We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Backpacker Hotel Biber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Backpacker Hotel Biber
Fox Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed here for a one night layover in Zurich.

Stuff to keep in mind: It's not really a negative. Everything in Zurich is expensive. We haven't traveled much in western Europe, so we are still adjusting to that :). This place has a lot of stairs. We didn't mind at all, but you should be aware. Also, the other customers were definitely a younger (than us) crowd. We are in our mid 30's, and were just looking for a relatively cheap place to stay for the night. We knew what it meant to stay in a hostel,so this didn't bother us either. Just wanted to mention it.

The positives: The staff people were VERY helpful and very nice. The location, in the middle of the walking section, is easily reached by train and walking. Great location for what we were looking for. The bathroom (shared) and private bedroom were both clean and nice. Our room included bedding and towels. The reception area is a nice place to hangout and the building was quiet.

We didn't use the communal kitchen area during our stay.

Room Tip: Book ahead, it seems to fill early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    80
    102
    28
    16
See reviews for
9
26
121
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Good location in the centre of Zurich; maybe a ten minute walk from the main railway station, about the same to the lake, and in the heart of several eateries; everything from fast food burger joints to fancy sit-down restaurants, all on the same road. Not so close to the nightlife, or maybe it was and I just couldn't find it with my pigeon German!
However: the reception is up. Up high. I lost track of how many floors up you have to go, but I think it's either two or three. There's no lift, so you get some exercise. It's not a 24 hour reception, but the reception hours are well publicised on-line and during booking, so it shouldn't pose too many problems. The lounge area isn't huge, and there didn't seem to be a lot of interaction between the people there, but it does have free wifi, or a computer you can pay to use. Linen is extra (3.00 CHF fixed), or BYO. Towels also available to rent. The staff are friendly enough, although sometimes a slight language barrier can make them sound rude when they're only trying to be helpful. It's not cheap, but it is cheap compared to many places in Zurich, which is an expensive city! If there was a breakfast, I never found it. There are lockers in the room, not huge, but no locks, so bring your own padlock.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed here five nights - this wasn't one of my favorite hostels. First thing was that nowhere on the website or during me reserving the room by phone did they tell me there were so many stairs and no elevator. This is very annoying when you travel alone with two suitcases. The room was not very clean and it was quite noisy. There was only one computer available and using the internet cost a lot of money. Bedsheets and towels were all for rent, usually that's included in the price, which it's NOT in Hotel Biber. Shower was very small and dirty. I did like the common room, where I ended up meeting a few really cool people and we stayed up a few nights having drinks and talking. I wouldn't recommend staying at Hotel Biber, unless you like climbing, noise and only carry a small bag. Good for the price though (cheap) and location is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaBakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The staff are friendly, ther bedrooms are clean and comfy, you get a kitchen and a few bathrooms per floor (and there aren't many rooms on one floor), swiss army knifes are incredibly cheap, there is Wifi (of course), great leaflets and maps and above all, it is located perfectly in the centre of Zurich (but the artisan bit not the banker central). Expensive, a little, but cheaper and better facilities than most other hostels in Zurich, and what do you expect in Switzerland really?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazertazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I have stayed in nicer hostels and I have stayed in the crappier hostels. This one is still ranked in the "crappy" category for me. I was travelling with three other girls and the directions from the train station that were given to my friend by the hostel were wrong. After wandering for half an hour, we finally just called a cab. We get to the hostel and drag out luggage up 3 flights of stairs to the reception. We are told that towels and sheets for the bed cost extra. Free wifi, but only in the tiny, crowded lounge area where other guests(?) were SLEEPING. Ugh.

We drag our luggage up two more flights of stairs to our room that has 3 bunk beds, each with a blanket and pillow that has been provided. There are also lockers for each guest. There is not much room to move around, so we drop our stuff off and head out into Zurich. The location of Biber is unbeatable. It's walking distance to just about everything.

We get back for the night and meet our 2 roommates for the evening and then go to bed. When the 2 roommates check out early the next morning, "housekeeping" comes by and just folds up the blanket they had been using for the next guests. Gross. Kinda makes you wonder how long it's been since they were washed. The bathrooms are absolutely disgusting. There is mold in the shower and the shower drains are clogged...so expect to be standing in a puddle after 15 seconds. There were also empty beer cans and used tampons scattered about. For the price we were paying, I was expecting a little more. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I booked two beds in a comon room. The rooms was not very clean, and the beds were not clean at all. A lot of stairs. The room as very noisy. I couldn't use a bathroom because they were dirty. Overall i arrived at the hotel, put the bags, had a walk through zurich and at night i get back. At 6 am i leave the hostel, because i could't stay at that place. The location was very good, so so perfect! and the price (consider that all the other places were at least more 80 euros) was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I am of course aware that it's only a hostel, but for the high price in which you're paying, (again, aware that Switzerland is expensive in general) it's not one of the nicer hostels i've stayed in. Personally I found the shared bathrooms a bit run down and the shower drain was blocked therefor I had to shower with my feet in the person befores filth.

There is free wifi, but only in the small lounge area upstairs, which was packed.
The location in nice and central, in the old town. But unfortunately I was kept awake to the early hours by loud people outside at the restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#104 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#59 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alexander
#40 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Backpacker Hotel Biber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Backpacker Hotel Biber

Property: City Backpacker Hotel Biber
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 5, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your City Backpacker Hotel Biber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing