We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night at the Adler hotel in Zurich”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Adler Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Adler Zurich
Ranked #17 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Night at the Adler hotel in Zurich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Although quite pricey we were impressed with the overall hotel and decided to check in for a night with the possibility of spending another night. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. However it was noisy as the window on the second floor was above the restaurants. After our disastrous dinner in the Swiss Chuchi restaurant downstairs we decided to tell the desk clerk that we would like to stay another night. We asked him to check for availability and if the price would be the same. He said it should be fine and that we can notify them in the morning should we wish to stay another night. Maybe he was just too lazy to secure the second night for us. The following morning after breakfast we spoke to another desk clerk who then informed us that the hotel was in fact fully booked that night but he would check for any cancellations and let us know. He later called up to our room to say we could stay another night but instead of paying €205, we now had to pay €235. I was not happy that we got conflicting information from 2 desk clerks and we decided to find another hotel instead.

Room Tip: Try to get a room a bit higher or not overlooking the central court where all the restaurants are si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler Zurich, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry for the troubles and the contradictory informations you have been given at the front office.
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely, Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    312
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
143
277
71
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A very nice and comfortable hotel. Within walking distance from the train station and city attractions. Best location in the old city, with many restaurants around. The hotel's restaurant is highly recommended. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and modern.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler Zurich, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
Happy to hear that your stay at Adler was an overall nice experiance. Thank you so much for commenting it online!
Best regards
Sincerely, Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is nice an comfortable. Unfortunately there was very much noise in the street below during the night from young people having a street party until 5 in the morning. Therefor it was impossible to open the window and get some air. It was the same booth times.
An other bad thing was that the hotel pre-charged the credit card at the first arrival. At the departure they then charged it once again. (By mistake they actually charged tree times).
This had the effect that quit an amount of travel-money was blocked for more than a week.
I have not experienced anything like this in any hotel before.
There was no excuse to get from the hotel staff in this matter. Warning!!!
Perhaps it would be better to chose an other hotel in the nearhood without this habbit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is one of my favourite hotels in Zurich. That is why I keep returning here. It is conveniently located at Hirschen Platz in the pedestrianised area. All the rooms that I have stayed in have been modern, comfortable and are well maintained. Quite a good Swiss buffet breakfast selection too.
Looking forwards to my next visit here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

A regular visitor here ( this was my 8th visit). The hotel remains consistent, the clean rooms, comfy beds, great bathrooms, great location and reasonable rates make Adler stand out. The murals of local scenes and the cow on the balcony are all quirky touches. The front of house staff however need to do a little work on guest relations, simple things like listening, saying sorry when they have made a mistake would go a long way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Adler in May, when the weather was moderate and the AC was not an issue, as others have reported. We arrived into the main train station and walked to the hotel, about a 15 minute walk along the river. The hotel is very well-located in the Old Town, very close to attractions that you will want to see, including the lake and the lovely churches and museums. The room was medium-sized and our bed was comfortable. Standard-sized bath, no complaint there. I loved the murals which are painted on one wall of each room, scenes of Zurich. And there is a lovely three-floor mural in the stairwell which gives the hotel a unique charm. The hotel is located directly on a plaza which has many bars and restaurants, very convenient for dinner but a bit of a problem when you have a window which looks out on the square. We were on the fourth floor but the noise of the square was fairly loud until about midnight. The breakfast was fine, nothing too exciting, the staff at the desk was very courteous and moved us to a higher floor room right away when we made the request upon our arrival. I would definitely stay in this hotel when I return to Zurich.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floors of the hotel to avoid some of the noise which rises up from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
340 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

A good standard Hotel, well located near the river and in the heart of the old town. No parking facilities but there is a multi storey car park just across the bridge (Urania).
The staff in general were helpful not overly friendly. The Hotel is well appointed, well decorated and furnished, with some original touches.
We had a room with a small terrace overlooking the cobbled streets, good shower, comfortable bed and enough space in the room.
There were complimentary drinks in the fridge, water and coke,
The breakfast wasn't anything special, powdered orange juice, real coffee though, and standard continental fare, nothing rememberable.
Would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#27 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#19 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler Zurich

Property: Hotel Adler Zurich
Address: Rosengasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Zurich
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#20 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler Zurich 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adler Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing