We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quirky hotel in the centre of Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Ranked #69 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent quirky hotel in the centre of Zurich”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We loved this hotel in the centre of Zurich. The reception staff were very helpful when we arrived, especially as we had a fraught journey with our train from Milan being cancelled, and we had to travel via Berne. There was an 'end of winter' festival going on in the old town as we arrived, which meant that most of the local roads were closed - it was interesting dodging the parade, musicians and horses on our walk from the station! There were lots of cafes, bars and restaurants nearby, and loads of trams stop just around the corner from the hotel, making it very easy to get around. We walked all around the old town, had a boat trip on the lake, and used the trams. The view from the top of the Polybahn funicular is well worth the short trip. We enjoyed our stay very much indeed.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor, and on the main road side, so was a little noisy during the day, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

First of all we hope you had a safe journey back home without any surprises such as the one you came across in Milano furthermore we want to thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions.

The “Sechseläuten” you experienced while arriving is indeed a big event in our town and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it as well as the rest of your time in Zurich.

Hopefully you find your way back to Switzerland one day and maybe even to Zurich, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    263
    114
    20
    10
See reviews for
46
212
67
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

a decent hotel with neat rooms. However you have to be given a room on the quiet side as the hotel is located on a busy street. The personnel is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is sufficient but you need to charge it extra. Some of the rooms are really very small and people with claustrophoby might have problems with it.
Overall I still think this hotel is one of the best you can choose if you consider location, prize and design.

Room Tip: choose the one located to the small street where there are no trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking time to tell about your experience and we are happy to hear that you liked the support of our team as well as the prize-performance ratio.

We hope to be your first choice when you come back to Zurich and would be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

about 5 -10 mins walk to main train station. Starbucks in front of hotel. restaurants and shops to the left and right of hotel. University cross the road. can be noisy at night. ask for room on higher floor. the room I had faces the main road. so do get some traffic noise. room is clean. DON'T have individual temperature control for aircon or heater. only a switch that controls the fan speed. breakfast is good. overall good stay as its in a superb location. .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lookeatsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions. Due to our very central location it is true that we cannot offer silence however you can put down the electric shutters which cancel most of the sound from outside.

We appreciate to read that you liked our breakfast choice and hope to welcome you back at the occasion of your next visit to Zurich.

Best regards,
Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of Zurich, so good location. However, the room was a little stark, and there was no tea and coffee making facilities.
The hotel also provided ear plugs , which was not a good sign.
However, as we only stayed overnight, it was ok for one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherlock50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you liked the central location of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon and wish you all the best.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very close to the main station, this is a very simple, clean and comfortable hotel. Great breakfast too, I would highly recommend. All the staff were super friendly and even allowed me to checkout late with no extra fee charged.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time you spent to rate us on TA; especially thank you for giving us 5 points out of 5 and recommending us to future guests this makes us very proud and happy!

We hope to be able to welcome you back and wish you all the best in meantime.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

A short walk from the main station this is a very nice, modern hotel, placed on a diagonal sliver of land between two diverging roads. We stayed for one night en route to Rome. The hotel room was small but well equipped, and perfectly fine - nice shower! Had a slight wobble when I saw that the equipment included ear plugs for the three of us, but there was no need for them at all. The hotel has a film theme which is unobtrusive but entertaining. It's located adjacent to the old town which made it easy to go out and "eat Swiss" on the day of arrival and meant we could use our couple of hours in Zurich to good effect the next morning, walking around the old town and by the river and havi a ride on the Polybahn and view of Zurich from the top. The hotel is located next to the Polybahn funicular railway which you can see going up and down from just outside the breakfast room. Breakfast exceeded expectations - scrambled and boiled eggs (and I think bacon) available on the continental buffet rate, plus the usual variety of fruit, cheeses, breads etc. Would unhesitatingly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JPIF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest
To read such a great feedback like yours is very comforting for us and we appreciate your time for sharing it here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to see that you found the location convenient and were also satisfied with our service and equipment.
Hopefully you will come back one day to beautiful Zurich, please be assured that our doors are open for you at any time.
Yours faithfully
Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a small hotel right in the heart of Zurich. It is set back from the main drag so is relatively quiet but within a few minutes walk of the main station. I would describe this as a boutique hotel as each room is decorated slightly differently with an emphasis on artwork reflecting 'the theatre' in common areas and in each room. The reception area is tiny with a small desk and a one or maybe two staff on duty at any one time. The external walls are mainly glass so reception is bright and airy. I found the staff to be efficient and helpful, as always this is Zurich after all! There is one elevator up to the rooms and the floor housing the breakfast room. Breakfast was ok and the breakfast room was nice with a lot of glass just like reception. It wasn't massive so I would wonder how they would cope if everyone turned up for breakfast at once but my experience was ok. The rooms I have had have been decently spacious with a nice bathroom, nothing spectacular but adequate for the price taking account of the location. You are literally right in the centre of Zurich so the location is excellent for Niederdorff with all its bars and restaurants and the main shopping area near Bahnhoffstrasse is a short walk over the river. I strongly recommend this hotel for price, location and style.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as far as I know there is no special room or rooms to be avoided. I guess a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your personal impressions and having taken the time to rate us. I am sure your detailed report will help future guests to get a very good idea of our hotel before arriving.

We are very happy to see that you had a great time and that you do not hesitate to recommend us, thank you very much!

We hope to be able to welcome you back one day and wish you all the best.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#48 of 138 in Zurich
535 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#49 of 138 in Zurich
390 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 138 in Zurich
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 138 in Zurich
788 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#89 of 138 in Zurich
294 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Property: Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#61 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing