We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel in the whole world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friendly atmosphere, helpful serviceminded personnel, beautifully situated and wonderful interior.
I have stayed here several times and it feels like comming home. Can only give my best recommandations and hope that others will visit this grate hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarieLouise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, General Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dar Marie-Louise

We are very happy to read your kind comment on tripadvisor. Thank you very much for letting other travellers know, that you enjoyed your several stays here at our HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ZÜRICH.
We are particulary pleased by your mention of the staff beeing always friendly and helpful. We are very happy to share this kind words with all our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Andreas Stöckli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel overnight for a business trip and was absolutely delighted. I got a glass of champaign on arrival, Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, even had a courtesy butler knocking at the door to offer free huge bars of Swiss chocolate. Room was spacious and immaculate, the bed was the most comfortable I'd stayed in for a long time. Breakfast was just delicious with a choice of pretty much everything, the eggs Benedict were to die for. I would return for a holiday with my family to this hotel without hesitation, absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, General Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Denise
Thank you very much for sharing you experiences on tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your nice comments about our rooms and the breakfast. We are more than happy to share your kind words with all our staff.

Our butler-team is looking Forward to welcoming you back.
Sunny regards from Zurich

Andreas Stöckli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent hotel right by the railway station, which is the best possible location for any hotel in the city. All services on par with the level of the hotel. You could go somewhere else, there are a lot of nice hotels in Zurich, but if you are a business traveller, why would you? By the way, all the sights are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AugustoPellegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, General Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Mr Pellegrini
Thank you very much for your warm words and the time you took to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to our HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ZÜRICH.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards

Andreas Stöckli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic.We are still raving about our stay to everyone we speak to after returning home.
The staff could not be more helpful- everyone from the front desk, the restaurant staff, housekeeping and porter. The room and facilities as well as bathroom amenities were of a very high standard. Food was excellent for breakfast and the evening meal.(we did not eat lunch in the hotel so can't comment) The whole experience exuded excellence and care for the guest. They had little extras like welcome drink, chocolates and fruit. All helping to make you feel special.
The room was far more spacious than we had been led to believe of European hotels and much larger and well appointed than similar star rating ones we stayed in in Paris and Venice.
The location, opposite the train station, meant that travel was easy and it was is within easy walking distance to the lake and commercial area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FinalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, General Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about our hotel. It is a pleasure to learn how much you appreciated our services and enjoyed your stay in Zurich. I will make sure to share your kind words regarding the level of service with my team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back when you visit Zurich for the next time.

Kind regards
Andreas Stöckli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived at Hotel Schweizerhof on a Sunday around noon. They had a room available right away (we were expecting to store our luggage and return to check in) and they served us a glass of champagne as we filled out our forms. The reception desk staff was excellent -- friendly and professional -- and the room was marvelously quiet, even with the window open. The window had no great view (an inner courtyard) but we had asked for quiet, and that's what we got. It meant we could sleep with the window open. No noise from the street or train station. Pretty amazing. The room was spacious (large bed, desk, couch, two chairs) and extremely comfortable. The bathroom beautiful, too. Got great restaurant recommendations from the front desk, and the breakfast (included in the price) was superb. And its location made arriving and departing from the train station extremely easy. Couldn't have asked for a better way to wrap up our 10 days in Switzerland.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are quiet given the triple-glazed windows, but if you want to sleep with the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravels310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guests

What a lovely comment! We highly appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at our HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ZÜRICH. We will make sure to share your kind words with the whole team.
It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future!
We wish you all the best.

Sunny regards from Zurich

Andreas Stöckli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel sets new standards for service and friendliness. It is beautifully located close to the main train station and at the beginning of the Bahnhofstrasse. We got a junior suite which was ideal for us with two young kids who were made to feel very special by the hotel staff.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Aziz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Family Rahman

Thank you for your kind words! We are very happy to read, that you have enjoyed your visit and that everything was to your entire satisfaction. Rest assured that we will share your comments with the whole team.

We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sunny regards from Zurich

Andreas Stöckli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I have been staying in this Zurich hotel off and on for 32 years when traveling into and out of Switzerland on both business and pleasure. We really like the Schweizerhof because of its location in town next to the main train station, and right on the Bahnhofstrasse plus it is a 5 star location for all the right reasons. Last week, we booked a suite for one night enroute to back to the US. As per usual, the staff were very professional, efficient and the room was very nice on the 4th floor(out of 5), so should have been quite from the ample normal traffic noise. After checking in, we went to dinner in the hotel at about 7:30 and found the meal exquisite, the service outstanding and the food the same. We returned to our room at about 10PM and proceeded to get ready to retire for the night. At about 11PM, jack hammers began on the street below as did heavy diesel excavation equipment. The construction noise penetrated the usually sound resistant windows and was actually shaking the floor and bed. I phoned the front desk to inquire as to when they planned to cease the work and was told that the hotel didn't know. I was offered another room in the front but the jack hammers were just out side that bank of windows just as well so wouldn't have been any better. We stuck it out for the night but only slept about an hr each. The gripe I had was not being informed about possible construction activity when we booked or at least when we checked in. As it turned out we paid a lot of money for a meager hrs' sleep. In defense of the manager, I did complain the next morning and he offered to credit us on the room or offered to pay for a suite for a night on any upcoming visit. He seemed genuinely interested in making us happy and we accepted his future offer.

Room Tip: Ask if the construction on the Bahnhofstrasse is going to be ongoing while you are staying. If so as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Jeffrey & Dianna

Thank you very much for another great review on tripadvisor. We are very proud to have such loyal guests who still come back to our hotel after 31 years!
We deeply apologize for the noise caused by the construction works at the Bahnhofstrasse and that you could not sleep very well. We are happy that we had the possibility to talk about the inconveniences and find a way to redeem ourselves.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in January together with your family and wish you all the best!

Kind regards from Zurich

Andreas Stöckli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
990 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 137 in Zurich
806 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 137 in Zurich
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#21 of 137 in Zurich
852 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
889 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#25 of 137 in Zurich
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £237 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing