We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #8 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Location in Zurich”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was looking for a hotel close to the railway station and with a number of hotels in the vicinity with good reviews, the clincher was that all you have to do is email the concierge to request for a hotel porter to assist with luggage at the railway platform When we arrived by train from Geneva, it was a relief to see the porter in the hotel's "signature" red coat.
When we arrived at the hotel reception, we were pleasantly surprised to know that we had been upgraded to a corner room which is more spacious than our booked deluxe room. Hot towel and cold orange juice completed the check-in formalities.
The breakfast in the first-floor restaurant is great and inclusive of cooked egg items.
As our departure flight was to be in the later afternoon, the hotel concierge very kindly assisted to arrange a later check-out at 2pm instead of the usual 12 noon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IskandarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    222
    46
    21
    4
See reviews for
170
395
115
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston Ma
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have stayed here before, and I love it. The customer service is wonderful and the location is very good. The beds are quite comfortable and the showers are good too. Would stay again, and bring my family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emergencygetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel on several business trips. I was always very pleased with the quality of the service, the cleanliness of the room and the courtesy of the staff. The location, right across the street from the main train station, and on Bahnhofstrasse, is excellent. The proximity to shopping, dining and transportation is a plus. Also, the concierge staff, especially Andre, was very helpful when I needed recommendations for local wines and dining.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor (recently renovated) are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottandRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Arrived straight there from the SFO-Zurich flight. Very convenient and welcoming. Love the location up at the top of the Bahnhofstrasse, near a big Globus super store and all of the global brand stores' Zurich outlets. 10 minute walk to old town and sites along the river. If you are travelling through Z by train, this location cannot be beat. But not near the lake. It's an elegant, refined but intimate style business hotel. Single rooms are on the small side but very pleasant with high ceilings and great details/amenities. One of our group of three was in a room on a light shaft that was not great. Otherwise very comfortable rooms. The highlight for me was the breakfast room -- Better than average breakfast spread, German-style so lots of choices of sweet and savory, and best herbal tea I've ever had, all in a very bright and elegant room -- just what a West Coast US traveller needs that first morning. We did not go to the high-end restaurant for dinner, but it is very highly regarded if a bit pricey but a very credible option for late arrivals. I would stay here again, mostly for the comfortable retreat in a very exciting location.

Room Tip: The light shaft room was a bit bleak, so I'd request and outward facing room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otopeni
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Over the last 16 years I stayed always at this hotel. Year after year the quality of the services increased. Employees are very friendly. Breakfast was always excellent. Rooms are very clean. special thanks for the bartenders ( and not only ). The location of the hotel is very good, next to the main train station. I recommend Schweizerhof to everybody. Looking forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Central, convenient location, yet close to all the main activities and attractions of Zurich; Excellent, friendly staff - nothing is too much or too difficult. The bar and breakfast restaurant, both excellent. Nothing forgotten or left to chance. This is a 5 star property deserving of its rating

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed at the Schweizerhof many times over the years, and the service has consistently been at the top: professional and welcoming staff, you feel looked after. Very comfortable beds and always super clean. 2 minutes walk from the station and 30 seconds from the Bahnhofstrasse.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoboRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 139 in Zurich
940 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 139 in Zurich
779 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 139 in Zurich
776 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing