We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss Hospitality at Flrohof”
Review of Hotel Florhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Florhof
Ranked #64 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2006

We recently stayed at the Hotel Romantik Florhof in Zurich. We stayed as a result of a recommendation in Frommer's Switzerland guide. We were delighted. The staff is very accomodating and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely outfitted. The location is central to all major sights and business centers. Would definately stay there again.

3  Thank rrichcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Florhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2005

We finished our seventeen day honeymoon with three nights at Forhof. Allow me to write, this is a true bargain in a city that is insanely expensive for Americans.

This is truly a nice hotel. I found the staff accomodating and very friendly. The location, in the university section of the city, is just a short walk to the old town and the Kunsthus. The area is quiet, and in my opinion, one of the better areas to stay. The hotel is small, yet one feels they are in Zurich rather than the any/everywhere one feels in the cookie-cutter hotels. Our room was small, but nicely appointed.

I read numerous reviews of this hotel prior to booking. Sadly, I never read a word about the most absolutely wonderful restaurant at the hotel. Quote me on this: this was the best meal I had in all of Switzerland and northern Italy! Each course of our five course meal was made for the front page of any gourmet magazine. And the taste was equal to the presentation! As far as the previous poster from just south of us (in Boston), it's ashame you didn't indulge in a meal. As written above, Zurich is an extremely expensive city, yet, this meal, although not cheap, was a bargain! I couldn't write enough.

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. Should I go back to Zurich again, I will definitely stay here. This time, i'll book two nights at the restaurant.

NOTE: Globus, downstairs, is a great place to get wine, cheese and other goodies to bring back to the room if one wants to stay in. If only we had a Globus here in Maine.

Stayed: September 2005
12  Thank NYSExxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2005

We stayed at this Romantik in Early September as well..and had no complaints.
We stayed on the top floor, Elevator only goes to the 3rd...but our luggage was brought up the one floor spiral staircase.
We were greeted with sparkling wine and very good service throughout our stay.
I dont know why someone in a previous post got so worked up about not having a paper outside his door.......they are located in the restaurant...in German and some in English....that he had to have a blowout with mangement.
Breakfasts were very good with Champagne also availabe. Hotel was spotless, very quiet and just far enought away from the hussle and bussle of Zurich ( which gets very quiet , very early....xcept for the church bells...)
As stated we did not eat dinners there, as it was quite pricey...but we say a number of locals pull up and go in...so must be good. The garden area is also very pretty
We enjoyed our stay at the Florhoff and have nothing but good things to say about it.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dbus85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Omaha, NE
545
Reviewed 3 September 2005

This is a truly WONDERFUL hotel! Off the beaten path, in a quiet neighborhood. Rooms were comfortable, beautifully decorated, and VERY clean! Service was fantastic (where to eat, how to get places in Zurich, etc.). Nice breakfast and afternoon tea and snacks. Computer available in lobby area, along with a number of daily newspapers. Staff was simply exceptional in helping make the stay in Zurich enjoyable. (Couldn't have asked for more!)

In addition there is a very good (albiet somewhat expensive) resturant associated with the hotel.

The hotel is situated up the hill from the riverbank, so it's quiet. It is however about a 5 minute walk down to the quay (and about a 7 minute walk back).

We will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2005

A lovely hotel at first glance, with tasteful, comfortable furnishings in a leafy area, that one does not normally associate with Zurich. If you just want to feast your eyes, stay here: but if you want something more, like a newspaper in the morning hung outside your door, forget about the Florhof. Despite its appearance, this is a NON-SERVICE hotel, apart from the basics. As a matter of fact, the formidable owner got positively red-in-the-face when we asked for something that she considered `out of the ordinary'...even though we said that we would pay for it. She (the owner) is a particularly feisty individual, whose attitude is reflected in the staff. Most unfortunate, as the appearance of the hotel is quite rare. For us though, never again.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Helen Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2004

Fabulous central location, terrific service, highly recommended. Shortly before Christmas, when the snow was beginning to fall, we were delighted by this hotel, its location and its staff (and its price). The generous and delicious breakfast set us up for the day, with everything within walking distance - train station 10 minutes, downtown 5 minutes, Art Museum across the street. Quiet location (Zurich shuts down at 7pm, so everywhere is quiet) even though our room overloked the music academy, charming room, (still don't understand how across German sepaking Europe two single duvets and two single mattresses shoved together = double bed). Don't think twice, stay here.

6  Thank Crabbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2004

We spent four nights in the Florhof in April 2004. This great hotel offers real value in Zurich, which is definitely one of the more expensive European cities. The hotel is located in a 15th century merchants house, just at the edge of the Old Town. The hotel staff was great. We were welcomed with a glass of champagne and treated like family while we were there. We had an early flight out, and were in the lobby before 5:00 a.m., but the desk clerk went into the kitchen and fixed us coffee while we waited for the taxi. The restaurant is terrific, but it is not open on Saturdays and Sundays. Our room was on the ground floor, at the end of an alley, which we weren't crazy about at first. But just across the alley is a music school, so we were treated to classical piano and violin each afternoon that we were in the room. Zurich is a great city, and I don't see how you could do better than the Florhof.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank yadkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Plattenhof Hotel
#63 of 138 in Zurich
291 reviews
Old Town
KINDLI Hotel
KINDLI Hotel
#69 of 138 in Zurich
98 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#59 of 138 in Zurich
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rossli
#49 of 138 in Zurich
308 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#55 of 138 in Zurich
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florhof

Address: Florhofgasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Formerly Romantik Hotel Florhof)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £207 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florhof 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Florhof is a unique oasis on the heart of Zurich. This boutique Hotel located in the old town of Zurich has been refurbished and renovated in summer 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Florhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing