We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Hotel Florhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florhof
Ranked #65 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Florhof remains as good as ever, though the price has escalated dramatically for those of us converting Euros or Sterling to Swiss Francs. One surprising issue is that the majority of the rooms appear still to allow smoking; the smell of smoke can be noticeable around the place to those with sensitive noses, and may be objectionable to some. The location is of course great - an easy stroll into the town centre (or an easy tram ride), wake-up calls in the form of the music students of the University next door practising Mozart, the main art gallery 100 metres away, plenty of nice and not pretentious restaurants to hand etc., etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandSOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    59
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
23
57
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I liked this hotel. It had a cosy, old-fashioned, slightly chintzy feel and the staff were friendly. However, it is about £330 a night for a double room - and it's certainly not what you'd get for that money in London. For that price, I was expecting super-luxury! Yes, yes, I know it's Zurich, and everything's a lot more expensive, but still...we had no proper shower, just a bath with a hand-held shower attachment. There were cobwebs in the bathroom that remained there through our four-night stay. The room was pretty small - and there weren't any welcome extras, like a gym, a pool, or even a TV with lots of channels. It was our honeymoon, and we informed the hotel - but the staff had given us two single beds pushed together rather than a double (and certainly we had no flowers like the honeymooning reviewer below!) The hotel's strongest point is its location - right in Zurich's beautiful old town. And the breakfast was good. We did enjoy our stay - only nitpicking because of the price!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here only one night after our long flight to Europe. We were welcomed by friendly staff who promptly took care of our luggage and then handed us our welcome beverage of choice (champagne for us...what else after an 11 hour flight!). We enjoyed our drink out in the relaxing courtyard and quickly felt like we were finally on vacation. The room was a decent size, had charming decor and was very clean. Only negative was no air conditioning, which in itself isn't too bad, but we unfortunetly left the windows open with the lights on which meant bugs flying in. Lesson learned, keep lights off at night with the windows open.

The breakfast was wonderful too. Everything from bread selection, cold cuts, delicious cheese, jam, cereal, boiled eggs and believe it or not you could also make a mimosa if you so desired (choice of juices and champange). You could also order a hot breakfast (I believe for a added fee, but I didn't look into it). After roaming around town our one night there, we returned hungry but not for a full meal. They recommended the Kantori within easy walking distance and called ahead for us checking for availability. It was the perfect option for us. Also, given the rain that had just come in, they offered us umbrellas for the short walk. Upon checkout, we were given a delicious chocolate bar for our travel.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here. We were happy that we stayed here in old town Zurich which seemed to be more peaceful than across the river, however this location is in easy walking distance to everything. I will stay here again should we travel to Zurich again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was my first trip to Zurich and stayed at the Florhof for three days. That staff was generally nice with the exception of one guy (30-40 year old) who was rude to my wife and had a bit of an attitude during work.

The good part about this hotel is that like all things in Zurich, it was clean.

The bad news is the room is SO tight that we could at any moment, open only one luggages and have zero walking room...

Overall, one bad attitude amongst a very small staff was quite unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Quite and friendly the staff went out of their way to assist us and even had our room decorated with roses and provided fruit and Champaign.

our room and bathroom were large and well maintained. the view of the courtyard from our room was perfect and the old section of the city was a five minute walk. one evening we were dining outside when it began to rain the staff went out of there way to make sure we got a new table in the fully booked restaurant.

the only issue i had was the restaurant got very warm with the windows closed and no A/C but it is Zurich and i don't think A/C is in high demand.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teded001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Hotel Florhof was an intimate quaint hotel located right in the historic district. We were traveling with our two children , 9 and 11years, and opted for the family suite which consisted of two adjoining rooms. The kids loved having their own room. The hotel was very clean and felt more like a B&B in scale. The staff at the front desk was very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. We were able to easily walk to the restaurants and down to the lake area winding though the cute narrow roads. Breakfast had something for everyone. I especially enjoyed the buttery croissant and hot strong coffee. A tram to the train station stopped within 1.5 blocks of the hotel but with the kids and luggage we opted for a taxi to take us to the train station which was a few blocks away. I would definitely return to the Hotel Florhof:

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommynotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Upon arriving to the Romantik Hotel Florhof, my friend and I had traveled via train from Vals, Switzerland, and had a lot of luggage with us and were tired. We weren't sure how long the walk would be from the main train station in Zurich to the hotel. Even though the distance looked short on the map, we were tired and had a few heavy bags so we decided to take the local bus/tram. We were pleasantly surprised that the distance from the #3 tram to the stop near the hotel was only a few short stops so we took it and had a very short walk to the entrance of the hotel. I would suggest taking this means of transportation over a taxi as the distance is short, and over walking if you have heavy baggage. We arrived at the hotel and were met with a flight of stone steps that proved to be a little more that we bargained for, however, the concierge at the hotel gladly took our bags up the stairs and to our room, which was awaiting us, even at an early hour.

The desk clerk was very friendly and offered us a drink while our bags were being delivered to the room. In no time we were situated in our room and found it not only to be beautifully appointed, but very spacious for a European boutique hotel room. We were very happy and found fresh fruit in the room as a nice welcome.

The hotel is located near the university area and we found it to be very quiet in the evening and we slept well. Breakfast was so enticing when we awoke that we snapped photographs of the charming room off the lobby that provided a very fresh and sumptuous display of fruit, fresh pastries, eggs, juices, etc. We wished we could have stayed longer but were off to the airport that morning and met with the pre-arranged cab that the hotel had kindly called for us the day before. Upon checkout, the desk clerk offered us a parting gift of swiss chocolate asking if we preferred milk or dark chocolate! It was a perfect ending to a brief stay at a very charming and comfortable hotel which we hope to return to again. I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone who is looking for a convenient location, charming and beautiful surroundings as well as a courteous and helpful staff. It was a true pleasure and a hotel that is on the top of my list for Zurich.

Room Tip: We went through a travel agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nygalonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Plattenhof Hotel
#58 of 139 in Zurich
284 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#60 of 139 in Zurich
162 reviews
Old Town
KINDLI Hotel
KINDLI Hotel
#66 of 139 in Zurich
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
859 reviews
Hotel Rossli
#51 of 139 in Zurich
299 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florhof

Property: Hotel Florhof
Address: Florhofgasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Formerly Romantik Hotel Florhof)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florhof 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Florhof is a unique oasis on the heart of Zurich. This boutique Hotel located in the old town of Zurich has been refurbished and renovated in summer 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Florhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing