We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing afternoon tea” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eden Au Lac
Ranked #35 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disappointing afternoon tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I booked afternoon tea for a client and myself based on the recommendation of a local expat website. The gentleman who took the reservation by phone was lovely and I had high hopes that this would be a delightful respite before a late afternoon of shopping and strolling around Zurich.

I had expected a somewhat bustling tea room with a kind of "ladies who lunch" crowd. Instead, the uncomfortably warm room was empty except for two exceptionally loud and crude Germans who must have assumed that I spoke no German, as they spent the better part of a half hour disparaging the Swiss as arrogant, cheap and rude. How ironic. Sadly, I was seated directly next to this charm-free pair and decided to see if they would leave before my client arrived. Thankfully, they did. Oh, it took 15 minutes before someone came into the bar area to seat me.

Once seated, I explained to the waitress that I was waiting for someone who would be arriving in about 15 minutes. She came back 3 times in the following 10 minutes to ask if I was ready to order, each time I declined and explained that my friend was en route.

When my client arrived, the servers had evaporated and we waited nearly 20 minutes for another server to arrive and take our order. With no air conditioning, the steamy wait felt like an eternity, but fortunately, the tea tray arrived rather quickly. It was stocked with a visually appealing assortment of sweets and finger sandwiches. Sadly, while the finger sandwiches were fine, each of the baked items was either flavorless, starchy, dry or stale - the exception being a mini white-chocolate mousse. No one ever returned to freshen our tea and I had to get up from the table to find someone to give us the check. It was the most abysmal service I could have imagined [particularly for a 5 start hotel] - and I LIVE in Switzerland, so I know to keep my expectations low when it comes to customer service. Now, in fairness, when people did show up, they were very sweet and offered warm smiles - which really means a lot to a customer. It is because of those smiles that I am giving the "average" rating and not something lower.

I had hoped that the Eden au Lac afternoon tea would became a personal oasis on my trips to Zurich. I'm going to have to keep looking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    69
    37
    13
    8
See reviews for
37
89
24
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hotel is a great find,about 10 to 15 minutes from central city but great location right on lake with views back toward central city.the most impressive olde worlde restaurant also with views,staff very friendly,helpfully ,a genuine pleasure to stay here,opposite park and baths,great strolling along Lake edge.Rooms are large,very comfortable with outside balconies to enjoy your surrounds

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside room as Hotel is in 2sections,one facing Lakeland one fronting the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I liked the place. Ideally situated by the lake, a tiny bit out of the center ( which might put off some people as it's a 15min walk) and right opposite Utoquai Bath, it has that feeling of being taken back half a century... grand and quiet, impeccable service with smily people, and laidback enough not to feel out of place if you aren't a businessman.
The top terrasse is a nice place for a drink weather permitted.
And if you are there in Summer, then a plounge in the lake at Utoquai Bath is a must.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Have stayed here before opposite the Lake, a lovely location and in general a nice, quiet hotel.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the food is good though e only ate in the bar on this occasion.
We chose a bedroom overlooking the lake ...well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongomo, Equatorial Guinea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I came to Zurich for business and really enjoyed my stay at Eden au Lac. Hotel has perfect location for city trips, shopping and business stays. Very good breakfast. Clean and spacious rooms. Nice live piano music at the restaurant in the evening. The view on lake Zurich is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Luftballons99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I came to Zurich for business and really enjoyed my stay at Eden au Lac. The hotel is perfectly located at the lakeshore in the heart of Zurich. The Opera and the very nice Bellevue area are just some steps away.

The Belle Epoque style rooms are classy and very comfortable. The view on lake Zurich is of course unique and something no other hotel can offer in that way.

Many thanks again to the very friendly and helpful staff, be it at the reception, the restaurant (highly recommandable !) or the roof top terrace.

Especially the bar on the roof top terrace is a true highlight in Zurich. The view on the lake is just incredible and it seems to me that it's still an insiders' tip, considering that mainly locals were sitting there. Besides drinks you also have the choice from a very nice menu. I had the Vitello Tonnato which was perfect.

The Eden au Lac is my new favorite hotel in Zurich and I will recommend it to my work colleagues. Besides the nice location and beautiful, traditional environment, it's especially the employees who make this hotel a great place to stay!

Many thanks from London

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstantinos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great Location on the shore of the wonderful lake with cozy rooms.
But what tops everything is the friendly and thoughtful staff, who made my stay most comfortable. They even managed to get me transportation eventhough there was some festival in the City and all streets have been blocked. Congratulations on the outstanding service and the smile I always got from everyone

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakuak18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Baur au Lac
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#9 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Au Lac

Property: Eden Au Lac
Address: Utoquai 45, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Eden Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Au Lac Hotel
Eden Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing