We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy hotel close to train”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Ranked #69 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Handy hotel close to train”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This hotel is in a great location, especially if you're arriving by train. It's just a short walk (even with luggage) from the station. We arrived at 4ish to find our room wasn't ready. We were allocated a couple of different rooms before we got one that we could use. We had booked a single room and a double room (with the double room costing quite a bit more) but were surprised to find that the single room had a bath, which the double didn't.
One pleasant surprise was a set of scales in the bathroom. Upon first noticing it I wondered why anyone would want to weigh themselves on holiday. But when we came to packing our luggage for an international flight, the scales were invaluable.
This hotel wasn't my first choice and I'd research more options next time..
Zurich was a lovely place to pass through, but all-round too expensive to stay any length of time.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummabear314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    263
    114
    20
    10
See reviews for
46
212
67
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This excellent hotel is located right in the city centre and brings you to all the great places Zurich has to offer. Bars, restaurants and shops just around the corner, trams take you further into the city. Great location to enjoy the nightlife are evenings out, allthough not very attractive for quiet romantic stays: there is some considerable traffic noise from the road alongside the hotel, but this isn't much of a problem.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Usually one should be happy about a frequent tram service. Except when it means that the whole room was trembling every time when a tram went on the street. And they went every 5 minutes from 5 in the morning to well after midnight quite loudly. Location is good at the Central tram station and 5 minutes walking from Hauptbahnhof. Room was small, but if you compare it to the size of the tv screen or to the shower or the basin the room suddenly appears to be huge. The shower had a plastic curtain which comes practical if you want to have a bathroom full with water. All in all this is a simple and moderate hotel without any charme but that would be OK without the trams. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boldizsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Over the course of many years of visiting Zurich, this has become our go-to hotel when we need to be close to the Hauptbahnhof / main train station because of an early flight or train departure. It represents good value for money (especially in a town where prices can get steep if you don't watch out) and is always clean, convenient and welcoming.

The building was once a movie theater and is positioned on a relatively narrow cake-slice of property, so rooms can be small and interestingly shaped. But the beds are comfortable, and the decor is bright, sleek and modern (and classic-film-themed). The rooms have minisafes, compact but good closet space, flat screen TVs with all the major international and Swiss channels, and really excellent bath and shower facilities with great water pressure. There are several very choice junior suites up on the top floor if your budget stretches that far. On the first floor above ground level is a picture-windowed lounge where breakfast is served in the morning (if you've opted for it) and drinks and snacks are served in the evening. A good peoplewatching spot if you don't feel like venturing out into the city on your first night.

Note: Street noise / tram noise is slightly louder on the west / University side of the hotel's block. Soundproofing in the windows is very good, but in warm weather when you might want the windows open, city noise might be more of a problem. When booking, ask for a room on the quiet side if in doubt. The neighborhood feels quite safe and secure to walk in by night or day.

The main train station is an easy five minute's walk across the main bridge over the river Limmat. On the hotel side of the bridge is the Central tram station, which links to all the major tram lines on the east side of the river and some of the west-side ones (the rest link in at the Zurich HB tram station, just on the far side of the river before the station proper). Also within four or five minutes' walk of the hotel in the same direction is the big CoOp grocery store, for those who want to save a little money by putting together a picnic lunch or grab a snack on the train. For Starbucks addicts, there's a branch of the chain diagonally across from the hotel entrance, maybe fifty yards from the front door.

All things taken together, a great place for a short stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WicklowChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

one of the nice places to stay in Zurich, when on a biz trip.

okay, the rooms are small indeed. so is the whole hotel.
I like the boutique style.

the location is great. just next to central, main station, tram - and not in the biz district itself (which is kind of dead in the evening) but at the edge of the Niederdorf.

good place for an uncomplicated and young biz traveller I'd say.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling-ibex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

This hotel was very modern and clean, with fairly spacious, well equipped ensuite rooms. It wasn't overly cheap but then everything in Zurich is expensive, so it was cheap enough by those standards. The hotel is in a central location, close to the train station and all the main sights such as the churches and clock towers. Acroos from the train station is the main shopping street which leads down to the lake. No need to use the tram service as pretty much everything is in ealking distance. There's a good restaurant nearby called the Crazy Cow which does good food at reasonable prices. Take a walk down to the lake and hire out a pedalo on a sunny day, this is great fun and you get lovely views of the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Upon our early arrival we were immediatly able to check in. The staff was helpful and were able to answer our questions and point us in the right direction of where to go. The rooms were very small-for 20 dollars more we stayed at another hotel the night before which was nearly twice the size. The location was wonderful-right at the central tram stop. We didnt' spend much time in the room but it was perfectly suited for our needs for the one night we stayed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#48 of 138 in Zurich
535 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#49 of 138 in Zurich
390 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 138 in Zurich
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 138 in Zurich
788 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#89 of 138 in Zurich
294 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Property: Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#61 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing