We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise & good value”
Review of Hotel St. Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Josef
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
perth wa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise & good value”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel St Josef, we were travelling with a family of four. The room we were given is in the newer section, it was really spacious and modern, overlooking the street.
The breakfast was really homely and the traditional bircher muesli was delicious.
The location of this hotel is fantastic, we arrived & departed via train & it was easy walking distance with luggage. It was a pleasant walk into the town & shops.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    288
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
124
233
46
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Booked the"junior suite" and were delighted with our choice. Room was large and very comfortable with a small balcony. All areas were exceptionally clean. We knew that there was no air conditioning which did not prove problematic for us, but it may have, had the weather been warmer. Breakfast was more than sufficient to start our day;bircher muesli delicious. Added plus is the self serve laundry (for a fee) which makes travelling a little easier. Staff were very helpful and courteous. The ease of access to train station, all in all, made this an excellent choice. Safe for valuables and free wifi an added bonus.
No pool or fitness but I don't know how to delete rating!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Walking distance from train station and Central tram stop. Not far from ETH and UZH main sites. The hotel is divided over two buildings. Rooms are large and clean with free internet access. Excellent breakfast buffet. No frills but excellent deal for the room rate. Reception desk personnel changes frequently but is usually well prepared and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123v_i_n_z321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We love Zurich and we love this hotel. Have tried different hotels in the same area in Zurich (5 min walk from the main train station), and this one is the best. Clean, quiet, roomy, very friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast, and free (fast) wifi. 5 min walk to the Univ. of Zurich, and 10 min walk to the old town. Coop grocery shop is 5 min walk. I would highly recommend for both value and quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I wanted somewhere central, safe and clean. This is exactly what I got. The service was friendly, the breakfast was above average and the central station took me 6 minutes to walk.
The inside of the room was fresh and new and the bed comfortable.
Tea & coffee facilities are provided are are TV and in room safe. Sure, there was no A/C but there was an in room fan provided and this proved adequate.
The price in comparison with other similar properties is very competitive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

I loved this hotel, very nice option for anyone wanting good position, lovely service and convenience, you can even do your own washing if you would rather, after living out of a suit awe for nearly a month this was a highlight, thank you very much.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
131 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is quite new, absolutely clean, central, breakfast and WIFI included in the standard rate, staff is kind and it is also easy to reach both by car and by public transport. But ....there is a but ...
My room was ground floor andI'd rather keep the window closed at night, then take a warm April night and a heavy winter blanket, well I slept dressed and without the blanket ...generally speaking I would be careful in summer, no AC together with a ground floor room are not the best mix ....

Room Tip: Not ground floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
764 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#51 of 139 in Zurich
520 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#37 of 139 in Zurich
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 139 in Zurich
925 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Josef

Property: Hotel St. Josef
Address: Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Zurich
#26 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#30 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Josef 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our charming hotel you will find everything you wish for your holiday or business stay. Our house is located close to the main station of Zurich , only a few steps from the Old Town and the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Theater, cinema, opera house, museums , ETH and University are within easy walking distance . A short walk takes you to the beautiful lake promenade of Zurich . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Josef
St Josef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing