We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty standard European hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Seefeld
Ranked #63 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Pretty standard European hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel is a short tram ride away from the main train station. It's also an easy walk without luggage. It's in a upscale neighborhood with many nice restaurants and shops around the hotel. The room is typical in size, clean, and has a clean Euro design. There is no air conditioning. The restaurant has a small breakfast, but serves better lunch. The bed is a little firm for my taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seefeld, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Lieber Gast,

Thank you very much for taking time in qualifying our service.

We regret a lot that our bed was not comfortable for you. We bought 115 new matresses last year and were sure everybody will appreciate this high quality, which is also the central point for an hotel.

We put a lot of importance in friendly service and cleaness and are glad to see you appreciate this.
We are also looking for climatisation in all rooms for the future - at the moment we have only AC in 2 rooms and a good fresh air system in all house.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel, in a good central location!

Sorell Hotel Seefeld und Team
Marco Grossi
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    127
    38
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
72
29
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our family recommended this hotel, and it was lovely. The room was small compared to American hotel rooms, but that is to be expected. It is in a very nice part of Zurich and not far from the tram or the bus line. The staff was exceptional and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seefeld, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast

Vielen Dank für Ihre nette Wörte.

Sehr gerne werden wir Sie und Ihre Familie wieder bei uns empfangen und wünschen in der Zwischenzeit weiterhin einen schönen Restsommer

Herzliche Grüsse aus dem Sorell Hotel Seefeld
Marco Grossi und Seefeld-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel a nice hotel: while it may not score exceptional marks on a single dimension, it is overall very consistent. Rooms are nice, spacious for a three-star, bathrooms are clean, bed rather comfortable. Internet is free and rather fast. Position is nice, close to the lake. Breakfast is, again, not something you would rave on, but it's nice and there are several choices.

Price is steep, but -unfortunately- aligned with all other hotels in Zurich.

Overall, better than many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seefeld, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor.

All your remarks give us the possibility to improve our service for all our guests. It is not obviously that you take time to describe your Feeling.

We are looking Forward to welcoming you again in our Sorell Hotel Seefeld and wish you a wonderful summertime.

Best regards,
Sorell Hotel Seefeld - Team
Marco Grossi
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was a nice hotel with big rooms, in European terms. The breakfast that was included was excellent. Luckily, we arrived in Zurich after their hot spell, because the hotel does not have air-conditioning. Even though it was cooler, we had to sleep with the windows open and it gets quite loud at 6 am when the street cars start running. The morning we left, their one elevator was not working so we had to carry our suitcases down 4 flights of stairs. Not that big of a deal for us, but just a few little issues that could have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seefeld, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast!

Nun liegt Ihr Aufenthalt bei uns im HOTEL SEEFELD schon einige Tage zurück. Ich hoffe Sie hatten eine gute Heimreise.

Wir möchten uns an dieser Stelle herzlich für Ihr Vertrauen in uns und das wertvolle Feedback bedanken.

Der nicht funktionierende Aufzug war in der Tat war mit grösseren elektronischen Problemen verbunden, die wir nicht in der gewohnten Zeit reparieren konnten. Es tut uns leid, dass wir Ihnen den Gepäckservice nicht direkt angeboten haben.

Die Isolation der Fenster ist sehr gut, wenn Sie es aber natürlich gewöhnt sind, mit offenem Fenster zu schlafen besteht das Problem der Lärmemission.

Bei wärmeren Temperaturen kommt bei offenem Fenster das Problem verbunden mit unserem Kühlungssystem hinzu, welches leider nicht einer gewöhnlichen AC entspricht. Das Zimmer wird bei offenem Fenster und warmen Aussentemperaturen stark erhitzt und ist mit diesem System nicht schnell wieder abzukühlen.

Wir möchten uns hiermit für jede Unannehmlichkeit die Ihnen entstanden ist, entschuldigen!

Wir hoffen sehr, Sie noch oft in unserem HOTEL SEEFELD begrüssen zu dürfen und wünschen Ihnen und Ihre Familie einen schönen Sommer.

Freundliche Grüsse aus Zürich
SORELL HOTEL SEEFELD
Marco Grossi und Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Located close to the lake but about 1km from Stadelhofen train station.
Very friendly staff.
Rooms are relatively basic but have everything you need and they're very clean.
Bathrooms are spacious.
Breakfast was good too.
I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seefeld, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast

Vielen Dank für Ihre ausgeschriebene Bewertung. Wir freuen uns, Sie bald wieder bei uns willkommen zu heissen und wünschen eine schöne Sommerzeit!

Freundliche Grüsse aus dem Seefeld
Marco Grossi und das Seefeld-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I recently booked my third stay at Hotel Seefeld. This is my go-to hotel when I visit Zurich. To see that this hotel does not rank even in the top half of hotels on Tripadvisor is really confusing. For the money, which is typically around $200/night, you get a modern, clean hotel in a very nice quiet neighborhood.

Many hotels of similar quality cost at least double. Why spend the extra money? The one hang-up it seems many travelers have is the location. It is not in central Zurich, or on Bahnhofstrasse, or in Old Town. To me, this is a good thing. The Seefeld neighborhood is easily accessible by tram or two major train stations (Stadelhoffen is not far away).

Do yourself a favor and give this hotel a try the next time you visit Zurich. You will be pleasantly surprised. If you want to splurge, I highly recommend their largest room which is very spacious with a nice patio. Typically this room is only a couple dollars more.

Room Tip: Spend extra for the largest double room on the property. The patio and Nespresso machine make this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmx1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seefeld, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Irvine

Thank you very much for spending time in writing a review.
We are always happy to read good news, but even points, in which we can improve ourselves.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the Hotel Seefeld!

Best regards,

SORELL HOTEL SEEFELD with the whole Team
Marco Grossi
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We've stayed in this hotel overnight, on the way to Vals, on a recommendation by a local friend. Found it very pleasant, clean and with friendly staff. Breakfast though was not that special in anyways, as some other reviewers seem to suggest.

Room Tip: Even room facing the street seem to be very quite, though the view is not that interesting :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boards2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seefeld, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr Uriel

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Es ist für uns immer ein grosse Hilfe! Wir aerbeiten im Moment an einem neuen Konzept, mit dem wir möglichst viele regionale Produkte anbieten möchten und somit den regionale Geschmack auf unserem Frühstücksbuffet präsentieren wollen.

Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen und bis dahin eine gute Zeit!

Das Hotel Seefeld - Team
M. Grossi
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Hotel Seegarten
Hotel Seegarten
#67 of 139 in Zurich
200 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
590 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel NI-MO
Hotel NI-MO
#49 of 139 in Zurich
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#71 of 139 in Zurich
215 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Seefeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Seefeld

Property: Sorell Hotel Seefeld
Address: Seefeldstrasse 63, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sorell Hotel Seefeld 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the most sought-after district in the middle of Zurich. Right next to the hotel you'll not only find the opera, but also the lake promenade and many restaurants. The colour schemes and light effects created in collaboration with artist Garda Alexander ensure the hotel offers the perfect sense of comfort. And for the rationalists: 24-hour Reception, porter service, hotel parking and petrol pump. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sorell Hotel Seefeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing