, but of course we enjoyed it greatly. Of course it is not cheap, but as usual in Switzerland you get what you paid for.Both the University Hill, the shops of Niederdorf and the main shopping of Bahnhofstrasse are in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of Zurich but rather overpriced. Even though buffet breakfast was included in our room rate, they still charge for "extras" such as scrambled, fried or omelette style eggs! The dinner is gourmet and exceptional and the wine list is great but again, pricey. The room was nice enough but the bed was too small and the mattress was rather uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raveng21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Excellent location. Ten minute walk to lake, old town and train station. A $40 taxi fare from airport.
Rooms clean and comfortable but not to par for the price. Free internet.
Breakfast, included, a sumptuous feast. Restaurant excellent ambiance and very good food. Menu European with fresh ingredients and very well prepared and served.
Service as good as I have had in 5 star hotels reflecting both training and attitude.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
160 reviews
Plattenhof Hotel
#57 of 139 in Zurich
282 reviews
Old Town
KINDLI Hotel
KINDLI Hotel
#73 of 139 in Zurich
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rossli
#54 of 139 in Zurich
294 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#22 of 139 in Zurich
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florhof

Property: Hotel Florhof
Address: Florhofgasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Formerly Romantik Hotel Florhof)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florhof 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Florhof is a unique oasis on the heart of Zurich. This boutique Hotel located in the old town of Zurich has been refurbished and renovated in summer 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Florhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing