We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$183
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$183
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/10/21
Agoda.com
US$156
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
PricelineUS$176
FindHotelUS$183
Destinia.comUS$174
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
119
297
129
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
119
297
129
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town central location minute walk from the train station noise railbookers earplugs swiss switzerland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2019

We stayed at the hotel on March 2019 for one night. Although the location is good (near the old city of Zurich) the rooms were very small.
We paid for a superior room that hardly could accommodate our suitcases and ourselves.
The service was indifferent.
I do not recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank apostolos262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope by your next stay you will choose one of our bigger room. Best Regards, Your Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2019

This is our second stay, and we love the ambiance of the central location. The staff are very competent. Would not want this place in the summer with a/c, but any other time - yes. The bed is very comfortable.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayTrip398989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear DayTrip398989,
thank you very much for your great Feedback.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Some of our rooms have A/C. You can ask for and you are also able to stay during summer time!
If your travel brings you back to Zurich again, we are happy to meet you.

Yours Züri by Fassbind Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

We were coming in on an early evening train and we were only going to be in Zurich overnight, and wanted something very convenient to the train station and in the center of Zurich. This hotel is interestingly designed (reminded us of a Hard Rock design but with compact rooms). It was great for one night or more if you are so inclined. We could walk through Old Town and had breakfast there the next morning. The hotel offered breakfast as well, but we wanted time to explore the area since we were there just one day.

Room tip: We had rooms on both side of the hotel, and the views were comparable.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregca301
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear gregca301,

thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward welcoming you back again.

yours Züri by Fassbind Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

Excellent location just a few minutes walk to the station. Friendly, helpful staff. I emailed because our train was delayed and received a prompt reply to assure me that it was not a problem. We only stayed overnight but would stay longer next time.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AngelaTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Dear AngelaTh,

thank you very much for your GREAT 5 POINTS REVIEW.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward welcoming you back again soon.

Yours duTheatre by Fassbind Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

As everyone commenting notes, the location of the Hotel du Theatre is excellent, just a few minutes' walk from the central train station and, I would add, the Swiss National Museum, very much worth a visit. It is also right around the corner from the very touristy Zahringerstrasse, with many restaurants (almost all of which are very expensive, unless you find 25 euros for a pizza or 12-15 euros for a sandwich reasonable!) And speaking of expensive, the breakfast on offer was lovely, but at 35 euros for two people, very much in line with the rest of the rather overpriced neighborhood.

Our room was small but well-designed, and reasonably quiet, given the hotel's location on a fairly busy street. We did not see any sign of air conditioning, but this was not an issue for us as we visited in mid-October.

But two things fell below standard: there was a leak in the faucet of the bathroom sink, only noticed when one of us got wet leaning in to wash our hands. And the mini-safe in the closet did not work. We immediately reported these problems to the front desk, and one of the two staff promised to check the situation.

When we returned several hours later, we found neither problem resolved nor -- surprisingly -- had anyone at the front desk mentioned either problem when we entered (and no one can leave or enter without being noticed by the front desk as the space is quite compact). As it was a Saturday evening, we would have understood if we were told no one could come directly to fix either of the problems, but nothing was said, nor were we offered another room, which should be done in a situation where not one, but two, problems manifest themselves -- in a far from filled-up establishment, it should be added.

In contrast to the seeming indifference of the Saturday night staff, the person on duty on Sunday -- Luis -- was cheerful and helpful. And the bed was extremely comfortable.

Room tip: Check the room you are offered very carefully and thoroughly as soon as you arrive.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Steve,

thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us.
We are sorry that the problem in the rooms have not been resolved and we will discuss this internally.

Thank you as well as commenting about the rest of your stay and we are looking forward welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Hotel DuTheatre by Fassbind Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews