We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in Zuerich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lady's First Design Hotel
Ranked #16 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Recently my wife and I went to Zuerich to visit our son and his family. Because the wether was not so good, we were compelled to stay in the "Lady's First Hotel" more time than we planned. The misfortune was not so dreary also because our comfortable room 101 helped us to have in any case a nice time.

Room Tip: During a week end, ask for room 101. It's very quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for Lady's First Design Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very close to opera house, trams, old town - quiet safe location, great room, great staff, wonderful breakfast - would definitely recommend. Only slight negative is if you have someone staying in the room above you - sound proofing in old house with wooden floors not great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Cls S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I loved the spa and saunas along with the relaxation room and rooftop terrace. The location near the #4 tram was convenient and quiet. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with plenty of options. I enjoyed a single room and it was spacious and offered plenty of outlets and amenities.

Room Tip: Loved the spa and saunas
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cctexas94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I would not stay again, although the hotel had some positives. The reason i would not is that the positives did not outweigh the cost.

Likes
-friendly staff, including
-good location near lake and trainstation,
-quiet, comfortable beds, slept well,
-high ceilings, wood floors
-pizzeria on corner had very good food
-balcony

Dislikes
-cost
-shower head was in center of bathtub, with drain also in center of tub. Impossible to shower without closing tub drain.
-Small rooms

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtsuited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our first visit to Zurich and the last stop on an 16-day holiday. Choosing a hotel was a combination of value hunting and pleasure seeking. Having spent a bundle at two 5-star hotels already, I wanted to hold down my expenditure in Zurich if I could. After researching the hotel situation and reading the reviews both here and on other sites, the Lady's First Design Hotel seemed to make sense for us...and it did.

The neighborhood in which this hotel is situated is affluent, safe and convenient. If you can walk a short block-and-a-half, you'll be standing in front of the tram station in 5 minutes. From there, you can take one of 3 trams to the city center (or the opposite direction, if you choose). And that's where the fun begins!

You'll also find the most delicious Italian restaurant just across the street from Lady's First, called Amalfi. It was so excellent, we ate three meals there over our four day visit! Don't miss it.

The hotel's receptionists speak fluent English, are among the nicest and most helpful of any hotel I've visited, and are efficient and helpful at every turn. They know the city well, the tram system and can help you book a walking tour or restaurant reservation.

Our third floor room was very large with an operating window, large bath with glass shower, toilet and sink. It was spotlessly clean. The linens were of good quality and the mattresses were firm and comfortable. The TV received BBC and several other English-speaking channels. There was a large working desk with lamp in the corner and a modern chair with floor lamp near the window; the chair was marvelously comfortable. There was no bidet, nor is there air conditioning anywhere in the hotel. However, for those of you who perspire at the rate of Niagra Falls, such as me, they offer large yet quiet fans for you room, which worked perfectly for us. Even in the hottest of Zurich days (25F). The fan will be sufficient day and night.

The breakfast room is very nice, colorful, clean and sunny. You can select from among a delicious array of fruits, yogurts, cheeses, cold cuts, breads, jams and juices. Coffees are offered by the delightful hostess/server and scrambled and hard-boiled eggs accompany the other fine selections.

Yes, I highly recommend this hotel. It is ideal gays and lesbians - singles or couples. The spa is reserved for ladies only - gents can have a wonderful massage in their rooms, such as I did.

Room Tip: There are many room selections, some for singles, doubles and others suite-like rooms with a sofa...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Froggy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The service was great and ever friendly, the rooms are wonderful designed and furnished in a modern way, from hotel you can reach the Lake Zurich in two minutes; overall the hotel can be recommended to all travellers! For me there is no criticism.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Katrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is about 20-30 minutes walk from the main train station but you can walk all along Lake Zurich which is lovely. The road is quiet and the hotel is an old builidng with beatufiul wooden floors but all modern fittings. Staff were friendly and breakfast excellent. Zurich is a lovely city and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaja_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
812 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#15 of 138 in Zurich
393 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady's First Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady's First Design Hotel

Address: Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#24 Business Hotel in Zurich
#30 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £121 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady's First Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lady's First Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady`s 1st Design Hotel
Ladys First Design zürich
Hotel Ladys First Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing