We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Walhalla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walhalla Hotel
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very close to the central station. I stayed two different times. Rooms are of ample size and have newly renovated bathrooms. The rooms are slightly dated, but are clean with your basic hotel goodies. Breakfast is included and offers a reasonable continental breakfast. I found the front desk to be very helpful and willing to go out of their way to assist me.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the corner of the building. They seem to be a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear MikeO.

I just wanted to say thank you for your postive review. Your nice words about our team make me very proud. We know we have the perfect location for a city trip or even to explore Switzerland, but at the end it is the quality of service that makes the difference. I'm really happy that we were able to even exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your time and the great feedback. I wish you all the best and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    318
    65
    12
    12
See reviews for
121
179
69
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have stayed here many times, and have found the location to be ideal. Right next to the Bahnhof, old town, museums and restaurants. The staff really makes the place and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are small but very functional, clean and well appointed. Breakfast is adequate. We will no doubt use this hotel again next winter.

Room Tip: Try for a room that doesn't face the bus terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Jenna C.

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor and thank you even more for being a loyal customer at the Walhalla Hotel Zurich. I really appreciate your feedback and I'm happy that we were able to meet your expectations. I wish you all the best and hope to see you again at the Walhalla Hotel - Your Gateway to Switzerland and your Business hub in Zurich.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We only stayed one night, being in transit from the airport to our resort using the railway. The hotel we usually use in Zurich is being refurbished so we had to trawl the internet to find a good, conveniently-located, value-for-money alternative. The Walhalla proved to be just what we needed so next time we will have to think hard about which of the two hotels to choose!

Service: we saw 2 different receptionists and both were pleasant, efficient and helpful. The man in charge of the breakfast buffet was obliging and found us some decaffeinated coffee when asked.
Value: good, especially for the location in a very expensive city.
Sleep quality: the bed was comfy and the curtains made the room very dark, which I like. Despite the trams and other traffic outside, there was very little noise - but this might have been different had we needed to have the windows open.
Cleanliness: could not fault it.
Location: within 2 minutes walk of the main station, so absolutely excellent. Not far from the posh shopping street, about 15 minutes walk from the Old Town, several restaurants nearby.
Rooms: we were given a family room for just the 2 of us so there was more than enough space. In addition to the twin beds with bedside tables, we had a folding bed, a desk, 2 armchairs & an occasional table as well as a wardrobe. The shower room was huge as was the shower - in the space it occupied, a full-sized bath could have been fitted. The bottle of water and welcome sign awaiting us in the room was a nice touch.
Other: we breakfasted at 0800 hours. There was plenty of most items, the cold meats choice was huge, but some bread baskets were empty and did not look like being refilled.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filisur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Filisur.

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure reading your positiv comments. Your words make me very proud of the team and it shows me that we are on the right track. Success is never final and I promiss you, we will strive to continue that road.
It would be my pleasure to welcome you again at the Walhalla Hotel in Zurich.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We chose this hotel because it was within walking distance of the train station. It was an excellent choice -- the staff was so helpful. We had to leave very early in the morning and they provided us with some breakfast items to take with us -- that was very much appreciated! The room was very nice -- beds comfortable. We were over the street, but with the window closed you did not hear any noise. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear C S.

Thank you very much for your outstanding feedback. It was a great pleasure for me to read your positive comments about our team and the service quality. Last year we renovated our bathrooms and this year we upgraded our rooms with coffee and tea stations. Our Comfort rooms got ironing boards and some more decoration. But at the end you are right, service quality makes the difference in our industry and I'm very proud of my team and happy to read that they went the extra mile for you. We will definitely continue this road and I hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Love the staff. They are there to take care of you and help in any way you need including restaurant recommendations. Rooms are small but very clean. Breakfast is very good and included.
I will stay here again on next visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchboy135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Dutchboy135.

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences in the Walhalla Hotel in Zurich. I really enjoyed reading your comments about the team. I will share them with my colleagues and we will definitely celebrate our ratings that we got in the last year. We came from Tripadvisor position 48 last year and ended up on 26. if I go thru the individual feedbacks, the improvement of service quality and product upkeep, makes me very proud of my team and their accomplishments. I wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again at the Walhalla Hotel in Zurich.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at the Walhalla hotel because it was close to the train station and the bus tours beginning place. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I had a double room for single use, which meant that the room was a good size not cramped at all. Noise wise there were some issues, but i always bring ear plugs when I travel, so that was easily dealt with. The breakfast was good and included in my room rate as was the WiFi. I had roughly a ten minute walk to the old town, the tram is very close if wish to use that for transportation. I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay while in Zurich as it was not expensiveness Zurich wise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Fr-Jeff B.

Thank you very much for writing such a positive feedback and recommending the Walhalla to all Tripadvisor users. These constructive comments help us a lot to always question what we do and improve our standards. We just finished our bathroom renovation and keep on focussing on service quality. I hope to welcome you again and thank you for the time you spent in writing the review.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I visited my favorite city Zurich after 8 years, and I stayed this hotel for the first time.
Decided to stay the hotel after reviewing a Japanese travel guide, and I know by now that I was right :)

I loved the hotel, especially staff.
All the staff are willing to help guests, friendlly and I totally liked them.
Actually, I felt the building is little bit old, but as rooms are newly renovated, it was comfortable to stay in. Just a few minutes walk from Zurich main station, easy to find the hotel (You have to get out from the station to North).
Very convenient to get the central commercial area of Zurich (less than five minutes walk to get to the nearest Coop, super market).

I'll be back to Walhalla Hotel for sure next time I have chance to visit Zurich.
Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuricher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Zuricher24.

Thank you very much for your comments. I really enjoyed reading your feedback about the team. The location does not help if the team is not willing to give 100%, including myself. I'm happy that you enjoyed your time in the Walhalla Hotel. We recently finished the bathroom renovation and are very proud of the result. Heated mirror pads, heated towel rack, rain shower on the 2nd and 3rd floor and lighted vanity mirror. Please let me know when you plan to come back to Zurich. I would be very pleased to welcome you personally.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Montana
#45 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#89 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#27 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#19 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walhalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla Hotel

Property: Walhalla Hotel
Address: Limmatstrasse 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Business Hotel in Zurich
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walhalla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central location in the heart of Zurich, just a few steps from the main station, we offer the ideal location for you to do business or spend the weekend in Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion and TripOnline SA so you can book your Walhalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walhalla Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing