We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXcellent hotel indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Baur En Ville
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXcellent hotel indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Second stay (in one year) in this hotel and I still have the same feeling: reception and service: excellent.
The room (junior suite) is just perfect especialy the batroom. next time for sure I am going to stay at this address.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    20
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
26
6
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
213 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay here, right in the middle of Zurich, a nice room with balcony and view of the Paradeplatz. Service is impeccable, comfort is great, nothing to complain about. In fact it is all very chique, loved the serving of the eggs at breakfast. Its just not that exciting, typical Swiss efficiency.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed at the Savoy Baur En Ville for 3 nights. The location is convenient, however everything else I would regard as average. The beds are not comfortable; I fail to understand why all beds are single / twin with double blankets, even for suites. Other than its location, I fail to see the true value for money in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Courtesy of my wife's gran we stayed here for a weekend in May. I have to say within seconds and I mean seconds of contacting reception for adapters, ironing, food etc there was someone at the room ready to help. Very old school high class service and great attention to detail. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UdhiEmilySilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

As someone who wouldn't usually invest in such a ridiculously fancy hotel, wow how clean and perfect everything was. Room could've been a bit bigger and listening to my colleague in the adjacent room use the plug sockets, bathroom etc... Hmm me thinks the sound proofing could be improved... Anyway the service was fantastic albeit a bit over the top sometimes. Reception / front desk were very helpful with a perfect smile and very clear and understanding in their position. One did feel a little uneasy with the 6 waiters being promptly directed around the 2 guests, I'm sure some people appreciate complete pampering...

Very nice hotel with perfect cleanliness and prompt service... It gives me hope :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

There are fancier hotels in Zurich perhaps -- Park Hyatt, Baur au Lac - and other places where you can go to swim. But for sheer competence, attention to detail, attention to customers, I know of no hotel anywhere that compares to the Savoy Bar En Ville.

There are always enough people at the front desk and at the concierge desk. And they are paying attention, not bored, available to help, and knowing what to do. From the eldest to the youngest staffer, they are customer-focused. My needs were simple: I had forgotten my power converters from US to continental Europe. They provided me two, it took all of 90 seconds for them to arrive once I had phoned. Messages? Delivered. Food? Impeccable. Housekeeping service. Invisible, but immediate, whenever I was absent they somehow came to do their upkeep.

My room was small, nothing special, but as clean as anyone could wish. Bath facilities practical. Water, delivered as I needed.

Did we say impeccable? Impeccable. Did we say friendly? Friendly. Did we say competent? Kind? Low-key? Diligent? All of these.

Was there wireless? Included, and error free, workable for lap-top and I-PAD alike, simltaneously.

An ancient hotel updated and maintained to 21st century standards, right on the Paradeplatz, next to every major Swiss banking institution and walking distance to the lake.

If you need more space, talk to them. Whatever you need, talk to them. They are there to please.

Room Tip: There is construction going on currently on the Bahnhofstrasse in the public street, unconnected to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is my second review for the savoy. I wanted to review it again since my thoughts have changed in my last stays. Again this a very traditional Swiss hotel. It is located in the heart of Zurich on the paradeplatz. So it can't be more central. This hotel is an example of Swiss perfection. Everything is so clean and almost sterile. The rooms are very nice maybe not very stylish. The service is great but especially the front desk can be very reserved. Especially the lady who is the cashier. So you might be a little intimidated by her. Also there is no real lobby, no gym, no pool etc.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the back that faces windows. Prefer street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#27 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Baur En Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Baur En Ville

Property: Savoy Baur En Ville
Address: Am Paradeplatz Poststrasse 12 | Poststr 12, Zurich 8022, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#41 Business Hotel in Zurich
#52 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Baur En Ville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Savoy Baur En Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Baur En Ville Hotel
Savoy Baur En Ville zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing