We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A double stop at the Adler in Zurich”
Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Adler
Ranked #17 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“A double stop at the Adler in Zurich”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is nice an comfortable. Unfortunately there was very much noise in the street below during the night from young people having a street party until 5 in the morning. Therefor it was impossible to open the window and get some air. It was the same booth times.
An other bad thing was that the hotel pre-charged the credit card at the first arrival. At the departure they then charged it once again. (By mistake they actually charged tree times).
This had the effect that quit an amount of travel-money was blocked for more than a week.
I have not experienced anything like this in any hotel before.
There was no excuse to get from the hotel staff in this matter. Warning!!!
Perhaps it would be better to chose an other hotel in the nearhood without this habbit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    318
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
144
284
75
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is one of my favourite hotels in Zurich. That is why I keep returning here. It is conveniently located at Hirschen Platz in the pedestrianised area. All the rooms that I have stayed in have been modern, comfortable and are well maintained. Quite a good Swiss buffet breakfast selection too.
Looking forwards to my next visit here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A regular visitor here ( this was my 8th visit). The hotel remains consistent, the clean rooms, comfy beds, great bathrooms, great location and reasonable rates make Adler stand out. The murals of local scenes and the cow on the balcony are all quirky touches. The front of house staff however need to do a little work on guest relations, simple things like listening, saying sorry when they have made a mistake would go a long way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Adler in May, when the weather was moderate and the AC was not an issue, as others have reported. We arrived into the main train station and walked to the hotel, about a 15 minute walk along the river. The hotel is very well-located in the Old Town, very close to attractions that you will want to see, including the lake and the lovely churches and museums. The room was medium-sized and our bed was comfortable. Standard-sized bath, no complaint there. I loved the murals which are painted on one wall of each room, scenes of Zurich. And there is a lovely three-floor mural in the stairwell which gives the hotel a unique charm. The hotel is located directly on a plaza which has many bars and restaurants, very convenient for dinner but a bit of a problem when you have a window which looks out on the square. We were on the fourth floor but the noise of the square was fairly loud until about midnight. The breakfast was fine, nothing too exciting, the staff at the desk was very courteous and moved us to a higher floor room right away when we made the request upon our arrival. I would definitely stay in this hotel when I return to Zurich.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floors of the hotel to avoid some of the noise which rises up from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
340 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A good standard Hotel, well located near the river and in the heart of the old town. No parking facilities but there is a multi storey car park just across the bridge (Urania).
The staff in general were helpful not overly friendly. The Hotel is well appointed, well decorated and furnished, with some original touches.
We had a room with a small terrace overlooking the cobbled streets, good shower, comfortable bed and enough space in the room.
There were complimentary drinks in the fridge, water and coke,
The breakfast wasn't anything special, powdered orange juice, real coffee though, and standard continental fare, nothing rememberable.
Would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here on two weekends. On the first weekend, our room was a bit small, but had a bath and was reasonably quiet. The only complaints were no air conditioning, and no coffee/tea making facilities.

On the second weekend, we had a room facing the square. It was a bit larger, but the space in the living room sacrificed the bath. Here the lack of air conditioning became problematic, since to open the window on this hot night was to invite the massive noise from the square inside. And the double bed was so tiny that I resorted to sleeping on the floor. I say sleeping in the loosest of terms, since I got none.

On both occasions, the breakfast was fine. The location of the hotel is central,and within walking distance of supermarkets, the lake, and the station.

Based on the first room, we'd recommend the hotel to friends. But with the addition of the second room experience, we'd only recommend to enemies.

Room Tip: Refuse rooms facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I chose this hotel in Zurich for the location which didn't disappoint. Took the train from the airport directly to the main train station which was very quick. From there it's an equally quick tram ride and the hotel is right in between two stops. I would have walked from the train station had it not been for my luggage so easy to access in about seven minutes. The hotel has free wifi, free breakfast and free water all pluses. That being said I asked for a quiet room and got one right on the main square and there was a band playing outside my first night after a sleepless flight and the woman at the front desk was not helpful at all. Also it was around 90 degrees my entire stay and the rooms are not air conditioned which is a big negative.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#22 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Property: Hotel Adler
Address: Rosengasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Zurich
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#20 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing