We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Adler
Ranked #20 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed 3 times at the Adler and have had a consistently positive experience each visit. The hotel is located on the corner of one of the squares in the old town - scenic and close to everything. Because of all the outdoor restaurants and bars, sometimes people will be out and about in the square well into the evening but the hotel windows are thick and I was able to sleep just fine.

The beds are comfortable and everything is spotless in the room. The hotel is geared towards both vacation and business travelers, with a decent sized desk even in my small single room. It's an easy walk or tram ride from the train station and the breakfast offered a good variety of options. I've enjoyed both fondue and Raclette at the Chuchi restaurant downstairs on different visits - both were excellent. As I was on a business trip most recently, I was a solo diner but I was seated in a nice location (as opposed to some places who locate single diners in the corner)and the service was friendIy and efficient. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly as well.

I recommend the Adler.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet29, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Dear

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you choose our
hotel again and that you enjoyed the stay by us.

We would looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards

Raoul Birindelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    336
    55
    18
    5
See reviews for
158
300
78
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Ohio USA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The rooms here are fine- not budget not luxury. Room rates are tyical Zurich- quite high for what you get, but this property was the best of the worst (rate that is!). Located in a boisterous part of town, a couple of metro stops from train station. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet29, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We would looking forward to welcome you in our hotel next time

Best regards

Raoul Birindelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Adler is a great value for Zurich. Located close enough to the main train station that it was an easy walk, and right in the heart of Zurich's Old Town, yet a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the Bahnhofstrasse for incredible shopping. Although the rooms are quite small, they are beautifully decorated, as is the whole hotel, with all the necessary amenities you need, plus a full size shower and tremendously comfortable bed. We stayed during a very warm spell in early July and although there is no air conditioning, we had a beautiful window which opened into in interior courtyard and a small fan in the room provided additional air movement. We will definitely stay again next time we are in Zurich.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet29, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Dear Barbara

Thank you very much for your Feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the
stay by us.

We looking forward to welcome you in our hotel next time.

Best regards

Raoul Birindelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There was really nothing wrong with the Adler before its recent refurbishment but now it is even better. As usual, we only stayed the one night so did not spend much time in the hotel but can truthfully say that it was an enjoyable experience. The room was well-furnished, the bathroom immaculate, and the free mini-bar a nice touch - although it only contained mineral water and Coke this was, nevertheless, very welcome. The buffet breakfast was very generous with everything we could possibly want, the only downside being that we had eaten so well the night before in the Chuchi restaurant that we had little need of a large breakfast! The waiters were unfailingly helpful, efficient, and cheerful. The Reception staff were also very competent and had good English. Their willingness to take care of our luggage for a few hours, even though the amazing left-luggage "drawer" was full, was much appreciated. I am sure we will be returning when next we pass through Zurich as this hotel provides great value for money in a handy location.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms we have had over the years has proved to be noisy until late evening when the near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filisur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We will forward your warm words to our staff - what a superb encouragement for them! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely, Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from train station. Its location at centre of old town made it typically accessible to most of the tourist spots and restaurants by walking. Since the weather was very hot we were gladly paying additional for upgrade to a suite on top floor which has air-con. It was a large beautiful room with sky windows. The first night there was a thunderstorm we simply watched the heavy rains mixed with hailstones pounding on the sky windows. Quite an experience. All staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and the room was made and cleaned in time. Of course the stay won't be complete without having fondue at the hotel's famous Swiss Chuchi restaurant. We shall return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank eelmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
It's really amazing to read such great comments on our hotel from a happy visitor! The only thing we can say is: Thank you! And looking forward to welcome you again!
Sincerely, Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Perfect location in the old town of Zurich. Only 5 minutes walk from railway stadion. Rooms decorated with pictures from the town painted on the walls. Very interesting. Delicious breakfast. Centrally located, but very quiet in the rooms. I recommend both for bussines and leasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments!
Yours, Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Small hotel at a great location with a tram stop nearby. Very nice and clean room with minibar including free of charge soft-drinks. Great breakfast. The connection to the WiFi was however relatively poor. Highly recommendable for any kind of trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoffer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Christoffer
Thank you for taking your time to write a comment. We really appreciate. Indeed, the basic WiFi connection is, depending on the amount of guests using it at once, sometimes a bit slow - we know it and are working to improve.
For the moment we are offering high speed internet at a special charge.
Hope to welcome ou again at the heart of Zurich's Old Town
Sincerely, Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
873 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 138 in Zurich
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 138 in Zurich
954 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Property: Hotel Adler
Address: Rosengasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Zurich
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#20 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing