We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, updated room, WiFi”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Updated room, roomy bathroom. Great bed! Excellent breakfast, dynamite walkable location in an area that is quiet at night. Front desk staff are extremely helpful. Clean and well lit with excellent internet. Safe location with a well lit entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Grüezi SR22

We are delighted that your positive opinion about your stay can be expressed in such short phrases. What more is there to say than Thank you for having chosen for your stay our historical Hotel Helmhaus: between modern features such as free highspeed Wifi internet, individually adjustable air conditioning and sound-proof windows our guests can feel the breath of the past in our nearly 700 years old building.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

You have to give it to the Swiss - they are hospitable par excellence. Helmhaus, however, exceeded our expectations. As soon as we got it in, the front desk was not worried about our credentials, they wanted to make sure that we got our welcome drinks - coffee, white wine, or whatever we wanted. They also wanted to make sure we were not going to be inconvenienced by our pieces of luggage.

The hotel is located in the Old Town - almost across the Helmhaus of Zurich. All the good restaurants in the old town are walking distance to the this boutique hotel. Right across it is the Sunrise shop which, if you want to buy pre-paid SIM for your smart phones or iPads, you most likely can get it from this shop.

The rooms are not large, but they are very clean and cosy. And the internet works pretty well!

The front desk always has a very helpful staff. They can suggest good restaurants or make reservations for you, or even help you book tickets for tours. As it was Holy week, Marja (I thing this was her name) helped us with finding out services in Zurich for our family.

I always reate "excellent" hotels that make me truly feel at home. And Hotel Helmhaus is one such hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Grüezi GranDia

It has been a pleasure welcoming you to our Hotel Helmhaus. It is nice to know that you had a comfortable stay and that we even exceeded your expectations.
It is our aim to deliver quality not quantity, and therefore the service of our team members as well as continued investments and renovations ensure that we can provide our guests with a comfortable and relaxing surrounding, where the present mixes with the past.

We hope to make you „feel at home“ in the future again and wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The airline lost our luggage and the staff here was so helpful arranging for delivery, calling the airline, and doing all they could to help. Lovely coffee available in the lobby. Breakfast was very good. Hotel is impeccably clean, warm and inviting. Quite luxurious as well. The location is perfect, so much is walkable from here. You would not regret a stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nanzkabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Grüezi nanzkabob

Thank you for having been our guests and for sharing your thoughts with other travellers and us. We are delighted to know that you did not regret your stay at our historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. Especially your gratefulness in regards to the service provided to you by our team members is much appreciated. We know how inconvenient it can be when luggage has gone missing in a foreign country, and therefore we like to take the extra step to assist our guests in this sutuation as best as possible.

We hope that this was a single occurance in your travel through Europe, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Have stayed here before and will return again when next in Zurich.
This is a lovely, friendly hotel and all the staff go out of their way to help.
It is a comfortable hotel with a good breakfast.
Andre, the Manager and Mario on reception are always wanting to ensure you enjoy your stay.
It is well situated in the centre of Zurich within walking distance of all the wonderful sights.
There is a tram stop nearby and the main station is about 20 minutes walk.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Grüezi Lorraine W

Thank you very much for having been our guest again.It is always a pleasure to welcoming you back to our little historical Hotel Helmhaus.
Your compliments about the friendliness and helpfullness of all our team members are very much appreciated and have been communicated.

We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you the next time.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

In this hotel feels almost like home. Rooms are big and neat, very friendly staff.
Location is also very convinient.
Breakfast I found very well organized, not a big choice but in a same time you can find everything.
Quality of sleep is good.
The only thing is that if you are a basketball player or just a high person you might feel uncomfortable, because I felt that ceiling is about 2 meters high)))

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Grüezi Julia R

It is a pleasure to know that you felt „almost like home“ at our little Hotel Helmhaus Zurich.
For our Swiss Breakfast buffet we want to provide quality instead of quantity. Therefore it consists of mostly Swiss products of high quality, partially self-made or directly from local farmers.
Your compliments about the friendliness of our team members have been duly shared.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I really like the location. The rooms are small but if u are looking for a chill place just to rest and relax this is the place. Not a big nightlife near but public transit is everywhere. Gym is about a block away and the shopping district is right outside. When I went the staff was younger and able to help me with the night life.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuckh116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Grüezi Chuckh116

Thank you for your recent stay at our Hotel Helmhaus Zurich, the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel oft he city. It is nice to know that you especially valued our location in the Oldtown of Zurich, with easy access to public transportation and gyms as well as the most major sights.
Just recently we have secured a special deal with the "Silhouette" gym just a few minutes from our hotel, so our guests can work out there for a reduced price.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at Helmaus for 4 nights less than a week ago and we highly recommend it. A great location, near the Zurich river and lake, Tram station a few meters from the hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The room we got, with parquet floor, was well kept and clean. Breakfast was good with variety of products. Very easy to arrive at the hotel from Zurich airport through Zurich main station. We definatly would like to be back to this hotel when in Zurich next time

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Grüezi DVD49

Thank you for having been our guests and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travellers and us.
We are delighted to know that you had such a good time when staying at our historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. Your compliments about the quality of service and facilty have been shared with our team members.
And by booking with us directly your guests can ensure to get the best rooms at the best rates.

We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 137 in Zurich
482 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 137 in Zurich
409 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £160 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing