We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rossli
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spent a great weekend in Zürich with sightseeing and shopping. For this purpose the Roessli is ideally situated, offers comfortable but rather small rooms, a good size bathroom and comfortabel beds. The only small minus point is the small CRT TV. Breakfast buffet is of high quality and choice so that you feel fit for a lengthy excursion. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Max H

Thank you for your friendly comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are going to replace all old TVs the coming months...
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.

Your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

ZUrich is a pretty grand place with power jewelry stores on every corner. They don't even bother locking the gems up at night. It is somewhat hard to find a comfortable , reasonable place. I'm not a big fan of gild and heavy drapery. We felt lucky to find this sweet fun modest hotel. It is a real plus especially if you are there to fly out the next day. It is on a neat , narrow old street convenient to everything. The rooms are very contemporary and there is cool original art throughput this renovated place which adds to the ambiance. The person who checked us in was helpful and lovely in every way. This is a friendly neat boutique place.
I would say ask for extra pillows if you are American and English CNN would be nice. South Park in German is a hoot, though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Zarkoff

Thank you for your friendly comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon. And we promise English TV as we have it per now!
Your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After a long flight we arrived at the Hotel Rossli in Zurich. (hard to find the hotel)

The front desk attandant whose name is on the desk top was very off hand. (not so friendly).

This remained so during our stay.

At check out we were forced to wait more than 5 minutes while she finished a private conversation on the phone.

The price for bottle of wine was outrageous and the quality very poor.

The room was very nice but the view was of another window next door.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophodogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Sophodogs

Thank you for your comment. We are terribly sorry to hear you did not feel welcome in our hotel. This is not our standard! It is the first time we get a complaint for friendliness. Mostly all our guests are more than satisfied and speak in high terms of our team.
I hope you will give us a chance to prove we can do better!
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon in our Hotel.

Best regards, your Hotel Rössli team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were revisiting Zurich and know the area well, but this was our first stay at this hotel. The location was as we expected - excellent for the old town and all our old haunts.

We stayed in the junior suite on the 6th floor which has its own roof terrace with amazing views across to the Grossmunster. It might be a disadvantage for people who don't like stairs that the lift goes only as far as the 5th floor. The room itself was spacious, clean and well-presented. The bed was particularly comfortable.

The service from the reception staff was impeccable and helpful (they immediately supplied adaptors for our UK chargers).

The restaurant on the first floor of the hotel is first class.

The bar on the ground floor was well-used by locals and had a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Lynda S

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We hope to see you soon back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for one night to enable us to explore the old city. Hotel location is superb - right in the old city, close to a tram stop and with easy access to bars and restaurants. It is very convenient for exploring the old city using the self guided walking tour provided by the hotel. Room was good, perfect for a short stay. Breakfast was fine although the hot food, mainly the scrambled egg, could have been better. Would stay again next time we visit Zurich.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Stephen G

Thank you for your nice comment. We would be delighted to welcoming you soon back in our Hotel. And the scrambled egg will be better then - promise!

Best regards,
Your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the apartment on the top floor. WOW!!! was our first impression. It is a very spacious and comfortable apartment. This apartment consists of 2 floors, and a roof top balcony with a view of the Grossmuster church. The decor consists of Ikea quality furnishing, but pleasant and functional. There are bathrooms (only shower) in top master room floor and lower floor (with a tub).

The apartment comes with a "full" kitchen, although there were not many things to use to make even a simple omelette - no cooking utensils, one small pot, one pan. We were not planning to do much cooking so it was not a problem, but we would have liked to have made some familiar snacks for our kids since we have been traveling for over a month, and a kitchen like such should be equipped and functional. When we arrived, the trash in the kitchen was full. There were beer bottles from last guests and also parts of machineries scattered in cabinets. There were empty boxes of dishwasher detergent. A light bulb was blown out and part of the kitchen was dark. Also, there were bottles of liqueur (for sale) in the fridge that were expired. It felt like a neglected kitchen.

The entry to apartment is across from the reception and breakfast building. The elevator is from 1st floor to 3rd floor only. The apartment is on 4th floor. So need to lug bags up the last flight of stairs from 3rd floor to 4th floor. The stairs in the apartment to the top master floor was kind of steep and narrow. Not most convinient since it is very hard to carry suitcases up, and therefore lots of climbing up and down. Not a good room for people who do not like stairs.

The master room on the top floor is an attic room with ceilings that drop to the floor at one end. Ventilation in this room is not too good. We open all windows and bugs fly in. Also when we were there the street noise from below lasted till about 2 to 3am every night! (The Hotel provides ear plugs!!!)

Breakfast was just average. Breakfast room was small and crowded, so eat fast and leave.

Location of hotel is GOOD!! Inside old town and 5 mins from the Grossmuster church. 15 mins walk to art museum. Take tram #4, and you get back to train station in less than 10 minutes, where the National historical museum, Banhofstraase, and the Tourist Info are. Closest tram stop is located across a church by the river just 2 mins walk round the corner from hotel.
Many good restaurant just minutes walk away. Also the famous sausage stand, Sternen Grill is just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just-Travelling888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Just-Travelling888

Thank you very much for your comment. We are terribly sorry to hear about the kitchen issues. This is just not our standard! I hope you will give us a chance to prove we can do better!
We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon in our Hotel.

Best regards, your Hotel Rössli team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor, and I loved the place from the moment I stepped in! Nicely decorated, clean and spacious, and the balcony was a hit! Special thanks to the reception staff for their recommendations on tourist attractions and places to dine out. Breakfast was also good, freshly cooked and nicely served.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you NPik for your nice comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
901 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#65 of 138 in Zurich
226 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#52 of 138 in Zurich
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Altstadt Hotel
Altstadt Hotel
#108 of 138 in Zurich
106 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#61 of 138 in Zurich
182 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 138 in Zurich
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rossli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rossli

Address: Roessligasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Zurich
#34 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#40 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £146 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rossli 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually luxurious, modern and historically protected, this property gives visitors to Zurich a taste of the old, a twist of the new and a whole lot of charm. Also the 27 guestrooms connect old with new in a fascinating way and are characterized by lovingly and uniquely designed furniture and love to detail. Contemporary pieces of art of different painters underline the historic ambience. The hotel makes guests feel they are the only guest in the hotel, both in style and service. Located in the historical area of Zurich, a short walk from Bellevue square as well as the Kunsthaus, just within one reach of the busy financial centre and surrounded by few of the best and most interesting restaurant and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre, nightlife and shopping. Ideal for both: the active and culturally curious guest and the business guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rossli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roessli Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing