We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lady's First Design Hotel
Ranked #16 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Locarno, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place in Zurich”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have spent one night in Zürich for a concert at Kauflauten. Our room was little but clean, quiet and full of light. We've appreciated the wide bathroom, with a bathtub and a window. For breakfast there was a wide choice. The only negative part was at the reception desk, where only German and English were spoken, that was ok for us, but French would have been a plus...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LaBoiteVisualArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    216
    51
    8
    7
See reviews for
86
190
84
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed as a family. In a way the hotel is a "standard" boutique hotel but with an interesting twist. It has typical Swiss business efficiency yet is small enough that the staff know you by name very quickly so the service feels personal.
The location is outside the main centre in a quiet, residential area yet in sight of the lake and a very pleasant walk into town beside the lake.
The rooms we chose (junior suite and singles) were well appointed, attractive and with all the amenities one would expect.
If ever I'd go to Zurich on business alone, I'd want to stay there, but as a man, that's the only drawback to the hotel! For couples and for women, whether travelling alone on business or as friends on holiday, it's an excellent option.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed a the Lady's First Design hotel whilst on business. The hotel is centrally located and easy to access from the tram. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and there's a warm welcoming reception with fireplace. The hotel is in quite an old building that has been pleasantly refurbished into a chic boutique hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, however the only downside is the old fashioned wooden floors mean it's quite noisy when others are walking in the short corridors so I would recommend some earplugs. Nice breakfast and would generally recommend this for those wanting a nice but not stupidly priced hotel in Zurich with easy access to the centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 5KittyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hotel close to the centre, 10 minutes walk. Room and breakfast where ok. Staff was pleasant and very thoughtful. Room very clean. Public transport close and frequently running into city centre. Next to the wellness possibilities, not much to do in the hotel. Quite location in a nice area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lady's First was named by a local as a friend's top choice when visiting Zurich. It's in a solid old building three tram stops beyond the Stadlhof, in a pleasant residential neighborhood near the lake (very nice place to jog or stroll). It was clean and quiet, and the minimal service was cheerful--I don't remember whether there's room service, but you can get made-to-order expresso drinks at breakfast or order tea or drinks in the lobby, which has a small seating area with fireplace. There is also a spa which I not try. The reception closes at 10 pm and the outside door is locked, so you use your key to enter the building at night.

When I got to my room it seemed so small and dark that I called reception to verify that they'd given me the superior that I'd reserved. They confirmed that it was, and offered me another on a higher floor, which was even smaller. The hotel calls itself a design hotel, which apparently means modern furniture and plain colors in renovated rooms. The bathroom was modern; toiletries were what I'd expect in a cheaper hotel. Granted, Zurich is breathtakingly expensive, but for the price there's really nothing special about this property. Compared to the three other Zurich hotels I've stayed in, this would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The location of the hotel is great. Easy to reach from the airport and the main train station. The lake is a 2 minute walk away and the downtown area can be reached within 10 minutes.
The room I stayed in, was nice and large enough. Unfortunately I did not find any sleep as i could hear the other guests clearly. The guests on the floor up from my room (206) pretty much walked around all night and I could hear every step very clearly.
When I mentioned this to the reception in the morning, they did not care much. I asked for the supervisor, but she was on vacation. Also the hotel director could not be reached. Voicing this complaint was impossible.
Breakfast was okay, but nothing special.
At 220 CHF per night, the stay was not cheap, either.
When coming back to Zurich, I will avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
779 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 139 in Zurich
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
863 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady's First Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady's First Design Hotel

Property: Lady's First Design Hotel
Address: Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#24 Business Hotel in Zurich
#30 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady's First Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lady's First Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady`s 1st Design Hotel
Ladys First Design zürich
Hotel Ladys First Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing