We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but room is worn out”
Review of Limmathof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limmathof
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It is a great location. Just 5 minutes walk from main station which is just a stop away from airport. Nearby is the major shopping street and lots of dinning restuarant for you to choose from. However, the room is abit run down, wifi at lobby is not stable. It can be quite noisy at night. The ambulance is always on the road even in the middle of the night. We stayed in different rooms, facing the main road can be noisy. Another night we stay facing the other building, we always get free food smell.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank summer8911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Limmathof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

the location is just a few minutes from central train and bus stations,clean rooms with restaurant and general store right outside .all in all a happpy stay because of this good hotel.the chinese guys at the reception r v helpfull

Room Tip: front rooms r better
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayesha Ahmed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Limmathof is a very reasonably priced hotel in a great location. We arrived by train and it took only a few minutes to walk to the hotel (which was also easy to find). The staff were quite friendly and always helpful. The rooms were very basic, but they were also very clean. I knew going in that this is a budget hotel, so my expectations were not too high. The Limmathof pleasantly surprised me though. We did not eat the breakfast since there are so many cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel (even at 08:00 on a Sunday morning we found a great place to eat). It was a very nice weekend, I recommend staying at the Limmathof while visiting Zurich.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42. It was a bit noisy due to traffic (trains, people, cars), but it was comforta...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teddi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Reasonably priced hotel located in center of town near the train station. Although basic, I liked the rooms and the quality of the bedding. The hotel staff were cordial and answered all my questions about touring the city. I did not try the breakfast. I would recommend this place for all budget minded travelers. Please note: Zurich is a very expensive city for restaurants but you can buy good quality food in nearby markets at a more reasonable price. Getting around is very easy on the trams which many are located right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SFTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Easy to find - it's just over the river fro the central station. Busy place but welcoming and efficient. Room was rather hot (on a late October night) despite turning off the radiator. Price was reasonable by Zurich standards. There's a vegetarian restaurant on site but our stay was very brief so we didn't try it.

Room Tip: At the front there is a nice view of the river and city but it could get noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank HalfyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Limmathof is very reasonably priced in a City that went crazy. Also it is in the best possible location. The entire Hotel is perfectly adequate though not luxurious. For very budget conscious travelers it even still has a few small rooms without bath (no space).
Maybe the fact that internet is only available in the lounge is a little excessive, as we ll know that a few repeaters are really cheap to install.
Still teh best value in town, and all esecials are there?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_advisor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Viswanathansuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#46 of 138 in Zurich
395 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#90 of 138 in Zurich
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#120 of 138 in Zurich
164 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
1,004 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#82 of 138 in Zurich
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limmathof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limmathof

Address: Limmatquai 142, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: £100 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Limmathof 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Limmathof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limmathof Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing