We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room close to the train station”
Review of Limmathof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limmathof
Ranked #90 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
St. Louis, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice room close to the train station”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here one night while passing through Zurich. We booked it because it's close to the train station and river. The room was nice. Compared to other places we stayed in Europe, the bathroom is huge! The bed was pretty comfortable and good for a one-night stay. Location was great to walk around the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    110
    126
    20
    8
See reviews for
31
104
66
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights. The rooms are big and clean. There is no AC but we had a ventilator in the room. Also we could not see a ventilation system in the bathroom. Also no dryer. But I think no AC and no dryer was mentioned in the description. The big plus LOCATION. Literally max.10 min. from Zurich central train station. Also supermarket Coop across the street (opening hours 6.00 am to 22.00pm)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anaoiNatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is 1 minute away from the train station and very close to Zurich's top attractions and shops. You also have a supermarket right across the street, restaurants and coffee shops nearby. The staff was very friendly and we also enjoyed the room - the furniture was old fashioned, but it was very clean, quiet, comfortable and had a very nice view (we had a room on the 4th floor which is the last floor) of the surroundings. We would return there gladly!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eichhoernchen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

An acceptable place for the budget traveler. It's a little short on charm, and my room was a bit musty. But everything worked; the breakfast was quite good; and the location simply can't be beat as it is right in the heart of the city just steps from the main train station and the old city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panama_Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a good basic hotel, good value for money. A few minutes walk from Zurich HB station and the Central tram stops are right outside the door. Room was clean and comfortable. A 2 minute walk from the old town and the area with many restaurants. Very good location. Free Wifi didn't work very well in our room. We had to stand in the corridor

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Mike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a typical town centre hotel with most prople only staying a night or two. It is adequate for the purpose and the rooms are clean and fairly spacious. We found the duvets too heavy,.
We didn't sample breakfast.
At least 8 tram routes stop within feet of the front door. and one stop away from the Main station.
Be warned there a quite a number fo steps up to reception from the street

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be very noisy as the trams run very late and some run all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is very spacious and clean. However, there's not wifi in the room and can only connect in the common room. But location wise, it is really very near to the train station. Breakfast was not included and cost 10CHF each, still reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca-Chiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#119 of 139 in Zurich
158 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#48 of 139 in Zurich
388 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 139 in Zurich
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#93 of 139 in Zurich
89 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#45 of 139 in Zurich
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limmathof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limmathof

Property: Limmathof
Address: Limmatquai 142, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Limmathof 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Limmathof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limmathof Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing