We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've stayed in small rooms before, but this was up there with the best of them”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Ranked #69 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Hemel Hempstead, UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“I've stayed in small rooms before, but this was up there with the best of them”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Having stayed in various small roomed hotels in Venice, London and New York, I was absolutely amazed to find this hotel with such small rooms. I even booked a double room....

I couldn't put my arms out fully stretched in the bathroom and touch all four walls. You'd imagine that would be a good thing, but the point I really am trying to make is that I couldn't actually open my arms fully totry the exercise in the first place. Not that I tried it, but I would suggest you could wash your face in the sink whilst sitting on the toilet.....(Enough said).
The shower - although small was wonderfully powerful and a plus point. The toiletries were standard issue - nothing of note. The bathroom did supply a hair dryer though.

The room itself offered a small area around the bed, nothing more. Thank goodness I stayed on my own; if I were there with my wife, I think I'd be suffering from claustrophobia.

The room did have a mini bar and safe as well, and internet was free which is always a positive. I stayed in a room on the 1st floor pretty much above the theatre and the noise didn't bother me at all. Also, there were 2 little chocolates on the side and a bottle of complimentary water.

The bed wasn't tremendously comfortable and was supplied with a lowly "cushion" sized pillow. If there were two of us, we'd be fighting for it!

To put things into some perspective, the room made a fun-size Mars Bar think it were a king-sized Mars Bar.......

Check in / out staff were tremendously polite and efficient.

For what was paid, I would have expected much more.

The TV had about 40 channels, only one in English (CNN - once you've watched it for 30 minutes, you've watched it..) Zurich is an international city, where English is widely spoken - I would have expected more....

I've not felt this negative on a hotel for a long time, but I was amazed to consider this to be the 51st ranked hotel in Zurich out of over 150 so was expecting it to be of a fairly high standard. Having never stayed elsewhere in Zurich though, I am not sure if the room size is typical. Having stayed in many hotel rooms before though, the size was a disappointment.

The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the train station, close to the river, 10 minutes casual walk to the centre of town, the shopping, the galleries and museums, as well as nightlife for instance. Location-wise it's good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubaruDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    263
    114
    20
    10
See reviews for
46
212
67
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

This is clearly not my favorite hotel when I have to stay over nignt in Zurich. However, the location is just perfect and also close to public transportation. Most important, price quality is good, especially for Zurich where prices can be extremely high, especially when occupancy rates are high. When occupancy rate is low, you can get good deals in some of the well know internet portals. All in all a good hotel I can recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitleflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Reception staff was friendly, and spoke fluent English, which was great since I spoke no Swiss-German. I was given Room 412, a double [room] upon arrival. It had a double-sized bed, and it was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size bathroom with a bathtub, free shampoo, conditioner and lotion; there was a hair dryer; shower had strong water pressure; and the water was nice and hot. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but one could for CHF 18 per person for buffet or CHF 10 for continental. There was also a restaurant/lounge in the hotel. The location was great. Close to Hauptbahnhof (central train station), to Bahnhofstrasse, to Kunsthaus, close to everything, really. And so I loved the location and the hot water. What I liked least: housekeeping on two separate occasions opened the door without knocking after the room had already been serviced. Weird. And with the communication gap, I had no idea why they wanted/needed to get in the room. Oh well. No matter, I still liked the hotel and the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le_pseudonyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Nice hotel in the old city center of Zurich, close to the train station. Elegant room with comforatble bed and nice bathroom. Excellent breakfast buffet. Suprised to see the bergbahn going up and down from the lounge. Very kind personell.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweaknjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed one night while in town with colleagues for work. Location meant you could get from the hotel door to check-in desk at the airport in 35-40minutes by using the trains from Zurich Hauptbahnhof.

The room was quite nice and decorated in a very tasteful way. Bathroom was modern, clean and spacious. Internet connection was not free but was fast and reliable.

The breakfast was mediocre with limited choice. The breakfast staff were attentive with coffees and the view out of the windows while having breakfast was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moody751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Nothing is wrong with the hotel, the only problem is that the building next door is being torn down and they are replacing it with a new one. Work on the site starts relavitely early in the morning and results in no sleep after they start. Also the tram goes right past the hotel (downhill) which results noise from the tram brakes until the service stops at night. Not good for light sleepers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeBa12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Make sure not to have a room by t he tram, if you keep the window open during the night you might oversleep beacause you cramped up at night. Overall a nice clean hotel with small rooms if you are used to more space you might have an issue. The Hotel is located at Central station which is pretty close to everything in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyupde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#49 of 138 in Zurich
390 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#48 of 138 in Zurich
535 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 138 in Zurich
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 138 in Zurich
789 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#89 of 138 in Zurich
294 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Property: Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#61 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing