We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic and modern are beautifully combined at Helmhaus.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic and modern are beautifully combined at Helmhaus.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

For history buffs, this centuries–old hotel was the childhood home of Anna Zwingli, spouse of Ulrich Zwingli, the great sixteenth-century Swiss reformer. (See the plaque out front.) It's beautifully up-to-date, though. From the glass of white wine at check-in, the service is great. The elevator, like many things in Switzerland, is miniature; it fits one person with luggage. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast is very nice, and I found great conversation there. I'd come back at any opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beartrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Grüezi Beartrack

It is a pleasure to know that you have actively experienced the charme and historical past of our nearly 700-years old historical building. This, paired with the comfort of modern features and amenities, is a very special mix with which we treat our guests to Swiss hospitality.
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Helmhaus and for sharing your positive thoughts about the quality of our rooms, our Swiss breakfast buffet as well as the friendliness of our team members with other travellers and us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    214
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
122
343
89
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights on a business trip. If you come from the airport on the train you can use your train pass to take the #4 tram to the Helmhaus stop, about 10 minutes, or walk. Very modern, excellent friendly service, live person wakeup call, very good breakfast with hot eggs-sausage-bacon, cheeses, breads, fruit, cereal, all you could want. Again good service. It is easy walking distance to the Neiderdorf, where all the tourist restaurants are, or you can cross the river for more up-scale things. Of course, it is Zurich and it is not cheap.

Room Tip: The street cleaners come early every day to the front of the hotel, so if you want to sleep in try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tropics_in_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Grüezi Tropics_in_Winter

Thank you for having been our guest and for taking the time to share your positive opinion about your stay with other travellers and us.
It is nice to read that you appreciated the service you have received at the hands of our team members as well as the quality of our Swiss breakfast buffet with carefully selected, mostly Swiss products.
We understand that for many travellers Switzerland is an expensive country, especially also since Zurich is ranking one of the most expensive cities in the world. Therefore our guests are encouraged to book directly with our hotel in order to get the best rooms at the best rates.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for the 2nd time in Hotel Helmhaus. My father and I shared a room. Everything in the room was up to standard. The bed, pillows and duvet was awesome. Best night ever. Breakfast was awesome,and the service was great. Thank you for that. We will be back...

Room Tip: Hotel is close to the train station, and Zurich See, shopping, part of the old town and close to som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Grüezi Annamarie C

It is nice to know that you have stayed at our Hotel Helmhaus already two times. It shows us that with our efforts of maintaining and trying to enhance the quality of our services and products we are on a good way. And with continued investments we want to keep our hotel the comfortable and relaxing place for our guests it has been in the past.

Thank you for having been staing with us, and we look forward to seeing you a third time.

Your Helmhaus Managemeht Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed there with our two teenage children for just one night, but it was perfect. Nadia at the front desk was VERY service-minded, offered a glass of chilled local white wine (it was good :-) ) and everything around the check-in was smooth including driving the car up outside the hotel to unload luggage and people and then finding parking underground at the Opera parking. Rooms very newly renovated and completely to our liking, elegant, wooden floors and not crazily decorated. We had super advise from Nadia on a place to indulge in local cusine not far from the hotel and had an enjoyable evening. After a good nights sleep we had a great breakfast from a buffet which was fresh and had most of everything.
We will return another time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Grüezi Hans W

Thank you and your family for having been our guests recently. We are delighted to read that you especially appreciated the service our colleague Nadja has provided you with as well as our rich Swiss breakfast buffet with mostly local products, i.e. from local farmes or self-made. Your appreciation has been duly shared with Nadja.
We understand that travelling in a largy party can be a challenge, and therefore it is our effort to provide a relaxing and enjoyable surrounding for every guest, from the little ones to the grown ups.
And by booking with our Hotel directly guests can ensure to receive the best rooms at the best rates.

It would be nice to welcoming you and your family again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, NC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Loved this hotel. When we arrived, the front desk staff offered a glass of the local wine as we checked in. The front desk team were all very nice, helpful, polite and spoke great English. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The breakfast was great, with all varieties of breads, cold cuts, fruit, cereal etc. The best part of it was the cheese varieties. Simply delicious!!!!!!!! Great coffee too. All the servers were very nice also. The best part was also the air conditioning. Even though it was May, we used because it was kind of hot. The location is great, near all the good restaurants, and attractions. Zurich is a beautiful city, and made more enjoyable because of our stay at this wonderful hotel. The windows must have been triple insulated since there was no street noise whatsoever. Worth the price for a great stay!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaColumbus_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Grüezi DinaColumbus_NC

It is a pleasure to read that you had such a good time at our Hotel Helmhaus and that you considered our service and products worth the value. We provide high quality products, such as bathroom toiletries of the Swiss line RITUAL, home-made jam from local farmers as well as a large selection of Swiss cheeses on our Swiss breakfast buffet, and a personal 24/7 service by our qualified team members.
Our windows are indeed double glazed and sound-proof in order to keep as much sounds and noises outside as possible and ensure a comfortable and relaxing environment for our guests.

Thank you for having been guests to our historical, yet modern Hotel Helmhaus, and we wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had 2 nights at this quaint little hotel at the end of May and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were tremendous with all their help and information.
Its location was great in that we could take a stroll along the river, explore all the little streets in the area with an abundance of restaurants or bars, walk into the city centre or catch the tram which was just a stones throw from the hotel.
With free WiFi and a very nice breakfast the icing on the cake for our stay in Zurich, I would certainly recommend the Hotel Helmhaus to anyone intending to visit Zurich.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street could be noisy with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Grüezi Murray M

Thank you for having chosen our little historical Hotel Helmhaus which has undergone extensive renovations in the past years. It is a pleasure to know that not only did our location meet your expectations but also the free Wifi internet as well as the quality of our Swiss breakfast buffet and the helfullness of our team members.

Thank you for recommending us, and we hope that we can welcome you as well in the future to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We just stayed there for 1 night last week. We had arrived after a Rhine River cruise. Even though we were very early for check in they had our room available with an upgrade.. This hotel was pretty, warm, inviting and very friendly and helpful. Mario at the front desk was wonderful. He was so kind and helpful. He gave us lots of advise. in fact, when I was deciding on where to stay I kept reading the reviews about how wonderful and helpful the staff was at this hotel. It was so true, They were all great and we loved talking to Mario. He helped us use our limited amount of time wisely. The location is superb...You are in the middle of old town and I could see a little of the lake from my window. The bed was great and very comfortable, the room was spacious and the included breakfast was excellent and was a great money saver not having to go out and find breakfast.Loved the breakfast. Also, free WiFI included. all of these are great extra perks.Thank you for a great time in Zurich!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Grüezi EKHouston

It is a pleasure to read that the stay at our Hotel Helmhaus has contributed so greatly to your good time in Zurich. With a comfortable sleep on one of our high quality Swiss mattresses, our rich Swiss breakfast buffet as well as our location in the heart of Oldtown Zurich our hotel is a very good start into days of exploring and experiencing our wonderful city and its surroundings.
Your compliments about the friendliness and helpfullness of Mario and the other team members have been duly shared.

Thank you for having been staying at the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel in Zurich, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing