We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Eden Au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Au Lac
Ranked #24 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. The room was clean and functionional - yes it's not the most modern of hotels but the level of service was excellent.

I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    76
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
47
106
29
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The service, and atmosphere make up for the dated rooms which still have all the modern business traveller requirements.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alybaba786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

So Zurich Hotels are expensive, right? Tiny rooms, quaint facilities, bathrooms so small you hit your elbows on the wall if you try to dry yourself with the towel? Eden Au Lac is a classic example of a hotel that would be considered three stars in most places until you put it on a lake in Switzerland. The location is ok - a busy road actually separates the hotel from the lake and it is a few minutes walk from the centre of town. What places the hotel apart is the cost - room charges that are quite unjustified for the quality and size of the rooms. I travelled with my wife and daughter (19) so we booked a double and single room with lake views. The single room had a single bed and was tiny - 400 Swiss Francs per night! Our double room made the bill a quick US$1000 for the night with no meals, transfers or anything else included. For this type of cost we expect good quality and the rooms at Eden Au Lac simply don't live up to the price. From little things like the shower that did not work to the worn carpet in the room - this is not good value. The staff were great - very helpful and polite and the hotel is small and quaint. It would be a good place to stay and explore Zurich if it was half the price. Maybe stay here if you are on expenses. If it is your money, suggest you look for a cheaper location without lake views.

Room Tip: Loud road noise on third floor. Double glazing not a feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KUWAIT
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

A huge let down and in no way justifies a 5 star rating
No doubt the location ( right opposite the lake) is great but one cant say the same about the room - I had stayed in a 3rd floor room ( single occupancy) and the entire room and furniture needs to be upgraded including the floor carpet & the bath room!!!! - why cant they give a sleek modern look to the entire set up including the bath room. The complimentary fruit bowl had just one small withered apple ( compared with an amazing variety of fruits Hotel Atlantis Dubai welcomes you with ) .
Staff were friendly and polite.There is no business lounge as such - they ve one small cubicle in which they ve placed one PC in case one needs to access the internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRBLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This is a great old hotel directly on the lake. Our room had a balcony overlooking the water and was very nice. The service level was simply perfect. Example, being jet lagged, I went to the lobby at 4:30am and the security guard opened the bar area for me so i could read my boom and he proceeded to bring me several pots of coffee. Every person I've dealt with has been outstanding. Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaWahoowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Lovely hotel, room 306 splendid, huge bathroom, room lovely decoration and furnishings.
Perfect for walking on the edge of the lake (but watch out for bicycles). All staff bar non were friendly. efficient. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridleydidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 720 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night on business, for a rate of CHF350, so far so good, except despite prior telephone assurances by reception that it is a double bed in the single room (ie double for single use), it was no such thing! When after evening check in I have asked reception staff as to this anomaly, they said it was late, they were booked out, there "was no note", and there is absolutely nothing they can do about the issue. Yes, the price corresponds to what you get: a rather tiny room with single bed (probabbly 120cm, old and soft as anything, sleep quality as a result rubbish) one side of it pushed against the wall, decor something from early 1980s - dusty pinks and muted baby blue - yeek - the whole thing looked tired and definitely not SLH quality.

My aircon didnt really work, the room was drab. They did relocate me to another single room on the opposite end of the corridor facing away from the main road (I note that such room was their original answer to my "quiet room" request ) and it was slightly fresher (perhaps mid 1990s decor, much more cosy with botanical sort of prints, and blinds in bathroom) and defnitely quieter.

Breakfast in very brightly lit up breakfast/restaurant room (half the light would make it just so much more cosy!) was CHF40, not worth it, and when you think CHF390 is what you pay for small dated single room, before you actually pay for the internet - in my view, it is not good value for money overall. Perhaps their double rooms offer better experience of the hotel, but then the prices correspond accordingly and for that price you are so much more better off staying elsewhere (I did after this experience!).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Park Hyatt Zurich
#10 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Au Lac

Property: Eden Au Lac
Address: Utoquai 45, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#20 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Au Lac Hotel
Eden Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing