We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very pleasant small hotel, nice location, attentive service. Room was large and clean with very comfortable beds. Tea/coffee facilities are not standard in the room, but on request they will provide this.
The breakfast is excellent, plenty of choice.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front, but as the hotel is located at small side street, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aslun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Grüezi Aslun

It is a pleasure to know that you had such a comfortable stay at our Hotel Helmhaus. With continual improvements of services and facility, i.e. new Swiss mattresses, carefully selected products for our Swiss breakfast buffet etc. we aim at making our guests‘ stays as enjoyable as possible.

Thank you for having been staying with us and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Managament Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed with my wife Two nights . Located in a very good location, in the old town but walking distance to Bannhof strasse .
The hotel looks new and clean , modern, Large and nice rooms, outstanding service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Grüezi Jacob O

Thank you and your wife for having been our guests and for sharing your positive thoughts with other travellers and us. After extensive renovations throughout the past few years we can proudly offer updated and comfortable rooms with sound-proof windows, hard-wooden floors and many other features.
Our location in the heart of Oldtown Zurich is perfect for our guests to explore the sights of our wonderful city very easily since most of them are literally at the hotel’s doorstep. Our team members are happy to help with recommendations and hints 24 hours a day.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My kids and I stayed here for one night recently and everything was perfect. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Reception was very friendly and helpful. The location is great. We hope to go back next year and stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Grüezi KTFam

Thank you and your family for having been guests to our medieval yet newly renovated Hotel Helmhaus.
It is a great pleasure to know that you had a ‚perfect‘ stay. Your appreciation for the services provided by our team members as well as the comfort of our rooms has been shared with our team.
After extensive renovations in the past few years we are proud to present our rooms with a new comfort of hard-wooden floors, sound-proof windows, individually adjustable air conditions and many other features. And by booking with our hotel directly guests can ensure to get the best rooms at the best rates.

It would be nice to have you and your family staying with us again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Mario and the entire staff made us feel so welcome with glasses of cold water in the lobby when we arrived and room with a bed big enough to fit our 5-year old. We needed to leave very early (5 am) the next morning and the hotel did an exemplary job of packing us sandwiches for the plane and arranging an excellent taxi service from the hotel to the airport. This hotel was the highlight of our 2 week trip through Italy and Switzerland though it was our shortest stay. Five stars.

Room Tip: Choose Room 52, its the Design Room with an attic ceiling and has a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Grüezi N G

Thank you and your family for having chosen our historcal yet modern Hotel Helmhaus for your stay. Especially when travelling with children one wants to make sure that everything goes smoothely and troublefree. It is nice to know that our team members have made your short stay a highlight of your trip. Guests who need to depart before the offical breakfast time are indeed encouraged to contact our front desk who will arrange for a small continental breakfast or little breakfast bags to go.
Your appreciation for our service has been duly shared with our staff members.

We wish you and your family all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We chose to stay at Hotel Helmhaus because it offered the most reasonably priced room for a family of 4, including 2 children aged 3 and 6 in a central location.

The location is in the heart of the the old town- amidst lots of shops and restaurants in a pedestrian zone. It is a 1-2 minute stroll to the river, a 15 minute walk to the train station, and 10 minutes to Lake Zurich.

The room was clean, modern and comfortable. WiFi was quick and convenient. I heard them offer free loan of an iPad to someone who commented they didn't bring their laptop. Nice to know that they have thought of the small details to help enhance their guests' stay. Service was friendly and reliable. One of the front counter team went out of their way to phone around to organise a doctor's appointment for one of our girls, and printed maps, etc.

There was a fine assortment of food and fresh fruit in the included breakfast.

They also offer laundry service- a full load for 20 CHF, a service I feel is very helpful and would have taken advantage of it it weren't the start of our trip. I only wish it was available in our hotel now in Lucerne!

We enjoyed a great 3 night stay, and would choose this hotel again if we returned to Zurich.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jess07Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Grüezi jess07Australia

Thank you and your family for having been guests to our Hotel Helmhaus, the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel in Zurich.
We are delighted to know that you especially appreciated the quality of our services as well as the features that are at our guests‘ disposal, i.e. iPads to rent for free, free high speed internet and laundry service.
We understand that when travelling especially with children one wants to make sure that everything goes as smoothely as possible. We hope that your daughter feels better again and appreciate your gratitude for our service.

It would be nice to welcoming you and your family back to our Hotel Helmhaus, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Helmhaus for two nights (end of June 2014) and the great customer service they provided made a huge difference on our trip. We arrived at HH on our first day in Switzerland, coming from the airport after finding out they had lost our bags. HH was very accommodating and allowed us to check in early and gave us some toiletries to get us through until our luggage showed up. We waited and finally late in the evening on the second day our bags showed up. Unfortunately all of our clothes, in both of our bags, were totally soaking wet! The bags were delayed due to a storm so I guess the airline had left them out in the rain during the delay. Since there are no public laundromats in Switzerland we talked to the front desk and Irene was so very helpful and arranged for housekeeping to dry everything for us the next morning as soon as they got in. They dried everything for us, we were very thankful as we had no idea what we would have done. I did not want to travel to the next town with luggage full of wet clothes that would start to mold and mildew.

The hotel itself is in a great location, right down the street from a bus stop in the middle of Old Town. It is a small hotel but perfect for what you need. We got a premier room and are glad we did for the extra space. Everything was clean, the A/C worked great and we had a partial view of the lake. The breakfast was great! Everything was very fresh and really good. Overall, even if we hadn't had the luggage mishap we still would have given them 5 Stars. Their excellent customer service was just something additional on top of everything else that was perfect! Thank you!

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the corner have a better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaallen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Grüezi amandaallen21

Thank you and your travel party for your recent stay at our Hotel Helmhaus and for sharing your positive thoughts with other travellers and us.
We can fully understand what a hassle it is when the luggage does get lost, and even worse when you receive it in such a bad state. Your appreciation of the help you received from our team members, and especially Irène, in regards to your luggage pieces reflects the high quality of personal and professional service towards our guests. Your compliments have been duly shared.

In general it is nice to know that with the carefully selected, mostly Swiss products for our breakfast buffet, the quality and features of our rooms as well as our location in Zurich‘s city centre we could contribute so much to a comfortable time of yours here in Switzerland.

It would be nice seeing you again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was a short business trip and we wanted somewhere convenient and the location of this place is excellent, walking distance from the railway station and just next to a bridge that brings you to the shopping area. Staff were very friendly and gave us 2 welcome drink while we arrived and upgraded our room which was a nice surprise.

The room wasn't as big as I thought it would be after the upgrade but it was still nice and had a sofa; everything was clean and comfy. Morning breakfast was standard, not too big a selection of food but got everything I usually eat so it was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mwi0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Grüezi Mwi0124

Thank you for having been guests to our historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay and appreciated the service upon check in.
We understand that guests might consider our rooms not as large as they are accustomed to from other countries. Our rooms with sofa are of the Double Room Superior category and are the largest and most spacious ones our little 24-rooms hotel offers. Also with the size of our rooms we want to keep the charme of our nearly 700-years old medieval building. Additionally our guests can inform themselves of our rooms, respective sizes and features on our homepage in advance.
And by booking with our hotel directly guests can ensure to get the best rooms at the best rates.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 137 in Zurich
483 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 137 in Zurich
409 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £159 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing