We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic renovated brewery hotel in the heart of Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Chic renovated brewery hotel in the heart of Zurich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

If you are tired of the typical hotel and want something a little different then do try the B2 Hotel + Spa.

This former brewery has had a series of incarnations over the past 130 years, the most recent being a $65 million renovation converting it into a sleek, chic boutique hotel with an industrial edge. Great care was taken to preserve the brewery's past and the architects incorporated many of these into the design elements.

My room here was modern and efficient with a low platform bed and contemporary bathroom. The colors were bright and the even the chairs in the rooms were all formerly designer pieces.

One of the focal points of this property is the library. First they took more than 33,000 books from a former bookseller and created massive floor to ceiling shelving that guests can enjoy. Then they created huge chandeliers from old bottles (300 to be exact) and then put lighting filaments in them and strategically placed them on their original drying racks. Quite ingenious I thought.

Guests can also take advantage of the thermal spas here as well as a swimming pool on the roof. These are run cooperatively with the hotel and hotel guests can receive a discount for these services.

The location is close to the city trams, river and shopping areas. If you are looking for a unique accommodation give this a try. I loved it and think you will as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room but they have suites as well with a loft and a separate seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    140
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
71
303
18
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Well this was originally a brewery, now converted to a hotel. The staff are very friendly and the rooms well equipped, including a free bottle of the beer. Comfortable seating in the library area where you can enjoy the books and a drink. Easy to find and close to the city with good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: I was told I was on the quieter side, so you could always ask for that, and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed on two separate occasions in March for Business. Very very helpful and friendly staff. I stayed in executive rooms which were bigger than the standard. For Zurich it is good value for money, although not cheap by any means. Breakfast included and very good quality. If you have the budget go for a suite, split level and very large space indeed. My fellow guests raved about the rooftop Spa, but I did not visit it personally. Wifi is free but slow. Faster wifi is available for a fee. Could do with a couple more English channels but you do get BBC1 and BBC2 on the large flat screen TV. Local wine and beer served in the lounge very good and food quality excellent from a small menu. Rooms very well appointed and comfortable beds.
Not central but only five mins into the centre by taxi. Would stay again when next in Zurich.

Room Tip: 403 is a good size executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed at the B2 in March 2013. Given that the hotel advertised itself as being right near the tourist sites, I was a little disappointed by the location. We were upgraded to a nicer suite, which was appreciated, but our stay was only one night. The size and shape of the hotel meant that the suites were hard to find (2 different stair cases and through a large "Machinenraum"). Accommodations themselves were very comfortable and contemporary, though there was a certain prison-like feel to the suite. The in-bedroom bathtub was fun.

Room Tip: The non-suite rooms are closer to the lobby (and easier to find).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpinecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

In summary, you'll be hard pressed to find a better hotel pool in Europe, this is a funky hotel offering a unique experience. If you're in Zurich, spend a night here.

We stayed here as a couple after spending a week in the mountains before flying home. I loved this hotel, it was the perfect end to our trip. The hotel staff were super helpful, polite, accommodating, welcoming, and friendly. The room (we had a Hurlimann Executive room) was very comfortable, modern and funky. The bathroom is effectively a pod in the room, not so great on privacy (my other half has seen it all, so not a problem). I did use the WiFi (basic free Internet) and it was useless, speed was awful. However, I wasn't there to work. There is no gym. The spa facilities are amazing. As a guest you get a discounted rate to enter the spa (which I though was amazing value). The rooftop pool is the top feature, though some of the other pools (such as the meditation pool, where music is played under the water, was a great experience). I didn't eat in the restaurant other than breakfast (buffet option - was a healthy selection of meats, fruits and cereals (no cooked option available)). There are some good local restaurants at the bottom of the hill. We did have a drink in the bar on an evening, though a little quiet (we were the only people in there), the decor and light features are pretty cool and the choice of Swiss wine was good.
We also used the hotel parking, which was a little disconcerting at first as I had to hand over the hire car keys to the reception staff (the car park is somewhere underground and not accessible to guests) - kept thinking the hire car insurance probably doesn't cover this; however, was not a problem, and when we came to check out, the car was parked back out front without a problem. The toiletries provided were pleasant; however, bring your own conditioner, it's impossible to get the conditioner out of the bottle (it's too thick and the bottle too rigid to squeeze).
If you're in Zurich, you should treat yourself to stay here. Given the price of hotels in Zurich, and for what you get, this is pretty good value.

Accommodating to business - not really a business hotel, but the staff are super; if it had a gym, this would be my preferred in Zurich
Fitness / gym - none available (it's more spa than fitness)
WiFi - free and charged options available. The free WiFi is not worth bothering with (useless on speed)
Toiletries - nice, but bring your own conditioner.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel facilities were really nice. The building used to be a brewery and they turned it into a hotel and Spa keeping some of the original features, which makes it a great piece of design. Rooms were very comfortable and had a Scandi design feel. Breakfast was served in the library area (another beautiful design) with a limited but carefully selected offer in the buffet - as you would expect at a boutique hotel.

The spa is quite nice and it does actually have thermal baths and special properties in the water. Great views from the roof pool. Guests need to pay 25 franc/ person for a 24h pass to the spa.

Location can be a bit tricky - not in the middle of the city centre, which requires the use of trams or taxis (from/ to the station, depending on your luggage). it is not very far from the city center (3-5 stops by tram, depending on where you're going) - I didn't find it hard to walk back from the city center one day. But it is a steeper walk indeed when close to the hotel.

Highly recommended for couples - especially if your stay in Zurich is not that limited and you have time to enjoy the spa as well.

Service was extremely good, with very attentive staff. They were very flexible, which sometimes could give the impression that not every employee has the same piece of information - but you just have to talk to them to come to an agreement. Example: we asked if we could continue using the spa after checking out at 11am until we departed at 5pm - different members gave us different info. At the end, however, we enjoyed the spa after check-out and the staff even arranged for us to blow dry our hair in a meeting room before we left (no changing rooms were available).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz_Nogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: When walking into the B2 Boutique hotel in Zurich, you get the sense that the place is fantastically clean, and well designed. The reception area is small, but the staff are quick, efficient, and young. There is a touchscreen TV on the wall, giving you information about the hotel, the sights and more (This is done as a more eco friendly version of a printed hotel guide). The hotel is aligned with the Spa, which is a massive complex of different pools and baths (more later). The first thing you see on entering the hotel lobby is the extremely open plan space with the dining area, walled with old books in a magnificently high bookshelf with over 20,000 books there. In the centre is a huge “chandelier” comprised of bottles with lights inside. It is really nice.

GETTING THERE: The hotel is not really situated within walking distance from any major train or public transport lines. We arrived in Zurich via train and caught a taxi to the hotel. The hotel is situated at the top of a small hill, which is fine for walking, but unadvisable if you have any signifiant luggage over maybe a backpack. It cost CHF20-25 to go back and forth between the train station and the hotel.

ROOMS: We stayed in a basic room (123) which was surprising large. The room is perfectly clean, with all modern amenities. The bathroom is fantastically large for switzerland, with a separated toilet. The shower has a uniquely designed glass screen with curved shower screen. The layout of the room is open plan, with a coffee machine, and enough space to open bags, move around and relax. I was extremely comfortable in this location, especially after moving from my last hotel stay (Hotel Leonardo in Antwerp). The ceilings are high and the bed super comfy. I really do not have any gripes about this room, and as such, this room gets a 5/5. The window is extremely large, and lets in an amazing amount of natural light. The view is minimal, and not worth worrying about.

BREAKFAST: A traditional european breakfast with cold meats, croissants, cereals and the option to order whatever type of eggs you would like. Perfectly satisfactory, and although many complain about its minimalism, it is refreshing to be away from the traditional americal style breakfast of greasy bacon and overcook eggs. We ordered combinations of half boiled, omlettes and friend eggs and all were cooked to perfection. The dining hall is within the “library”, and is a great place to hang out.

INTERNET: There is internet available throughout the hotel with wifi. I actually can’t recall whether or not it is of decent quality or not, but I don’t recall being disappointed with it either. In this day and age, no free internet is ridiculous so I will comment on it in all my further reviews.

LOCATION: As mentioned above, its hard to get around by public transport from this location. Really, its location is beautiful, sat on top of a hill, overlooking the city. It was perfect with the snow falling outside. If you needed to be in the city centre, or wanted really close proximity to trams etc, then this may not be the best place for you. We found it the perfect place to relax at the hotel, and use their facilities. Which brings us onto:

SPA: FOR CHF25, hotel guests can enjoy the adjoining spa (linked via lift to the hotel). The spa is like nothing I’ve ever experienced (I don’t go to spas usually so this may not be that revolutionary) - but the spa is an open area with maybe 10-15 different rooms, each with their own focus. There are rooms of all temperatures, with spa jets within, and moving from each to the other is through a fantastically designed system - all within an old brewery. The old brewery features are really beautiful and they have been maintained in a really minimalistic and classic way. Truly a relaxing experience. You could easily spend the day there (if you have the time) as there are areas to purchase food from throughout. We used the roman bath area as well which is a routine of moving from steam room to spa in a specific sequence, including showers with exfoliant etc. While this type of thing isn’t really my thing, my girlfriend loved it. The area was full of young people, and 95% of the people there are couples, and as other reviewers have mentioned, some are much more amorous than others. I honestly think that you would feel uncomfortable being there by yourself. Go find a friend so you can at least pretend like you’re not on your own! Singles - don’t bother, unlikely you’ll ever find someone to talk to there!

VALUE: We got a prepaid package. It was great value from anything else we have seen in Switzerland. I highly recommend doing it this way, as comparable accommodation in Zurich is ridiculously expensive (when compared to equivalent 5 star accommodation in Australia, Asia and the rest of the Europe).

OVERALL: As a couple, this was the perfect retreat. Highly recommended for honeymooners, and those wanting to hang out with their loved ones. Probably not that recommended for the single traveller wanting to be around the city centre. Staff are extremely helpful and warm. We were really impressed. Definitely will return in the future when we are in Zurich.
(Recent stays - Hotel Leonardo, Antwerp; Hotel Opera, Zurich; Town Hall Hotel, London; Holiday Inn, London; Novotel, York)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#4 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
EMA House Hotel Suites
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa

Property: B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
Address: Brandschenkestrasse 152, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Enge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa in the former Hürlimann brewery offers 60 rooms and suites - all with parquet floor, Nespresso machine, free Wi-Fi and 2 boardrooms for up to 18 people. The highlight of the hotel is the Library with 33’000 books, where breakfast, SWaPPa's (Swiss tapas) and wine from Zurich are served. Guests enjoy special conditions and direct access toThermal Bath & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing