We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and charming”
Review of Hotel Florhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florhof
Ranked #65 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Elegant and charming”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The hotel Florhof is in a beautiful mansion with wonderful common areas including its sitting room and breakfast room. The common area are that of a four star hotel. The rooms are really that of a three star. A quick improvement, get rid of the bed spread (which reminded me of my grandma - both in look and smell) and just leave the standard white down duvets which were hidden beneath it.

The shower handle is set too low. I am just 5'9'' and found it difficult to shower, someone taller will think even less of the showers.

The front desk was very helpful with restaurant bookings and recommendations, directions and arranging for a van to take us to the airport. My wife forgot some clothes and the hotel delivered these items to our friends hotel nearby to return to us. Very impressive and yet they forgot the wakeup call on the morning of our departure.

We did our homework when booking our Zurich hotel and found that the Florhof was about 40 francs a night more than most hotels with similar stars, locations and ratings. Something to consider when two rooms are required over several nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    59
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
21
56
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
804 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

A small to medium sized family run hotel just outside the old town but within easy walking distance of the lake, shopping, restaurants etc. Rooms are a good size, well equipped and quiet. Hotel would be a good option for couples or business people - less so for families. Restaurant is well known in Zurich for it's quality. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Only downside is the price but that's Switzerland for you. The Florhof is reasonable compared to ther options.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Frighteningly expensive unless someone else is paying, the Florhof is very comfortable. There is a low-level sense of its being really rather pleased with itself, but as its clientele seem generally to find that it offers just what they are looking for, it is not unwarranted. The rooms are fine (unless you opt for a single with a challengingly narrow bed); spotless and well maintained; and everything works exactly as it should. No kettle, alas. The lounge is rather small, but its corners are surprisingly private and snug. Breakfast is impressive; and the whole thing has an air of solid, bourgeois, comfort, with just a little more twee than necessary.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cautious_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed at the Florhof for three nights on a business trip. Location is convenient, quiet and calm but not far from Banhofstrasse. The hotel looks like a boutique hotel, but the service does't feel like it. For instance, left one afternoon under rain, there were umbrellas available at the front desk, but had to ask for it. Just two pillows on the bed and I am sure I could get more, but had to ask for it. You get the feeling. My room was a little worn out, there was a small desk, but no chair. As in many european hotels, small bathroom, which was immaculate clean, a plus in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maumac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Florhof remains as good as ever, though the price has escalated dramatically for those of us converting Euros or Sterling to Swiss Francs. One surprising issue is that the majority of the rooms appear still to allow smoking; the smell of smoke can be noticeable around the place to those with sensitive noses, and may be objectionable to some. The location is of course great - an easy stroll into the town centre (or an easy tram ride), wake-up calls in the form of the music students of the University next door practising Mozart, the main art gallery 100 metres away, plenty of nice and not pretentious restaurants to hand etc., etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandSOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I liked this hotel. It had a cosy, old-fashioned, slightly chintzy feel and the staff were friendly. However, it is about £330 a night for a double room - and it's certainly not what you'd get for that money in London. For that price, I was expecting super-luxury! Yes, yes, I know it's Zurich, and everything's a lot more expensive, but still...we had no proper shower, just a bath with a hand-held shower attachment. There were cobwebs in the bathroom that remained there through our four-night stay. The room was pretty small - and there weren't any welcome extras, like a gym, a pool, or even a TV with lots of channels. It was our honeymoon, and we informed the hotel - but the staff had given us two single beds pushed together rather than a double (and certainly we had no flowers like the honeymooning reviewer below!) The hotel's strongest point is its location - right in Zurich's beautiful old town. And the breakfast was good. We did enjoy our stay - only nitpicking because of the price!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here only one night after our long flight to Europe. We were welcomed by friendly staff who promptly took care of our luggage and then handed us our welcome beverage of choice (champagne for us...what else after an 11 hour flight!). We enjoyed our drink out in the relaxing courtyard and quickly felt like we were finally on vacation. The room was a decent size, had charming decor and was very clean. Only negative was no air conditioning, which in itself isn't too bad, but we unfortunetly left the windows open with the lights on which meant bugs flying in. Lesson learned, keep lights off at night with the windows open.

The breakfast was wonderful too. Everything from bread selection, cold cuts, delicious cheese, jam, cereal, boiled eggs and believe it or not you could also make a mimosa if you so desired (choice of juices and champange). You could also order a hot breakfast (I believe for a added fee, but I didn't look into it). After roaming around town our one night there, we returned hungry but not for a full meal. They recommended the Kantori within easy walking distance and called ahead for us checking for availability. It was the perfect option for us. Also, given the rain that had just come in, they offered us umbrellas for the short walk. Upon checkout, we were given a delicious chocolate bar for our travel.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here. We were happy that we stayed here in old town Zurich which seemed to be more peaceful than across the river, however this location is in easy walking distance to everything. I will stay here again should we travel to Zurich again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
160 reviews
Plattenhof Hotel
#57 of 139 in Zurich
282 reviews
Old Town
KINDLI Hotel
KINDLI Hotel
#73 of 139 in Zurich
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rossli
#53 of 139 in Zurich
294 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#22 of 139 in Zurich
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florhof

Property: Hotel Florhof
Address: Florhofgasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Formerly Romantik Hotel Florhof)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florhof 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Florhof is a unique oasis on the heart of Zurich. This boutique Hotel located in the old town of Zurich has been refurbished and renovated in summer 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Florhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing