We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I like this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Savoy Baur En Ville
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I like this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Excellent in every thing super nice employe they deserve to be employe of this year thanks for them our stay was comfortable every employe are nice and happy to help you the location of the hotel are excellent the room are nice so I recommend it for staying

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medhawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    20
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
26
6
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Before you die, check in go to the room eat the room service and say life does not get better. Every hotel has its special feature. I give every excuse in the world to my colleagues so I can stay in. The silver service room service is out of this world. The food is delicious. See the picture. Oh I nearly forgot the location is brilliant. The rooms are on the small side and a little dated - but who cares - if I had paid more the room would be bigger. So I blame myself. The location is amazing and the famous sprungli chocolate shop is just across the way. The staff look old world and crusty but friendly and ready to help. I stay here at least once a year and look forward to the benchmark room service food and then my chocolates thank g-d I don't live here I'd look like he Michelin man.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I stayed recently at the Savoy Baur En Ville in Zurich and found the hotel to be a worthy Grand Hotel. The facade is well and truly Belle Epoque befitting a hotel that has been in existence since 1838. Internally, however, while wonderful, it is lacking the "wow" factor that most old Belle Epoque Grand Hotels possess. Having said that, the hotel is excellent and we were lucky enough to meet the venerable Manfred Hörger, owner of the establishment and found him to be a jolly chap. The piano lounge was a brilliant experience as the Bulgarian pianist of Macedonian ancestry was simply fantastic and the bar staff whip up the finest pina colada that you will ever experience! The room we had was lovely and clean, though with a curious Ancient Greece theme that was somewhat puzzling. The rates are on the expensive side, but this is Switzerland, so no great surprise. All up an excellent hotel close to all attractions that Zurich has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed at the Savoy Baur En Ville for one night on business. The location is perfect. The check in was smooth, fast, friendly and efficient. The rooms are luxurious. I had a room with balcony overlooking the Paradeplatz. The rooms are perfectly clean and spacious, and I had one of the best sleeps ever as the mattress is very comfortable. Drinks in the bar is an experience. The bar manager was friendly and very knowledgeable about all the cocktails. Had lunch in the Italian Restaurant "Ristorante Orsini". What an amazing experience. The food and service was fantastic. The staff are discreet and exceptionally friendly. Breakfast is only a la carte and offers a wide choice of breakfast items. All staff is the hotel are at your service and keep a distance and are discreet giving you the feel of warm service. This is one of the world's top luxury hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyperson058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The location is just great. You are in the downtown but putting asidethe location and grandiose look I had mixed feeling while staying there.
Tiny rooms, elevators from the 80-s with scratched keypads. Forget about pastic key cards - they have keys of steel with big brass fobs. They do have a gym but it is located just accross the street. As I stayed there in January this was clearly not an option for me.
Well, probably they have thier target audience among affluent people of older generation and most likely they serve it well..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have been going to this Hotel over 20 years. Never has the Hotel disappointed nor gone down in standard. Staring with the concierge the room service the grill restaurant ( which I think is the best restaurant in Zurich) the housekeeping well equipped rooms etc I cannot fault it. I admit it is very expensive but you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Concordia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Savoy is centrally located, convenient for shopping, touring the Old Town and access to the main railway station. Despite its grand appearance, the hotel has the feel of a family run operation and everything ticks along smoothly representling the best traditions of Swiss hotels. My occasional requests for special assistance, for example, upon late arrival a pressed shirt for the following day's meeting, are always met with a helpful smile and speedy execution. The rooms are elegantly furnished with singles available at a reasonable price (for 5 star Zurich). The dining room follows the standards set elsewhere in the hotel, with very high standards in both cuisine and service. The Orsini Restaurant is adjacent and is popular with a mature business crowd. My visits there were defined by very helpful staff and cuisine prepared with the freshest ingredients consistently available.

Room Tip: Trams on the front and church beel at the rear so choose rooms on the sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boardroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#30 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Baur En Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Baur En Ville

Property: Savoy Baur En Ville
Address: Am Paradeplatz Poststrasse 12 | Poststr 12, Zurich 8022, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#41 Business Hotel in Zurich
#52 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Baur En Ville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Savoy Baur En Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Baur En Ville Hotel
Savoy Baur En Ville zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing