We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, average service, basic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Zurich
Ranked #43 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This Hotel is very well located: a very short walk from Zurich main train station, in a calm neighborhood.

Rooms are small and very basic (IBIS style) but efficient and comfortable enough. I did miss some amenities (e.g. in-room safe, some pieces of furniture) and the furniture style is slightly bellow IBIS itself, but overall it was acceptable. Soundproofing is average. WiFi is free and of acceptable quality.

Breakfast is served in a small basement room. Options are limited and food quality is just average. Overall acceptable but nothing to write home about - a rather unpleasant "low-budget" feeling.

Checkin-checkout were fast, friendly and reasonably efficient.

Considering the low price (for Zurich standards) and excellent location I wouldn't mind staying here again, but there are more pleasant options nearby for longer stays.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is within an easy walk of the railway station making it perfect for an overnight stay. The rooms are clean and functional and an adequate breakfast is provided. There is no restaurant but there are several eating places nearby.
Most of the staff behind reception are fine but we encountered one who was very rude when refusing to change a euro so we could buy a coffee from the machine in the foyer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olgaworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I were in Zurich for only one night and stayed at Hotel Bristol. It is a charming hotel with a great location....a five minute walk from the train station, but on a quiet street away from the main street traffic. We were greeted by Thomas, who was one of the nicest desk attendants that I have ever met! He was so welcoming and friendly. When he told us about breakfast, we said that we were leaving early in the morning, so we wouldn't be there for breakfast. He offered to have a package put together for us to take with us in the morning, and it was a really nice take away breakfast. It was waiting for us when we checked out. The morning attendant was also so friendly and gave us tokens for the coffee machine in the lobby, since we were leaving so early before breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable. It is also a very short walk to the old town section of the city. If we return to Zurich, we would definitely stay here again. A really lovely experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adriellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days recently at Hotel Bristol. The overall experience was really good, and the hotel staff were helpful. Room was really clean with basic amenities available.
Location is around less than 5-min to the nearest tram station heading to the city even though it's within walking distance.
Breakfast was simple and nice too.
Will hope to be back soon.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Simgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed one night. 10 minutes walk (with luggage) from Zurich HB Train Station and nearby supermarket "Coop", where the left and right bank would be in sight. Within a few more minutes, we could reach quaint small lanes of restaurants and shops on the left (from our hotel location point of view) and Bahnhofstrasse (main street with international brands) on the right.

Stampfenbachstrasse is a branch off the main street so it is peaceful and not difficult to locate. Our friends based in Zurich could easily find the hotel to meet up for dinner. Free WiFi in the room made communication very convenient as well.

Service Staff in the afternoon were very friendly and helpful. A lady arranged an early check-in for us at 12noon, which we appreciate very much after 12 hour flight and arranged to pack breakfast for us the following morning, as we had a 730 am train to catch.

Unfortunately we did not have a pleasant experience with the morning staff earlier the same day. We arrived in Zurich at 8am in the morning and requested to leave our luggage with the counter as we were too early to check-in. There was no one at the check-in counter except a young lady staff packing items by the cafe's coffee machine (its a small place so we saw no one else around). I asked politely if she could help us, but she looked at us aggressively and said "Can you Wait!". I told her to please take her time. When she was done, she stood by the check-in table and shrugged her shoulders with an "Okay, What do you want." With her permission, we rolled our luggage into a store room and left. The same afternoon, when we were assisted by very helpful staff, we saw the same young lady at the back of the counter sorting emails, while more senior staff attended to us. I suppose she was a junior or part time staff who had a bad morning. The next morning we left Bristol, an elderly lady arranging the breakfast table was rude when we explained we were packing breakfast for an early train. A gentleman staff at the front counter was kind enough to pack it for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebNSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel. The staff were so friendly and willing to help.
The room was really nice and large with excellent bathrooms.
And they other wifi and laundry services and very reasonable prices.
The breakfast was average but had a wide variety and the location is unbeatable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mossk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Spend 2 nights at this Hotel. Nothing fancy, but clear and nice place, very close to the Main Railway Station. Pricing in in line with the Zurich small hotels. Walking distance to Bahnhoff Strasse and several main Museums ( I did not have time to visit them). Location allows for nice night walk along the Sihl river to the Zurich Lake ( But, I suggest to avoid the Zurich Lake park at night - no arms robberies, but fair number of indigent homeless and gypsies camp there at night)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Montana
#48 of 137 in Zurich
942 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#38 of 137 in Zurich
617 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
990 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#17 of 137 in Zurich
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Zurich

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 34, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £94 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel Zurich 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern facilities and amenities; centrally located, convenient for city exploring; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bristol Hotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing