We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get any better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived at the Schweizerhof after 9 days of being wined and dined by a Scenic Cruise Tours team, so I thought I'd experienced the highest level of hospitality available, but my experiences here were some of the best yet. Our welcome was warm and efficient, our room very spacious and the environmentally friendly feature of turning electricity on and off with room key struck me as innovative. There was delicious fresh fruit available at all times, and the staff was ready to help me in every way possible. I did have a bit of a communication problem with one staff person in the lobby, but it was simply a matter of his English not being especially strong and my German being incredibly weak. We opted for dinner in the hotel since it was a rainy day and we needed time to prepare for the journey home. And speaking of rainy day, they had nice large umbrellas for us to use as we toured the city. The food and wine were outstanding and the entree serving very generous. Being at the end of our trip, my wardrobe was pretty limited and my attire for the evening was neat, clean but very casual. Nevertheless the wait staff treated us like visiting royalty. A truly unique experience...elderberry essence to add to the water. What a delightful flavor! Even though the hotel is situated in a very busy part of the city, with the windows closed the room was virtually silent. Breakfast was available early enough for us to have a relaxing start to a long day traveling back to the US...homemade strawberry jam, croissant, smoked salmon and flavorful cheeses...and checkout was handled efficiently and with a smile. if I ever return to Zurich I certainly hope I can stay here again. And kudos to Scenic Tours for selecting this wonderful 5-star hotel as a part of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0nnie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    202
    42
    18
    4
See reviews for
155
363
110
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have stayed in Zurich in the past but always at one of the airport hotels before flying home at the end of a holiday and had often walked passed the Schweizerhof Hotel when exploring Zurich and always thought about staying there one time.
Well we booked two rooms for two nights at the Schweizerhof Hotel for our short stay in Zurich this time and we were very glad we did!
We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade for both rooms when we checked in.
All the staff at the check in were very friendly and helpful and the check in was done quickly with little fuss as was our check out when we left.
The rooms are a little on the small size but they have all the amenities you need and are very comfortable and quiet even though the hotel is on a very busy street. We were on the fifth floor so I am not sure how quiet the lower floor rooms would be. The bathrooms were very clean and again with all the amenities you would need. I found the power shower head was wonderful for a relaxing shower after a day out walking the city.
In the evening a member of staff would knock on the door with an offer of some treats like fruit or chocolates etc. which was a nice touch.A fruit bowel was provided on check in which was nice.
Even though the buffet breakfast choice is not as large as at some other hotels we have stayed in everything you would normally want for breakfast is available in the way of hot and cold food and again the staff at breakfast are very friendly and helpful. Importantly the food was always fresh and tasty especially the freshly squeezed orange juice.
The hotel is in a great location and is easily accessible by train (station across the road) or by car/taxi. It is within walking distance of all the shopping and restaurant areas and most importantly there are many chocolate shops very close by!
We really enjoyed our short stay in Zurich and staying at the Schweizerhof Hotel just made our stay that much better. It is a great old style hotel in a great location with wonderful staff and we will definitely be returning there when we visit Zurich again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestAussiePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The rooms of this hotel are very 80s with strong pastel colors which might appeal to some but if you like more contemporary design this is not the place. The hotel also has a lot of smoking rooms and I was told that there were no non-smoking room unavailable but this changed when I insisted. Service was very friendly at check in and also at the breakfast which was good. To a great extent my experience was ruined by the extremely rude concierge (Andre), this was by far the rudest person that I have ever come across in any hotel let alone a 5 star hotel. The location of the hotel is good opposite the train station but unfortunately this wasn't a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romejune2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, General Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest

First of all, we thank you for having chosen our HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ZÜRICH as your residence during your stay in Zürich and for having taken time to give us this comment on tripadvisor.
Your annotations about your impressions during your stay are very valuable to us. We thank you for your honest feedback and regret that we could not achieve your requirements. The points you raised have been carefully noted for appropriate action with those departments concerned.
I sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you experienced and assure you that our aim is to continually improve our high level of service.
As we already wrote in the email, I sincerely hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to Zurich. I also hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you personally to the HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ZÜRICH.

Kind regards
HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ZÜRICH

Jörg Rudolf von Rohr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Booking process was smooth. Martin, the reservation manager provided good information about the kind of rooms the hotel had, along with their pictures, via email. I chose a non-smoking room on a high floor facing the train station. Check-in process was smooth and fast. They upgraded me to a slightly bigger room, which I appreciated.

Hotel location is excellent. If you're like me who loved to explore city on foot, I don't think you can find a better hotel than this one. Train station is in front of the hotel and most of the must-see attractions are within walking distance.

Wifi was free and fast and every afternoon you would get free Lindt chocolate. Breakfast choice was decent. The bed could be tilted upward electronically to make it more comfortable to watch the tv. Pay-per-view movie selection was good.

Check-out process was also fast. Got a nice surprise that since I booked the room via the hotel website, I got a discount of 15 swiss franc per night.

I would definitely choose this hotel again whenever I travel to Zurich.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanna07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a junior suite. The room was lovely and comfortable. There was a large, well-appointed bathroom with a shower in the tub. Although the shower was one of those handheld ones that I dread seeing, it had very good pressure and was easy to position.

The bedroom was separated from the living area by a heavy drapery which actually did block the majority of noise. The bedding was very nice and there were extra pillows in the closet. Closet space and number of hangers were very good.

There were sufficient and easily accessed plugs for charging everything. There was an electric kettle with tea and coffee. There was also actually a trouser press in one of the closets! Never saw that before.

There was a small balcony with French doors overlooking a side street. On our second night, a Friday, there was a large crowd at a bar with outdoor seating on the side street. They were loud!! I closed the doors and we heard nothing.

We had breakfast one morning at le Soupiere. Excellent service, excellent variety and excellent quality food. It been a long time since I enjoyed breakfast in a restaurant that much. There other morning we had breakfast in our room and it was of equal quality.

This is a lovely old style hotel with excellent amenities and beautiful decor but what sets it apart is the service. We spent nine days touring the alps between our two nights at Hotel Schweizerhof and while we stayed at some lovely hotels, I was looking forward to returning almost as if coming home. The staff is perfectly trained to hit the right balance between friendly and professional and never missed an opportunity to smile. We were offered welcome drinks on arrival and bottles of water and chocolates on departure. There seems to be nothing you can request that they wouldn't be happy to provide, promptly. We will definitely return to this hotel when back in Zurich!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Excaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

September 4 and 5th we stayed at this hotel. Upon arrival you were welcomed and given a warm towel and drink. Our experience at the Front desk was welcoming and we were given a upgrade room. The staff were very friendly and helpful.They would welcome you very time you came back and ask how you were. Our room was very nice and clean, as was the hotel itself. It had a nice restaurant. It is a 5 star rating and dollar value $$$$. Now this is where they went beyond the call of duty, as we were looking for a Star Bucks coffee mug and at the time could not find one. On the last day there we happen to return to Star Bucks and they had some, so we bought one and upon returning to the hotel the manager called me over and said she had something for us, but was shocked when she saw that we had been to Star Bucks, as they had gone out of their way to buy us mugs, which I thought was something special to do. Not any hotel would do that for you, but they had.
We were so impressed by what they gone and done.
The location is good and easy access to the city centre.
The stay there was great and we would return there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are a good size and most room in hotel are quite. Upon arrival you could ask if there is a cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 145elite123145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is hotel is perfectly located across the road from the main train station in Zurich. They even provide the concierge to meet you at platform to help with your bags, as long as you give then train arrival details. We walked across with our bags ourselves & it was very easy as the hotel is on the corner which you need to crossover. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were treated like VIPs. The staff are friendly & accommodating. This hotel is highly recommended & I will stay there again if ever in Zurich. It is also positioned at the top of the main shopping street, so step out the hotel, turn right and it's all there. We arrived early and treated to a free coffee in their cafe while we waited - only about 15mins. We had a suite with a small balcony, so charming. Bathroom products were top quality & even included small aftershave for men.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N00ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#27 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing