We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommendable”
Review of Hotel Sunnehus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sunnehus
Ranked #106 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Excellent small hotel in quiet but relatively central position. Nice rooms, good breakfast, efficient service. Pretty good deal for Zurich. Would definitely not try to look for another place in that town.Excellent connection to the airport with tram line 10, with stop (ETH) just around the corner (duration of trip 30 minutes). Railway station can be reached in 5 minutes with the same tram. In short: highly recommendable hotel providing complete satisfaction even for the experienced traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

I stayed here because it is the closest to the ETH Zurich, which I had to visit for work. It is relatively close to the Hauptbahnhof and walkable, although it is up a rather steep hill. My room was very clean and it had cable internet access. I forgot my cable and they lent me one, which was nice. The breakfast was fairly standard with a few types of bread, yoghurt, cheese, cold cuts, cereals, and perhaps dried or stewed fruit if I remember correctly. There are lots of (mainly Italian) restaurants in the area, including one just across the road, so it was easy to find something to eat.

My only quibble was that I had come down with the flu and really wanted a cup of coffee AND a cup of tea with breakfast - NICHT ERLAUBT! I had to choose one or the other. That's Swiss customer service for you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinnieBNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

The hotel is nicely located within 30sec walking distance to ETH, and 10min walking distance to the center. The room I had was clean, and pleasant. There is a decent continental breakfast from 6:30am (great for a hungry jetlagged traveler that wakes up at 5am). It is a great hotel with nothing to complain about.

Tip: the hotel is walking distance from the central train station, but it is uphill, and if you travel with luggage, I suggest to take tram 6 or 10 to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brbukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

My husband was giving a talk at ETH (a university in Zurich), and the person organizing the talk booked this hotel for us, because it is very close to their facilities. I looked at reviews here, and their webpage, and thought it looked fine, but I wasn't blown away.

I was very pleasantly surprised. This little hotel is wonderful. The decor is very understated but sophisticated, with a Parisian feel. A blue, yellow and white color scheme soothes but doesn't overwhelm. We were in room 16, on the first floor. The room was not huge, but typical size for a 3-star European hotel in a city. It had an actual queen-sized bed, not 2 twins pushed together, which was nice. We did not have a flat-screen TV, but a little 12". Not an issue, since I didn't even watch it. The bed was very comfortable, with a feather duvet for each of us. Very clever the way they make the beds, we found the same thing in Holland. Our bathroom was a decent size, with a standing shower with no tub (the only disappointment. I like to soak after a long day of sightseeing in the chill). My favorite part of our room was a set of double doors that opened onto a covered balcony outside with a little table and 2 chairs. The weather was a bit chilly when we were there, so we didn't use it, but in warm weather it would be a great little place to hang out. Every part of the hotel that I saw was very clean and nice. The breakfast was delicious (Continental-style), with cereal, hard-boiled eggs, cheese, fruit, salami, various breads and wonderful coffee. They bring a little tray with a tiny coffee pot, and a tiny pot of steamed milk. So cute! It was a great way to start the day.

The hotel is within easy (10 min.) walking distance to the central train station, if you are in good shape and like to walk up and down hills. I found several staircase shortcuts going up the hill, which saved time. For those with mobility issues, you can take the 6 or the 10 trams, which run frequently. There are plenty of hotels at the bottom of the hill, closer to the tourist district. I didn't go into any, but they were larger. They looked nice too.

Zurich is a beautiful city, with a lot to offer. I would love to return, and I would definitely consider staying at the Sunnehus again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank travelarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

We stayed two nights in this hotel and were very happy with our stay. The room was incredibly clean, the bed was comfy and we were surprised to have a flat screen tv hanging on the wall to watch. We were on the top floor, corner room and we think it must have been recently remodeled. Breakfast was consistent with other hotels we stayed in - breads, eggs, cheese and dry cereals. The only downfall was that hotel itself was a bit of a hike uphill from the train station. While we were happy with our room, we noticed some of the other rooms in the hotel were much smaller and not as up to date as ours, with the shower placed in a corner of the room itself.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SF-Traveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2006

Two of us stayed in two separate rooms. Mine was quite nice with a good sized bathroom and free internet. TClean. Standard free breakfast. Nice and pleasant staff. My pal's room was also nice, but his bathroom was a bit small.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pabl01neum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank ouppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at Hotel Sunnehus, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Scheuble
Hotel Scheuble
#98 of 137 in Zurich
44 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#28 of 137 in Zurich
597 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#36 of 137 in Zurich
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 137 in Zurich
1,027 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#91 of 137 in Zurich
97 reviews
Hotel Montana
#47 of 137 in Zurich
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnehus

Address: Sonneggstrasse 17, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: £119 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnehus 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ELEGANT HOTEL WITH FRENCH FLAIR IN TRENDY CITY, ZURICH! The Hotel Sunnehus is located in the centre of Zurich and you are the centre point of the Hotel Sunnehus. The service is attentive and professional and guarantees an extremely comfortable stay. THE HOTEL SUNNEHUS TEAM WELCOMES YOU CORDIALLY. You will immediately feel comfortable. After a revitalizing sleep, you may enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet, either in the elegant breakfast room or in the shade in the garden. Experience Swiss hospitality at its best! DIVERS CULTURAL ATTRACTIONS ARE NEAR BY:Opera & concert halls, diverse theatres, art galleries and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sunnehus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing