We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady's First Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lady's First Design Hotel
Ranked #14 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

After a long frustrating search for a modern and affordable hotel in Zurich, we came across Lady's First, which turned out to be a fabulous find. Despite arriving for check in very late (there is no one at the check in desk past 11:00pm, but your room keys will open the front door), we were welcomed with great, friendly, and helpful service at the front desk. The rooms were very spacious, immaculate, and cleverly designed – they maintained the integrity of the original design, while providing a comfortable, modern environment. Our request for a room with a balcony was graciously honored and we had a lovely stay. The breakfast (included with our room) was also wonderful and as with everything else at Lady's First, the service was outstanding. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRZS312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    205
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
79
179
79
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

The staff was very helpful and pleasant and spoke very good english. We were given a room upgrade to a higher floor because the floors can be a bit noisy from above. It is an old building with beautiful original parque floors, but they make crackling noise with every step. Nice size room and upfitted bath. Great breakfast included in the price. Quiet location is very close to the historic center for walking or tram access. I knew that the spa was just for women, but it would be nice if they could add an area for men too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellerbee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

quick one night business trip with my wife - free wifi, right by the lake for a pleasant stroll into town for some good food and wine, and a great nights sleep as well.
Intimate and friendly breakfast
will be back with more time next time !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marathonman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

First the negative. The rooms are sparsley furnished with IKEA type furniture. The soap & shampoo is from the same squeeze bottle in shower. The squeeky wood floors are the reason we can not give this hotel a positive review. Anytime anyone above us moved, we could hear every footstep. When I got up in the night and crossed the floor on tip toe, the sound of the floor squeeking woke my husband. The floors are really in need of replacement. Also, they only change the bedlinens evey three days.
The positive. The rooms are large by european standards. The reception area ladies were polite and helpful. Breakfast was limited but fresh and quite nice. The location is very good, very safe, and three minutes from the trams which take you everywhere. Except for the floors, it is a decent hotel but I would not stay again. I thought it was overpriced for the value received.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reader26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I've stayed several times at this hotel. It is located in a beautiful building, in a very convenient location... only 200 meters from the Zurich lake and quite near to the city center (you can walk there through the parks in 20 minutes or take public transportation and be there in 5 minutes).
The staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are well equipped, with very good beds and nice bathrooms. W-LAN is free of charge.
The spa (women only!) is great!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ariadne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Very nice small hotel in the center of Zurich. The location is unbeatable: on a quiet street but a couple of blocks away from the Opera, the lake and several nice restaurants.
The hotel is small but nicely decorated. Good breakfast and excellent service.
Only drawbacks:
- no fitness room,
- creaky floors.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

This charming hotel run entirely by women is a proof of our belief that the world run by women would be a much better place... Staff were friendly and helpful, the decor was very modern yet warm. Breakfast was delightful. Travel to the hotel was easy as 2 tram lines go nearby, and also, the lake is a few meters away.

We couldn't find any fault, and enjoyed our 3 nights tremendously.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank translighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady's First Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady's First Design Hotel

Property: Lady's First Design Hotel
Address: Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#24 Business Hotel in Zurich
#30 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady's First Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lady's First Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady`s 1st Design Hotel
Ladys First Design zürich
Hotel Ladys First Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing