We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location - excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #9 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location - excellent service”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have used this hotel before five years ago and so were expecting good service and we were not disappointed.
It is situated across the road from the main railway station. We were met from the train and our baggage transported for us. Reception provided us with a drink and we were given a room upgrade.
The room was spacious and although it faced the station the sound insulation was good - any traffic noise was muffled. Breakfast was excellent - both in terms of the variety of food offered and the service. We ate in the restaurant once and the food and service were very good indeed. I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sir and Madam

Many thanks for your great review! It was a pleasure for us to welcome you back after five years!
We are happy to read your positive comment regarding our sound proof windows as this feedback helps us to continuously improve our high service standards.
Thank you as well for your compliments to our restaurant and breakfast team! This motivates us to provide our best service every day!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Zurich! (hopefully we don’t have to wait another five years :-) )

Kind regards

Andreas Stöckli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    212
    44
    21
    4
See reviews for
160
369
111
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modimolle (Nylstroom), South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrive by train and after disembarking, I was amazed to see that the Hotel had sent the porters to meet us at the station and to help us with our luggage.! The next surprise was at reception when the Hotel offered to upgrade us to a suite to help accommodate my mobility scooter. The facilities in the suite were outstanding and the hi-tech gadgets were mind-boggling. The staff and porter bent over backwards to assist us. I have travelled to many countries and stayed in many hotels in my lifetime, but The Schweizerhof in Zurich has got to be the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosvelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sir and Madam

What a great pleasure to read your kind words! Thank you very much for giving us this great comment. We are very happy to share your compliments with all our staff!
We were delighted to upgrade you to our Premium Relax Suite, as we recognized your mobility scooter when you checked in.
We hope, that you enjoyed your trip from South Africa to Europe with all the different impressions from Zurich up to the Top of Switzerland at Jungfrau Joch!
We hope to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Andreas Stöckli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Prefect location facing the main train station and right on the corner you'll find the start of the shopping street. Also, it's few minutes away from all city attraction.

My room was upgraded to a suit because it was my wife's birthday. The reception staff were so friendly and the room service was superb. We were offered a complementary chocolate and strawberries basket as well as juice. They even wished my wife a happy birthday by displaying the message on the LED screens of the elevators.

Our experience will be cherished. To the hotel management and staff we say: Bravo, you all have touched our hearts.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanousi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sir and Madam

We are very happy to read your great feedback! It makes us proud that you felt pampered and that we have touched your hearts!
As is was your honeymoon and the birthday of your wife, it was a great pleasure for us to grant you a free upgrade into one of our suites.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon in Zurich and wish you all the best starting your married life together!

Kind regards

Andreas Stöckli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A compact comfortable room with en-suite bathroom, located immediatly opposite the Hauptbarnhof in the centre of Zurich.
Attentive staff including a porter service too and from the Station or airport transfer in needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for your great review! We are happy to read, that our location next to the main station was convenient for you.
Our red doorman is already looking forward to picking you up from the train station when you will visit Zurich for the next time!

Kind regards

Andreas Stöckli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Staff could not have been better. This small hotel could teach many larger hotels how to do it right. Every member of staff we encountered was pleaseant, helpful and extremely friendly. A great hotel in a very convenient position for the main railway station in Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very proud to read, that you enjoyed our services and that our staff made you feel comfortable. This is indeed the main ingredients for a successful hospitality effort. You can be assured that we will share your comments with all our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Kind regards
Andreas Stöckli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global traveller
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I typically stay away from hotels anywhere near a train station and I've always gone right past this hotel as a result. Agreed to stay here recently and was very pleasantly surprised. Beneath the old school facade it has all the modern conveniences combined with impeccable service. Even the windows are solid enough to block the noise of the trams outside. Definitely will consider it again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_the_flamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent classic hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, complimentary drink during check-in and bottle of water during check-out (lady at reception offered me help with buying ticket to the train even), location can't be more perfect - the hotel places literally 1 minute away from central railway station, ~10 minutes of train ride and you're in Zurich airport. My room was on the second floor with window looking at street and tram stop, but I haven't heard a thing (which is my recurring problem with some hotels in Helsinki), so one shouldn't be afraid that trams or trains will bother ya, they won't. Rooms are perfectly equipped, over 120 TV channels (in many-many languages + radio), free tea and coffee, excellent WiFi etc. etc. etc., I would give 10 out of 10, but there was some strange experience, too.

Before my arrival I've asked via e-mail if I will need adaptor for Swiss sockets and not only I got quick reply, but adaptor was awaiting for me in the room. But: a) it wasn't working (maybe I did something wrong, although I work in electric business and deal with more tricky things than simple adaptor) b) the next morning (and by 'the next morning' I mean 9 hours after my arrival) housemaid took it away causing me to be a little bit confused (during check-out the reception staff was confused as well, since I couldn't give 'em back the device). Complimentary fruits were gone too. I am not sure if I was supposed to eat them all immediately or maybe it was done with some purpose. I've tried to speak to housemaid about both of these matters, but she didn't speak English at all (the other ones who I've dealt with spoke very good English, much better than mine, for sure). Unfortunately the next day almost the same thing happened - after cleaning the room all papers which I left on the table were gone, including copy of my insurance (which I always leave in hotels on the case of emergency), my personal notes written on hotel's notebook, city guide, newspaper and railway timetable. Well, maybe there are some requirements for staff about what to do during cleaning process, but I just hope they'll correct it a little bit. What's on the table - stays on the table till a guest leaves the hotel. If I wanted to threw away my newspaper or timetable - I would've put it in the bin. I know there's a safe, but closing railway timetable in safe is something that I would never think about before. Aside that, no problems at all and if there was any - they've been solved ASAP.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing