We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, free wifi available,small but clean rooms”
Review of Walhalla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walhalla Hotel
Ranked #39 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great location, free wifi available,small but clean rooms”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel walhalla is situated conveniently, a few minutes walk from zurich main station and right next to Swiss national musuem. It is also directly opposite sihlquai bus terminal where excursions start off daily. Rooms are small but comfortable and very clean. Definitely a good choice for affordable accomodation in zurich

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear pzy1.

Thank you very much for your comments here on tripdvisor. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Walhalla Hotel in Zurich. It is really the perfect location to explore Zurich and Switzerland. All daily excursions start from the bus station on the other side of the road. Lucerne, Mt Tilis, Jungfraujoch, Heidiland and many more tours. You can easily book the tickets with our reception team. If you stay in a Double Room you can also check all the tour details on the tablet PC that we provide in all Double and Comfort Rooms. It is a great innovation that gives you the chance to plan your stay in our beautiful city. I wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again at the Walhalla Hotel Zurich.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    333
    71
    16
    16
See reviews for
135
195
75
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good location, good room, happy days, but above all was the service, they even gave us an umbrella for our short walk in the rain to the train station ! You are five minutes or less away from everything, and really couldn't be more central,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley9007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Stanley9007.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about the hotel and the service. It was a great pleasure for me redaing your comments and I will definitely share them with my team. It is a motivation for all of us and shows us that we are on the right track. I wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again at the Walhalla Hotel in Zurich.

Kind regards
Kurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The reason I picked this hotel because of its location. Located right opposite the main train station ( Zurich HB) and Starbucks is just next door! How convenient!

Reception staff was friendly and helpful. He helped me with my tram ticket and went outside of the hotel to show me which side of the station I should get on.

The single room I booked was really small but clean. I was surprise it actually had a safe and complimentary coffee and tea in the room

The bathroom was super tiny, there was no way to fit two persons. Clean with basic amenities though

Breakfast was ok and I do appreciate the free wifi in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mrs. VanessaMunYee.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. The next time when you are in Zurich I will show you one of our double and comfort rooms. In these categories we installed a tablett pc which you can use to order roomservice, read your favourite newspaper or just enjoy the internet. This special service is new in Switzerland and we are proud to be the first 3* Hotel in Zurich that offers this feature. You will love it, we get a lot of positive comments. Thank you again for your nice words and we hope to see you soon in the Walhalla 2.0.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

we booked into stay at the walhalla guest house, but on arrival at the hotel to check in, we were told we`d been upgraded to the hotel....

we only stayed 1 night, en route to a stay up in the alps, and came in by train, very easy to find this hotel, just go down to the subway under the station, steps half way along the platforms, signed sihlquai, and you come up 2 mins from the hotel, which on the corner..

Uma checked us in, very nice, she speaks very good english.

nice room, all the facilities you`d expect, and quiet, even tho we overlooked the front of the hotel and the busy street..

good continental breakfast, plenty of choice...

speedy checkout the following morning...

if in the area again we`d have no probs staying again..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubankid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear cubankid1.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I'm very happy that you enjoyed the upgrade. Whenever it is possible we try to use these upgades as well as a marketing instrument. We are very proud of both products, but the hotel offers much more amenities and services than our 2* Walhalla Guest House and we want to show it. Especially on the weekends we always try to surprise some guests with upgades. We renovated the bathrooms, installed coffee and tea making facilities in all our hotel rooms and our double and comfort category is equipped with a tablett PC that you can use free of charge during your stay. We are the first 3* Hotel in Zurich with this type of service. It was a pleasure reading your comments. It's a great motivation for all of us and we will continue to surprise our clients. I wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the Walhalla Hotel.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have previously heard from a colleague that the rooms here are crappy but i don't find any problems here. Go with the expectations that the rooms are functional and basic ( like many of Zurich's hotels) with nothing luxurious.
One thing strange in my room is that the balcony can be accessed thru the toilet only! Then again, it's cold most of the time and you don't need to go out there.
Breakfast is the usual western fare of cereals, fruits and bread. The only style of eggs are hard boiled eggs and you peel it yourself.
The staff here are friendly and nice. Location is awesome!
Overall, it's a pleasant hotel for rest at night with a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvin_Liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Mr. Alvin_Liu.

Thank you very much for honest and positiv feedback. The original building is more than 100 years old and got renovated several times in the last 20 years. We just finished the bathroom renovation this January and the rooms were done in 2010. Our Maintanance Team checks each room minimum twice a year. We do not position our hotel in the luxury segment but we are very proud of the product and are constantly looking for improvement in each sector. Next week we will have tablett PCs in every Double and Comfort room which we think is a great asset for our guests. I hope I will see you again in the Walhalla Hotel and wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very close to my office and the central station. Rooms are something small but good and very good bathrooms. Breakfast is included and offers a good continental breakfast.. Service and staff are very good. Near there are some good restaurant and the center of the city is near. Near there is a very good museum. I have used this hotel more than one time and always I found it excellent

Room Tip: All the rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ettore947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mr. Ettore947.

Thank you very much for your feedback. I really like your comments about our service and about the new renovated bathrooms. We are happy that all our bathrooms have the same standard now and are all equipped with a heated mirror pad, heated towl rack and lighted vanity mirror. Some of the new bathrooms also have a rain shower. I'm looking forward to welcome you again at the Walhalla Hotel in Zurich.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Often I have been at this hotel, its great location (on the Zurich Main railway station) is remarkable and key to the selection (no impact on sleeping quality, even in summer). The service and rooms are very good (after refurbishment of some of the rooms even better). No minibar (you won't miss), free wifi, good breakfast (starting 6.30am), and very nice staff.
A recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Haktus.

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback. It is a great motivation for all of us and it shows us that we are on the right track. We know about our perfect location and I'm very happy about your comments regarding the product and the service. In the last few years we constantly invested in the hotel and it seems that we exceeded the expectations. The whole team is proud of the Walhalla Hotel and I'm sure that this is one key to our success. I wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again at the Walhalla Hotel.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Montana
#46 of 138 in Zurich
905 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#110 of 138 in Zurich
88 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 138 in Zurich
954 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#49 of 138 in Zurich
390 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 138 in Zurich
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walhalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla Hotel

Property: Walhalla Hotel
Address: Limmatstrasse 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Business Hotel in Zurich
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walhalla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central location in the heart of Zurich, just a few steps from the main station, we offer the ideal location for you to do business or spend the weekend in Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion and TripOnline SA so you can book your Walhalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walhalla Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing