We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
US$193
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arlette Beim Hauptbahnhof(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$290
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
25hours Hotel Zurich West(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$289
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$278
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Montana(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$279
US$238
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
191
293
81
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
293
81
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold towntrain stationnespresso machinestreet noisestar hotelthe air conditioningbars and restaurantsfree wifiwalked everywherenice hotelwithin walking distanceminute walkstayed nightstea and coffeeincluded breakfastzurich hb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I'm only writing this review because the hotel specifically asked for one. I wasn't bowled over by this hotel. I couldn't get the coffee machine to work. Even if I had, there wasn't any sweetener. Breakfast buffet was adequate, but nothing special. The room was oppressively hot. Unfortunately, when I opened the window to get some cooler air, the night life was so so obstreperous, that it was really difficult to sleep. It was clean, the reception personnel friendly and the location very attractive. All in all, a "satisfactory", but no more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Rütli for your visit in Zürich.
Your comments greatly help the hotel to messure it`s quality and service and improve it`s daily work. We regret that we were not able to fully meet your expectations during your stay with us.
It is correct that our heating is a little bit special due to ecological reason. For such cases the reception can help anytime.
It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit here.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Location, location, location!

This hotel has more than that. Besides great position close to the Main train station (not too close to get woken up by early trains) and to the City center at the same time, they have kind and always helpful staff, including breakfast serving early birds.

Speaking of breakfast, you should try the salmon and assortment of swiss cheese they offer.. always fresh and marvelous taste! Rooms are very clean, soft towels and spotless bathroom is matter of course.

If you don't want to get spoiled just by a hotely you stay in, but want to explore the city instead and you're looking for a triple C (clean, cosy and comfortable ;) place just to lay your head after tiring business trip or all day sightseeing for a reasonable price, Sorell Rütli is the right spot for you!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors (4 or 5) and East side are quieter, however, with the quality windows shut you would hear a pin drop in any of them.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Rütli and sharing with us your positive and detailed reviews.
We are delighted to read that you had a marvellous stay and we gladly forward your positive comments to our staff. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet especially the good swiss cheese.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights
It is very very well located. Just a few minutes of walk from train station; just a few steps from the touristic bar, cafe street; just a few steps from the river.
Get a map from the hotel staff and pave your way for a classic Zürich walk.
Note that, everyshop is closed on Sunday, literally everything.

Hotel rooms are nice, clean and breakfast is alright. Would definetely recommend it to anyone. P.S. Go to booking.com, they had a secret deal when I booked this hotel, so it was quite alright.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ersinyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your good comments that we were able to receive.
We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Hotel Rütli and surroundings.
It is correct that some shops are closed on Sundays. We recommend for a Sunday the shop ville (in the railway Station) which is open or 12 minutes by train to the airport shopping.

We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is located right outside the central station in Zurich, this is one stop away from the main train station if regional/airport connections are needed. There are also plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from, ranging from sit down dinners, bars and fast food.

The hotel itself was for its location fairly quite. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet is also pretty good.

I would stay here agian when traveling to Zurich.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your positiv feedback.
We are delighted to read that you had enjoyable time and that our breakfast and cleanliness in the rooms were to your liking.

We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I, with our 2 children (aged 4 and 7) booked a Superior room which included a queen bed and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was made when we arrived and it comfortably sleeps both my kids. The room was also spacious enough for the 4 of us.

Location was good. Walking distance to many museums and the old town. Reception staff was also helpful and well informed. There was parking along the streets so we did not have to pay for parking at the hotel.

Overall, a value for money stay. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Family

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your positiv and detailed reviews.
We are delighted to hear that you felt comfortable and Zurich and its offer were to your liking.
We will gladly forward your positiv comments to our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again and wish you all the best.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews