We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location. clean room. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Ranked #77 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

about 5 -10 mins walk to main train station. Starbucks in front of hotel. restaurants and shops to the left and right of hotel. University cross the road. can be noisy at night. ask for room on higher floor. the room I had faces the main road. so do get some traffic noise. room is clean. DON'T have individual temperature control for aircon or heater. only a switch that controls the fan speed. breakfast is good. overall good stay as its in a superb location. .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lookeatsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions. Due to our very central location it is true that we cannot offer silence however you can put down the electric shutters which cancel most of the sound from outside.

We appreciate to read that you liked our breakfast choice and hope to welcome you back at the occasion of your next visit to Zurich.

Best regards,
Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of Zurich, so good location. However, the room was a little stark, and there was no tea and coffee making facilities.
The hotel also provided ear plugs , which was not a good sign.
However, as we only stayed overnight, it was ok for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherlock50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you liked the central location of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon and wish you all the best.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very close to the main station, this is a very simple, clean and comfortable hotel. Great breakfast too, I would highly recommend. All the staff were super friendly and even allowed me to checkout late with no extra fee charged.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time you spent to rate us on TA; especially thank you for giving us 5 points out of 5 and recommending us to future guests this makes us very proud and happy!

We hope to be able to welcome you back and wish you all the best in meantime.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A short walk from the main station this is a very nice, modern hotel, placed on a diagonal sliver of land between two diverging roads. We stayed for one night en route to Rome. The hotel room was small but well equipped, and perfectly fine - nice shower! Had a slight wobble when I saw that the equipment included ear plugs for the three of us, but there was no need for them at all. The hotel has a film theme which is unobtrusive but entertaining. It's located adjacent to the old town which made it easy to go out and "eat Swiss" on the day of arrival and meant we could use our couple of hours in Zurich to good effect the next morning, walking around the old town and by the river and havi a ride on the Polybahn and view of Zurich from the top. The hotel is located next to the Polybahn funicular railway which you can see going up and down from just outside the breakfast room. Breakfast exceeded expectations - scrambled and boiled eggs (and I think bacon) available on the continental buffet rate, plus the usual variety of fruit, cheeses, breads etc. Would unhesitatingly recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank JPIF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest
To read such a great feedback like yours is very comforting for us and we appreciate your time for sharing it here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to see that you found the location convenient and were also satisfied with our service and equipment.
Hopefully you will come back one day to beautiful Zurich, please be assured that our doors are open for you at any time.
Yours faithfully
Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a small hotel right in the heart of Zurich. It is set back from the main drag so is relatively quiet but within a few minutes walk of the main station. I would describe this as a boutique hotel as each room is decorated slightly differently with an emphasis on artwork reflecting 'the theatre' in common areas and in each room. The reception area is tiny with a small desk and a one or maybe two staff on duty at any one time. The external walls are mainly glass so reception is bright and airy. I found the staff to be efficient and helpful, as always this is Zurich after all! There is one elevator up to the rooms and the floor housing the breakfast room. Breakfast was ok and the breakfast room was nice with a lot of glass just like reception. It wasn't massive so I would wonder how they would cope if everyone turned up for breakfast at once but my experience was ok. The rooms I have had have been decently spacious with a nice bathroom, nothing spectacular but adequate for the price taking account of the location. You are literally right in the centre of Zurich so the location is excellent for Niederdorff with all its bars and restaurants and the main shopping area near Bahnhoffstrasse is a short walk over the river. I strongly recommend this hotel for price, location and style.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as far as I know there is no special room or rooms to be avoided. I guess a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swissisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your personal impressions and having taken the time to rate us. I am sure your detailed report will help future guests to get a very good idea of our hotel before arriving.

We are very happy to see that you had a great time and that you do not hesitate to recommend us, thank you very much!

We hope to be able to welcome you back one day and wish you all the best.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We've been in the hotel for just one night.
The rooms where little but very good, recently renewed.
Very nice staff.
The position in Central is a must.
We didn't enjoy breakfast, but there is an Starbucks just there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alixrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to rate us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were satisfied by the service of our team.

We hope to welcome you back at the hotel du Theatre at the occasion of your next visit to Zürich.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As stated by others, this hotel is ideal for rail passengers. The room was comfortable and we were surprised by a bathroom lager than you usually find in hotels in the United States. It was very warm for the beginning of April, and as the AC was not functioning yet, the room was a bit stuffy. Leaving the window open during the early evening solved the problem. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CydnHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your impressions.
We are glad to read that you had a good stay, found the locations convenient and that we could surprise you with our bathroom.

If you ever come back to Zurich you know where to stay our doors are open!

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
867 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 138 in Zurich
1,050 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#51 of 138 in Zurich
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Montana
#45 of 138 in Zurich
967 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#48 of 138 in Zurich
567 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#55 of 138 in Zurich
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#61 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £98 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing