We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely small hotel”
Review of Hotel Florhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Florhof
Ranked #52 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This was the third time we have stayed at the Florhof. It is a most pleasant place: small and friendly but not intrusive. Breakfasts are perfect--wonderful breads and croissants, cereal, yogurt, eggs if you want them. Courteous staff, whatever job they are doing. Rooms are small but well proportioned and the prices are considerably less than at the big hotels in the center of town. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to the old town and a few minutes more to get to the Banhofstrasse. We look forward to arriving --but also to leaving because we get Florhof chocolate bar as a souvenir!

Room Tip: There are small suites but we feel the regular rooms are fine, just be aware that they are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FSH_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed one night and must admit that it was an unexpected pleasant surprise, particularly the location and the style of the hotel. It is located in a quite area of the city but within walking distance of the centre and all the major attractions.
It is a cosy small hotel with all the necessaries and a fine small little restaurant.
I would stay there again and recommeded.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancescoVoltini_TTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Traditional European style, small hotel. We enjoyed the convenient location outside the main part of old town, but only a five minute walk. Lots of good restaurant choices in the vicinity and convenient tram access just down the street.
Generally quiet and pretty location, although as others have mentioned you are right next door to a very active Music Conservatory. However, we found the music coming from there pleasant, some opera singing, nice piano concerto, and some strings and horns. The conservatory seems to be closed in the evenings, so we only heard the music during those brief times in the day when we were in our room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpanishRootsToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Good location near the old center of the town. Very pristine hotel with pleasant terrace for the restaurant. Our room under the roof was small and with small windows free wi fi. Nice bathroom and comfortable beds. Everywhere a clean and nice smell. the decor is eclectic and old fashioned. On the first floor a terrace for the guests of the hotel we were able to eat our light snack for lunch in the beautiful weather. It was early spring and the staff put spontaneously cushions on the chairs and the restaurant of the hotel gave us all the tools needed really nicely. The room for the breakfast has big windows and very comfortable. The breakfast was included and really good and abundant.
All the staff was welcoming and very professional. We had to leave at 5.30am and an early breakfast was prepared for us before we left. It is expensive but everything in Zurich is expensive.
They should be on the Relais et Chateaux league.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend during warm weather to avoid the rooms under the roof. and with big windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed three nights on business. The staff are welcoming and friendly - all of them. I arrived at 7am after an overnight flight and they did not complain. As it's the type of hotel that collects your room key when going out, I was impressed that all the staff knew my room number whenever I returned. The breakfast buffet was included, and was excellent. The bread is especially noteworthy, and not a stretch to say the best bread I have eaten since I moved to Asia 6 years ago! The rooms were clean, and free wifi now a must for the business traveler. The location (the top of old town) is perfect.

On the downside, my room was tiny and only included a single bed. Selection on the tv in English nothing more than CNN. The rooms were indeed a bit hot, but nothing an open window couldn't correct.

On balance, a decent hotel that is really expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Schiesser family transformed an once old fashioned hotel into a boutique property which is closer to four than the advertised three stars.

For Zurich their rooms represent real value for money and on my last stay I booked a package including dinner (see my review) at their restaurant. You can park your car in the driveway for a small fee. The rooms are not very big, but cosy with comfortable beds.

For our US friends: Be warned that except in the two top floor rooms which are junior suites there is NO air conditioning. So you may wish to stay at the Steigenberger Bellerive on the lake during July and August when they have lower rates.

Breakfast is great with quality priming over quantity in their cosy dining room.

Sad this being a Romantik Hotel, an unfortunatley very inconsistent marketing group which lost all its credibility. They have the potential to step up into the Relais & Chateaux league.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the fountain on a high floor, the music academy will stop at night but start ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank behuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The first night we were woken by them getting the breakfast room ready at 5.30am, as we were (unwittingly) directly above the breakfast room. It was a very small double room, with extremely old fashioned soft furnishings and an outdated bathroom. The breakfast buffet was fine, but the bread rolls they served were stale which was disappointing. they were helpful when we requested a different room due to the noise and the one we moved to was bigger, but still old fashioned and stiflingly hot.It was pretty expensive, but everything is in zurich and I can't imagine what it would cost to stay in a really luxurious hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you're not on the first floor and over the breakfast room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StratfordonAvonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Plattenhof Hotel
#70 of 138 in Zurich
302 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#59 of 138 in Zurich
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
KINDLI Hotel
KINDLI Hotel
#68 of 138 in Zurich
107 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
917 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#29 of 138 in Zurich
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florhof

Address: Florhofgasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Formerly Romantik Hotel Florhof)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £151 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florhof 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Florhof is a unique oasis on the heart of Zurich. This boutique Hotel located in the old town of Zurich has been refurbished and renovated in summer 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Florhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing