We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Zürich”
Review of Hotel Rossli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rossli
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

After reading about the hotel i Wallpapers Zürich guide we booked a room for the weekend and really liked it. It felt like staying in the guest room of a nice relative with the personally decorated room and the large mosaic bathroom (with Kiehls products). We enjoyed good breakfasts and would have loved to go to the restaurant - next time! The hotel had a nice bar where we ended our Zürcher evenings. The only reason I don't give the hotel full score is that the weekend nights were a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear awpal

Thank you very much for your nice comment.
Hope to see you soon back in Zurich and you will have the chance to experience our great Italian restaurant.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our first time i Rössli. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was great!
We would definitely stay there again! Free ok wifi, not the best, but ok.
Our rooms was a good size and the bathroom was very nice, My daughter loved the Kiehl's Products.
The location is great for walking. Not far anywhere in Zurich.
A bit noicy at night, happy people right below. But thats okey, we are Downtown! Earplugs were provided.
Wonderful helpful staff, both at the frontdesk and breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Elisabeth

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

Hope to see you soon back in Zurich.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a long layover in Zurich and were very pleased with Hotel Rossli. We loved how simple and quaint the design was. The beds were so comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TovahM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear TovahM
Thank you very much for your rating!
We would be delighted to welcoming you back.
Best regards, your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our room did not look anything like the pictures on the website. It was in the annex, across the street. The room was small, undecorated and very, very noisy. It faced a narrow street lined by 3 story buildings. This made it similar to a tunnel and the idiots walking down the street until the 1:30 – 2:00 AM, knew if they yelled or sang, it would amplify the sound like a car horn in a tunnel. On the other side there were tables outside the bar and the voices and laughter bounced off the walls. They furnished earplugs which helped me for two nights, but after that, they hurt my ears so much that I couldn’t use them for the rest of our stay. This meant that I was only getting about 4 hours of sleep because in early morning, the street cleaning machine made multiple passes and an army of delivery trucks slammed doors and it sounded like the trucks started their engines right outside the windows.

The bath was very small, too small even for one person. I had to open the bath door to use the towel to dry my back. Also the TV was small and ancient and it was difficult to turn it on. There was no way to make hot water for tea or coffee.

When I complained about the room to the lady at the desk, she said that next time I should ask for a room in the hotel and facing the courtyard. I am sure there will not be a next time.

We booked the room very early and are extremely disappointed that we were put in such a terrible room. We feel that we’ve paid 5 star prices for a 2 star room.

Room Tip: If they want to put you in the annex, I'd leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJerry2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear LJerry2214

Thank you very much for your comment.
First of all I would like to apologize that you have not had a good experiece at our hotel and that we did not full fill your expactations.
Also I would like to apologize that we were fully booked and could not move you to a higher floor.
It is true, the rooms are quieter on the higher floors especially facing the backyard but you will still hear noises from outside since the hotel is located in the middle of the old town of Zurich.

For your information the TVs will be replaced very soon, we know they are too small and old. And we are going to renovate all the rooms this summer. I understand this is not a compensation for you, but should show you that we are keen to full fill our guests’ expectations.

We would be delighted if you could give us a second chance to proof we can do better!
I wish you all the very best.

Sunny regards from Zurich, your Hotel Rössli team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I've stayed at the Hotel Rossli several times - the location is great for walking around and is a short taxi ride to the main train station and about a 20 minute taxi from the airport. Free good wifi. Rooms are a nice size and bathrooms are great - big and they have very nice Kiehl's toiletries. I agree with another reviewer that the pillow is a big negative - I need a smaller/softer pillow. The only other negative is that there are a number of small steps to get to the elevator which is awkward if you have a heavy/rolling bag - whether you are in the main building or across the road in the annex. The best room (ideal for a family or a romantic weekend) is the large room on the top floor which has an extra annex with another bed and a drop down staircase to a fantastic private terrace with views over Zurich. The breakfast room has recently been renovated and turned into a real restaurant - very attractive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Lynne087
Thank you very much for your rating!
Soon we will have different pillows to choose from... since we are going to do some renovations in all rooms; we also want to improve our services.
Yes, it is true the elevators should go one floor higher. But since the Hotel is under heritage protection we are not allowed to.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back.
Best regards, your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very nice and pleasant hotel. Rather for tourist than business trip but enough for both.
Very clean, quiet, located in the middle of old town. Economic equipment in the room but good free WiFi.
Close to tram stop and via tram to the main railway station.
Breakfast - limited choice but good quality.
One big minus for pillow:-)
I prefer much more hard

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Mariusz J
Thank you very much for your rating!
Soon we will have different pillows to choose from...
We would be delighted to welcoming you back.
Best regards, your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have stayed there for one night. The location is great, in the old city near almost everywhere. The room was nice and very clean. Breakfast was good. There is also a nice bar which was crowded and looked cool. The only thing that was not perfect was hearing people who drank outside the bar until it closed when I opened the window for some fresh air...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Nulypetel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear mapleleafOntario
Thank you very much for your rating!
We would be delighted to welcoming you back.
Best regards, your Hotel Rössli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
889 reviews
Old Town
Altstadt Hotel
Altstadt Hotel
#107 of 137 in Zurich
106 reviews
Old Town
Hotel California
Hotel California
#90 of 137 in Zurich
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wellenberg
#56 of 137 in Zurich
639 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#62 of 137 in Zurich
178 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#69 of 137 in Zurich
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rossli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rossli

Address: Roessligasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Zurich
#34 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#40 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £167 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rossli 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually luxurious, modern and historically protected, this property gives visitors to Zurich a taste of the old, a twist of the new and a whole lot of charm. Also the 27 guestrooms connect old with new in a fascinating way and are characterized by lovingly and uniquely designed furniture and love to detail. Contemporary pieces of art of different painters underline the historic ambience. The hotel makes guests feel they are the only guest in the hotel, both in style and service. Located in the historical area of Zurich, a short walk from Bellevue square as well as the Kunsthaus, just within one reach of the busy financial centre and surrounded by few of the best and most interesting restaurant and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre, nightlife and shopping. Ideal for both: the active and culturally curious guest and the business guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rossli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roessli Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing