We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb, Swiss competence, efficiency, courtesy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Baur En Ville
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Superb, Swiss competence, efficiency, courtesy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

There are fancier hotels in Zurich perhaps -- Park Hyatt, Baur au Lac - and other places where you can go to swim. But for sheer competence, attention to detail, attention to customers, I know of no hotel anywhere that compares to the Savoy Bar En Ville.

There are always enough people at the front desk and at the concierge desk. And they are paying attention, not bored, available to help, and knowing what to do. From the eldest to the youngest staffer, they are customer-focused. My needs were simple: I had forgotten my power converters from US to continental Europe. They provided me two, it took all of 90 seconds for them to arrive once I had phoned. Messages? Delivered. Food? Impeccable. Housekeeping service. Invisible, but immediate, whenever I was absent they somehow came to do their upkeep.

My room was small, nothing special, but as clean as anyone could wish. Bath facilities practical. Water, delivered as I needed.

Did we say impeccable? Impeccable. Did we say friendly? Friendly. Did we say competent? Kind? Low-key? Diligent? All of these.

Was there wireless? Included, and error free, workable for lap-top and I-PAD alike, simltaneously.

An ancient hotel updated and maintained to 21st century standards, right on the Paradeplatz, next to every major Swiss banking institution and walking distance to the lake.

If you need more space, talk to them. Whatever you need, talk to them. They are there to please.

Room Tip: There is construction going on currently on the Bahnhofstrasse in the public street, unconnected to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    20
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
26
6
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is my second review for the savoy. I wanted to review it again since my thoughts have changed in my last stays. Again this a very traditional Swiss hotel. It is located in the heart of Zurich on the paradeplatz. So it can't be more central. This hotel is an example of Swiss perfection. Everything is so clean and almost sterile. The rooms are very nice maybe not very stylish. The service is great but especially the front desk can be very reserved. Especially the lady who is the cashier. So you might be a little intimidated by her. Also there is no real lobby, no gym, no pool etc.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the back that faces windows. Prefer street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

SAVOY HOTEL BAUR EN VILLE ZÜRICH is a unique experience. We have a room overlooking Paradeplatz -- the biggest money-handling center in Switzerland. From our balcony, we see Credit Suisse Head Office building on the right and UBS in front of us. Amazing to read about the hotel history dating back to 1838 and equally fascinating to watch night illumination of two big bank buildings being so close to us.

Inside the hotel, eighteenth-century wall clock, original flags of Zurich guilds are history-tellers.

Room is finely decorated, furnished and classy. Make me feel obliged to keep every fine element in good shape even as a hotel guest.

We had dinner in the Italian Restaurant Orsini and Restaurant Baur - good food ingredients and very fine cooking.

Hotel staff team is experienced and efficient. The souls behind are the legendary Manfred and Christina Hörger who run this unique luxurious hotel in very high standard for almost 30 years.

Room Tip: Choose a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank organpipecoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

The room of the Savoy was cosy and clean, but it is very small (also the bathroom), no plug for computer and phone (you need to unplugged some lights to plug your stuff... we are in 2012!) The staff, the ones who answered the phone, were very unfriendly when we asked for a late check-out (at 15:00), they told us in a very rude way that the rule is noon and nothing they can do about it as it is like that all over the world (we travel half of the year in luxurious hotels and this is not true), anyway this was not a way to speak to the clients!! we will never come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mona_3512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

5 star all the way. This was not my first stay at the Savoy Baur en Ville in Zurich, but it has been quite a few years. I can safely say that the service is still first class. I mainly love their bar for meeting business associates or just a pre-dinner drink. The location is perfect.
Only regret is that the breakfast is not a buffet. Instead it is served at your table.

Room Tip: Single standard are a bit small. If you are willing to pay a bit more chose a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

a real 5 star hotel in every aspect. staff were wonderful, cheerful, smiling and eager to help important qualities that are not always found in other hotels.
location is great, rooms are big and elegant.
Thank you Savoy staff for making our trip to Zurich a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashaelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wetherby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

stayed for 7 nights all you would expect from a 5star hotel .as with previous reviewers we found the staff to be meticulous and always there to help. location is ideal the perfect spot fof seeing Zurichs many attractions.it all comes at a price but worth it.would definitely recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindawetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#27 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Baur En Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Baur En Ville

Property: Savoy Baur En Ville
Address: Am Paradeplatz Poststrasse 12 | Poststr 12, Zurich 8022, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#41 Business Hotel in Zurich
#52 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Baur En Ville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Savoy Baur En Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Baur En Ville Hotel
Savoy Baur En Ville zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing