We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a rail stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Ranked #74 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is ideally placed for rail passengers being only a 5 minute walk from the station. We were on a trip by rail and stopped over for two nights so we could see a bit of lovely Zurich. Our room was not large but perfectly adequate and modern. Everything was very clean. The staff were lovely and also professional. Although beside a busy road the traffic noise was not a problem and we slept well. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and better than some bigger hotels we have been to. There is no restaurant for dinner (which is understandable given the number of rooms) but we got round this by having our main meal in the middle of the day and enjoying a lovely sandwich and relaxing drink at the hotel in the evening. Would we return for another stay? Definitely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guests

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to give us your personal feedback.

Honestly, we are very delighted to read your kind words and we will surely share them with the whole team. It makes us proud to see that you appreciated the cleaniness, the attitude of the staff and the provided service, thank you very much!

We hope to welcome you back one day and send our regards to Scottland.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed only for one night in this cute little hotel. We arrived pretty late in the evening and the woman at reception at the front desk was very nice in getting settled into the room and assisting us in finding a good place to eat. The room was clean and updated. The bathroom was a good size for a hotel in Europe.

The hotel itself is in a great location. It was a very easy to walk to the train station, shops and cafes.

One thing to note - Parking on the street was ample in the evening but we switched it to the tunnel lot across the street in the morning. Staff advised us the parking enforcement were in full force during the day.

Room Tip: If your room faces the main street take a look out the window for the tram that travels to the top o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodingtonBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest

We hope you had a great further trip where ever it might have taken you. Furthermore we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor!
We are very happy to read that you liked our personalized support and that you were able to make the most out of the time you spend in Zurich.
Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next road trip through Switzerland/Europe.

Yours faithfully
Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel has a great location that is an easy walk to the main Zurich train station. This makes it very easy to get there from the airport. Rooms are quite, and have electronic blackout blinds that I like. My room was a nice size, but I noticed some rooms are quite small by American standards, but normal for Europe. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to share your personal impressions. As you can imagine we are very pleased to see that you had a great stay and appreciated the central location.
We hope to be able to welcome you back at the occasion of your next trip to Zürich.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed one night only. Arriving and leaving by train so wanted reasonably cheap room near station. This fitted the bill (though "reasonably cheap" has to be understood in Swiss terms). Single room small but adequate. Clean. Service on check-in so-so, service the next morning good

Room Tip: Rooms facing Seilerbahn are likely to be noisier than rooms on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinLunnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write down your personal impressions.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room and the convenient location of our hotel. Regarding the service at your check-in I will talk to the specific team member.

Nevertheless I hope you had a good stay at our hotel and we would be happy to welcome you back.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights this month and my room was way better than I expected.. I had room 402 and thought it was decent in size and very clean. Very central to the main shopping st, restaurants and train station.. you can also hop on the tram from the airport for about 6chf and get off at the central stop and it is a 2 minute walk to the hotel from there! Would definetly recommend and will consider staying there again when I come back to switzerland..

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank zjall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you for giving us 5 points out of 5 furthermore we are very grateful that you took the time to share your impressions here on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you recommend us to future guests and sincerely hope to welcome you back one day at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel du Theatre 2 nights on a business trip. I was assigned one of the newly renovated room (401): the rooms are very small, be aware, but comfortable and very clean, nothing missing. Shower was fine as well. Personnel at the concierge are all very kind and smiley, a plus in this country. The noise was not a problem for me, the road below gets quiet after a certain hour.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback we appreciate to hear that you had a good stay at our hotel.

Most of all we are pleased to see that you liked the attitude of our staff and I will make sure to share your words with them.

We hope you will find your way back to our hotel, our doors are always open to welcome you back.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I always choose the Hotel Du Theatre when I am in Zurich. I find the staff to always be friendly and helpful and I enjoy the location of the hotel. It is close to Zurich HB and within walking distance to any shopping or restaurants that I need. The free wifi always works well and the rooms are well equipped for a business traveler. The only area of improvement that I can suggest is for the hotel to offer a small fitness center.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor. . It is vitally important to us, receiving honest feedback from our guests especially when it is coming from a loyal guest.

It is great to see that you find the location convenient and that you are satisfied by our service.
We are looking forward to your next stay and wish you in meantime all the best.

Yours faithfully
Isabelle Schiegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
989 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#45 of 137 in Zurich
400 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#52 of 137 in Zurich
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 137 in Zurich
1,014 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#90 of 137 in Zurich
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#61 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £82 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing