We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$675
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$634
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Baur au Lac(Zurich)
US$732
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$700
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
190
293
81
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
293
81
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold towntrain stationnespresso machinestreet noisestar hotelthe air conditioningbars and restaurantsfree wifiwalked everywherenice hotelwithin walking distanceminute walkstayed nightstea and coffeeincluded breakfastzurich hb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is located right outside the central station in Zurich, this is one stop away from the main train station if regional/airport connections are needed. There are also plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from, ranging from sit down dinners, bars and fast food.

The hotel itself was for its location fairly quite. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet is also pretty good.

I would stay here agian when traveling to Zurich.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your positiv feedback.
We are delighted to read that you had enjoyable time and that our breakfast and cleanliness in the rooms were to your liking.

We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I, with our 2 children (aged 4 and 7) booked a Superior room which included a queen bed and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was made when we arrived and it comfortably sleeps both my kids. The room was also spacious enough for the 4 of us.

Location was good. Walking distance to many museums and the old town. Reception staff was also helpful and well informed. There was parking along the streets so we did not have to pay for parking at the hotel.

Overall, a value for money stay. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Family

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your positiv and detailed reviews.
We are delighted to hear that you felt comfortable and Zurich and its offer were to your liking.
We will gladly forward your positiv comments to our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again and wish you all the best.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sorell Hotel Rutli for two nights. We loved the location...in the old town, many restaurants close, train walking distance. The room was very clean, bathroom modern and clean. If non-smoking is important to you, please remember to request non-smoking. The website we used to book did not have a way to request non-smoking and we were booked in a smoking room. We asked for a non-smoking and were effortlessly moved to a non-smoking room. Breakfast was fine, typical European. Plenty for me. Breads, fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea. We had a great time. Rather 'different' graffiti painted on the walls of the room-made us smile. I would return!

Room Tip: Request non-smoking if that is important to you.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarybethGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guest

We thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Rütli for your recent visit in Zurich.
We highly appreciate you sharing your most value comments with us.

We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Zurich and the hotel, it`s rooms and the old town were to your liking.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that you will have the chance to visit us on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting the city. It's conveniently situated, but I was surprised at night to find myself on the edge of the Red Light District with plenty of young ladies walking the streets. Not exactly where you wish to be when travelling as a single woman...
The hotel was clean, the a espresso machine much appreciated, but the heating was too difficult to adjust, so I was either too hit or too cold ( ok, I admit I am not good at playing with these devices...but this unit under the window had soooo many buttons .... )
Staff was friendly, the bed comfortable and breakfast ok. But for over 200 CHF I expected better.
Maybe Zurich is just really expensive ???

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the front street and away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciaAFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Rütli for your visit in Zürich.
We regret that we were not able to fully meet your expectations during your stay. It is correct, that some night clubs are at the end of the street but as we are at the beginning of the Zähringerstrasse we are not in a red light district. The hotel is located in the centre of the old town surrounded by lots of bars, restaurants and shops and it is a safe area as common in Zurich.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the free nespresso machine and the clean rooms. Regarding the heating, we apologies that it is too difficult to adjust. These are green certified heatings and they are different then in other hotels.
We thank you for your valued comments and wish you a happy New Year.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The Sorell Rutli is perfectly located for those travelling by train and first timers who want to be a stone's throw from the old town attractions. The rooms are clean, service is efficient (if not exactly warm) and everything works. Breakfast is simple but sufficient. There is little excess but given the prices in Zurich, this is best for a modest budget.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Happy2bHome_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your valuable feedback.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and location of the hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews