We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be a patrician for one night”
Review of Hotel Florhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florhof
Ranked #65 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Be a patrician for one night”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Schiesser family transformed an once old fashioned hotel into a boutique property which is closer to four than the advertised three stars.

For Zurich their rooms represent real value for money and on my last stay I booked a package including dinner (see my review) at their restaurant. You can park your car in the driveway for a small fee. The rooms are not very big, but cosy with comfortable beds.

For our US friends: Be warned that except in the two top floor rooms which are junior suites there is NO air conditioning. So you may wish to stay at the Steigenberger Bellerive on the lake during July and August when they have lower rates.

Breakfast is great with quality priming over quantity in their cosy dining room.

Sad this being a Romantik Hotel, an unfortunatley very inconsistent marketing group which lost all its credibility. They have the potential to step up into the Relais & Chateaux league.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the fountain on a high floor, the music academy will stop at night but start ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    59
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
23
57
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford on Avon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The first night we were woken by them getting the breakfast room ready at 5.30am, as we were (unwittingly) directly above the breakfast room. It was a very small double room, with extremely old fashioned soft furnishings and an outdated bathroom. The breakfast buffet was fine, but the bread rolls they served were stale which was disappointing. they were helpful when we requested a different room due to the noise and the one we moved to was bigger, but still old fashioned and stiflingly hot.It was pretty expensive, but everything is in zurich and I can't imagine what it would cost to stay in a really luxurious hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you're not on the first floor and over the breakfast room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StratfordonAvonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Much of zurich is over priced, and glitzy, this small hotel is more traditional, decor was ye olde whatever and I really liked it. It's very near the centre, museum round the corner, churches etc. great service , polite (not easy to find in zurich) I would recommend.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The Florhof is an lovely hotel, in a great location, and with some very nice amenities. It is not however a luxury establishment, and in no way, shape, or form justifies the astronomical prices being charged. For the price, stay at the Dolder Grand instead!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedRoverNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

the room was comfortable though a bit small and facing a building. two years ago i stayed at one of the suites which was much nicer. the alley where it is located is quite but located close to tram station. the breakfast was fine with excellent coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleagues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice staff, good room, bathroom a bit unmodernized but functional. Breakfast very pleasant; downside: only international newspaper=Int Herald Trib. The worst thing was the internet - constantly kicking me out (they have a crazy system with 7 different network SSIDs, it is just amateurish).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jv_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I only stayed in this one hotel in Zurich, but it is a very good choice. Everything in that city is Expensive, so for the value I think this was a fair deal. Nice old building, just on the edge of old-town, and really pretty rooms. Staff were friendly but reserved, I speak German so cannot tell how it would be for others who do not. Amenities were fine. I would recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Plattenhof Hotel
#58 of 139 in Zurich
284 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#60 of 139 in Zurich
162 reviews
Old Town
KINDLI Hotel
KINDLI Hotel
#66 of 139 in Zurich
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
859 reviews
Hotel Rossli
#51 of 139 in Zurich
299 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florhof

Property: Hotel Florhof
Address: Florhofgasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Formerly Romantik Hotel Florhof)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florhof 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Florhof is a unique oasis on the heart of Zurich. This boutique Hotel located in the old town of Zurich has been refurbished and renovated in summer 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Florhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing