We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay for family with a small child.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for family with a small child.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Mario and the entire staff made us feel so welcome with glasses of cold water in the lobby when we arrived and room with a bed big enough to fit our 5-year old. We needed to leave very early (5 am) the next morning and the hotel did an exemplary job of packing us sandwiches for the plane and arranging an excellent taxi service from the hotel to the airport. This hotel was the highlight of our 2 week trip through Italy and Switzerland though it was our shortest stay. Five stars.

Room Tip: Choose Room 52, its the Design Room with an attic ceiling and has a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Grüezi N G

Thank you and your family for having chosen our historcal yet modern Hotel Helmhaus for your stay. Especially when travelling with children one wants to make sure that everything goes smoothely and troublefree. It is nice to know that our team members have made your short stay a highlight of your trip. Guests who need to depart before the offical breakfast time are indeed encouraged to contact our front desk who will arrange for a small continental breakfast or little breakfast bags to go.
Your appreciation for our service has been duly shared with our staff members.

We wish you and your family all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    214
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
122
343
89
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We chose to stay at Hotel Helmhaus because it offered the most reasonably priced room for a family of 4, including 2 children aged 3 and 6 in a central location.

The location is in the heart of the the old town- amidst lots of shops and restaurants in a pedestrian zone. It is a 1-2 minute stroll to the river, a 15 minute walk to the train station, and 10 minutes to Lake Zurich.

The room was clean, modern and comfortable. WiFi was quick and convenient. I heard them offer free loan of an iPad to someone who commented they didn't bring their laptop. Nice to know that they have thought of the small details to help enhance their guests' stay. Service was friendly and reliable. One of the front counter team went out of their way to phone around to organise a doctor's appointment for one of our girls, and printed maps, etc.

There was a fine assortment of food and fresh fruit in the included breakfast.

They also offer laundry service- a full load for 20 CHF, a service I feel is very helpful and would have taken advantage of it it weren't the start of our trip. I only wish it was available in our hotel now in Lucerne!

We enjoyed a great 3 night stay, and would choose this hotel again if we returned to Zurich.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess07Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Grüezi jess07Australia

Thank you and your family for having been guests to our Hotel Helmhaus, the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel in Zurich.
We are delighted to know that you especially appreciated the quality of our services as well as the features that are at our guests‘ disposal, i.e. iPads to rent for free, free high speed internet and laundry service.
We understand that when travelling especially with children one wants to make sure that everything goes as smoothely as possible. We hope that your daughter feels better again and appreciate your gratitude for our service.

It would be nice to welcoming you and your family back to our Hotel Helmhaus, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Helmhaus for two nights (end of June 2014) and the great customer service they provided made a huge difference on our trip. We arrived at HH on our first day in Switzerland, coming from the airport after finding out they had lost our bags. HH was very accommodating and allowed us to check in early and gave us some toiletries to get us through until our luggage showed up. We waited and finally late in the evening on the second day our bags showed up. Unfortunately all of our clothes, in both of our bags, were totally soaking wet! The bags were delayed due to a storm so I guess the airline had left them out in the rain during the delay. Since there are no public laundromats in Switzerland we talked to the front desk and Irene was so very helpful and arranged for housekeeping to dry everything for us the next morning as soon as they got in. They dried everything for us, we were very thankful as we had no idea what we would have done. I did not want to travel to the next town with luggage full of wet clothes that would start to mold and mildew.

The hotel itself is in a great location, right down the street from a bus stop in the middle of Old Town. It is a small hotel but perfect for what you need. We got a premier room and are glad we did for the extra space. Everything was clean, the A/C worked great and we had a partial view of the lake. The breakfast was great! Everything was very fresh and really good. Overall, even if we hadn't had the luggage mishap we still would have given them 5 Stars. Their excellent customer service was just something additional on top of everything else that was perfect! Thank you!

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the corner have a better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaallen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Grüezi amandaallen21

Thank you and your travel party for your recent stay at our Hotel Helmhaus and for sharing your positive thoughts with other travellers and us.
We can fully understand what a hassle it is when the luggage does get lost, and even worse when you receive it in such a bad state. Your appreciation of the help you received from our team members, and especially Irène, in regards to your luggage pieces reflects the high quality of personal and professional service towards our guests. Your compliments have been duly shared.

In general it is nice to know that with the carefully selected, mostly Swiss products for our breakfast buffet, the quality and features of our rooms as well as our location in Zurich‘s city centre we could contribute so much to a comfortable time of yours here in Switzerland.

It would be nice seeing you again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was a short business trip and we wanted somewhere convenient and the location of this place is excellent, walking distance from the railway station and just next to a bridge that brings you to the shopping area. Staff were very friendly and gave us 2 welcome drink while we arrived and upgraded our room which was a nice surprise.

The room wasn't as big as I thought it would be after the upgrade but it was still nice and had a sofa; everything was clean and comfy. Morning breakfast was standard, not too big a selection of food but got everything I usually eat so it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwi0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Grüezi Mwi0124

Thank you for having been guests to our historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay and appreciated the service upon check in.
We understand that guests might consider our rooms not as large as they are accustomed to from other countries. Our rooms with sofa are of the Double Room Superior category and are the largest and most spacious ones our little 24-rooms hotel offers. Also with the size of our rooms we want to keep the charme of our nearly 700-years old medieval building. Additionally our guests can inform themselves of our rooms, respective sizes and features on our homepage in advance.
And by booking with our hotel directly guests can ensure to get the best rooms at the best rates.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

For history buffs, this centuries–old hotel was the childhood home of Anna Zwingli, spouse of Ulrich Zwingli, the great sixteenth-century Swiss reformer. (See the plaque out front.) It's beautifully up-to-date, though. From the glass of white wine at check-in, the service is great. The elevator, like many things in Switzerland, is miniature; it fits one person with luggage. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast is very nice, and I found great conversation there. I'd come back at any opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beartrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Grüezi Beartrack

It is a pleasure to know that you have actively experienced the charme and historical past of our nearly 700-years old historical building. This, paired with the comfort of modern features and amenities, is a very special mix with which we treat our guests to Swiss hospitality.
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Helmhaus and for sharing your positive thoughts about the quality of our rooms, our Swiss breakfast buffet as well as the friendliness of our team members with other travellers and us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights on a business trip. If you come from the airport on the train you can use your train pass to take the #4 tram to the Helmhaus stop, about 10 minutes, or walk. Very modern, excellent friendly service, live person wakeup call, very good breakfast with hot eggs-sausage-bacon, cheeses, breads, fruit, cereal, all you could want. Again good service. It is easy walking distance to the Neiderdorf, where all the tourist restaurants are, or you can cross the river for more up-scale things. Of course, it is Zurich and it is not cheap.

Room Tip: The street cleaners come early every day to the front of the hotel, so if you want to sleep in try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tropics_in_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Grüezi Tropics_in_Winter

Thank you for having been our guest and for taking the time to share your positive opinion about your stay with other travellers and us.
It is nice to read that you appreciated the service you have received at the hands of our team members as well as the quality of our Swiss breakfast buffet with carefully selected, mostly Swiss products.
We understand that for many travellers Switzerland is an expensive country, especially also since Zurich is ranking one of the most expensive cities in the world. Therefore our guests are encouraged to book directly with our hotel in order to get the best rooms at the best rates.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for the 2nd time in Hotel Helmhaus. My father and I shared a room. Everything in the room was up to standard. The bed, pillows and duvet was awesome. Best night ever. Breakfast was awesome,and the service was great. Thank you for that. We will be back...

Room Tip: Hotel is close to the train station, and Zurich See, shopping, part of the old town and close to som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Grüezi Annamarie C

It is nice to know that you have stayed at our Hotel Helmhaus already two times. It shows us that with our efforts of maintaining and trying to enhance the quality of our services and products we are on a good way. And with continued investments we want to keep our hotel the comfortable and relaxing place for our guests it has been in the past.

Thank you for having been staing with us, and we look forward to seeing you a third time.

Your Helmhaus Managemeht Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing