We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spa facilities but average room and bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #63 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Hove
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good spa facilities but average room and bar”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for a long weekend. The location is 30 mins from the centre of Zurich but is easy to get to by tram so not an issue. The rooms were a little small and bar / restaurant more holiday inn than crowne plaza but the swimming pool and spa were good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siompk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest
We want to thank you for your time to give us a feedback on your stay. Let us inform you that tram N2 and N3 take you to the city centre in less than 20 minutes. Our rooms are relatively small - 18m2 - we also communicate the size of the rooms on all online portals as well as on our website. We kindly invite you to give more detailed feedback on bar and restaurant. Because Holiday Inn has good quality F&B outlets. Of course we also forward your comment to our team at Holmes Place Fitness and Health Club. Best regards, Ai Na Meng, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    569
    295
    100
    59
See reviews for
166
421
109
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epouville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The team is so kind and very professionnal ! Rooms are great, so is the wellness/fitness center ! We spent 2 nights and the price was lower than some other hotels. Proximity of the town center via the tramway and the cost of the stay give this beautiful hotel the keys of the best choice to have a journey in Zurich.

We didn't try the breakfast, so I can't give you any opinion about it.

We'll come back with our children in 1 or 2 years

H.Darques

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsinergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy to have welcomed you as a guest with us during your visit of Zurich. We have also forwarded your comments and rating to our colleagues who are happy to hear about it. Please try our delicious morning buffet with fresh fruits, vegetables, muesli, meat and juices. Best is always to book a rate where the breakfast is already included. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Crowne Plaza Zurich. Best regards, Ai Na Meng, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Value for money hotel with decent location ( not in the city centre but the tram and bus station is a 5 min walk from the hotel ), good hospitality ( @ concierge - the gentlemen i met in the evening was amazingly friendly and nice, the one i met in the early afternoon was pretty rude...other than that most folks were friendly and helpful ), and decent infrastructure

At the price you pay for this hotel in Zurich it offers you good value and hospitality. I would surely recommend this for a stay in Zurich

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacations056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedback - we really appreciate you to share your experience with us. We are also happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have already forwarded your comments to our chef concierge who will discuss your input with his team. We sincerely hope to welcoming you again to Zurich.
Best regards, Ai Na Meng, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a beautiful end to our five week European adventure. We wanted something a little luxury, and it exceeded our expectations. The staff are so friendly and professional. The hotel is lovely large and clean . The fitness centre is amazing and our favourite part of the hotel, everyday we would use the gym, swim, sauna and spa. It was such an beautiful place to unwind before our 20 hour flight home . Yes it is not in the city centre but it's not far by tram ride and bonus you don't get the noise. The rooms are immaculate , roomy and the bed oh so comfortable. The breakfast is so delicious and so many choices , make sure you order a omelette , the staff at breakfast are so friendly and make a amazing cappuccino . The cleaning staff are all friendly , always saying hello and leaving our room immaculate everyday . The bar is lovely to sit and have a drink after a day out , the bar staff so professional and great service , though it is a little pricey at the bar ,but hey you are in Zurich . I highly recommend this hotel and will stay again for sure. A couple of very minor complaints , I would have liked a bar fridge , and no PowerPoint to use hair straightener in the bathroom was a issue , also the supplied hair dryer in room is not very good , but that problem solved by using supplied ones at gym. Thank you again for a fantastic stay , and please pass on a huge thank you to all your team members for outstanding work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest
We thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words about our facilities. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and to relax before taking a long flight back to Australia. We will of course let know our colleagues from the Front Office, the Bar, the Fitness and the Housekeeping about your review. There is a mini bar in every room - the key can be picked up at the Front Office. Thank you also for your notification and Input on the dryer in your room. We will discuss your Input with our head housekeeper. We hope to welcoming you again to Zurich. Best regards, Ai Na Meng, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel, a bit away from the main areas and hence less choices for evening outings. Rooms allocated to us were pretty good. We stayed for one night only as we were on our way to interlaken. We arrived at 1 pm and even then the rooms were not ready, despite us letting them know our flight schedules. We were too tired after long haul flight from India and had to wait one hour for rooms to be ready. Other funny thing was that these folks locked the mini bar. I had to ask for them to send me the keys to open the mini bar.
Breakfast is a bit too expensive at 29chf per person.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sats71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback and your stay with us. We appreciate you to share your review with us, letting us know our fields of improvement. Please let us inform you that it is standard practice with hotels worldwide to guarantee a room only after 15h00. Before, the rooms cannot be checked in (exception: early check inn fee or book the room already 1 night in advance. We also have forwarded your comment on the mini bar to our Chef housekeeper. We hope to welcoming you again to Zurich. Best regards. Ai Na Meng, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The is high and rooms are soso. It is one of the worst crown plazas we have been to. The breakfast is soso. We were also charged an addtional 54 CF per day tax after already paying in FULL. I would recommend avoiding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest
We are sorry to receive your extremely negative rating and comments. Kindly let us inform you that the city tax in Zurich is CHF 2.50 per person and day and has to be paid in almost all hotels of Zurich. This is clearly indicated on our website. The city tax goes to the official tourism organisation of Zurich and is not part of our revenue.
Your subjective impressions of our services have been forwarded to our responsible managers.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The staff is very caring and helpful. I enjoyed the grilled salmon very much. I'd like to give a shout out to Katrin, the revenue manager who was kind enough to allow me early check-in for my arrival from the U.S. I did not need it due to delays, but I do appreciate the gesture very much. I'd also like to commend Dora from Room Service, who provided excellent service with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravi4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your rating and your comment. We really appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Zurich. We will certainly forward your nice words about our staff to our colleagues from the reception and the housekeeping.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#46 of 139 in Zurich
637 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#38 of 139 in Zurich
2,195 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 139 in Zurich
536 reviews
Crown Plaza Zurich
#100 of 139 in Zurich
36 reviews
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#72 of 139 in Zurich
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing