We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The views from the rooms, and the gym and pool area are amazing, everything is comfortable and thought about. They have a complementary pillow menu where you can choose what type of pillow you like. The staff is extremely helpful and practical. Besides the standard toiletries in the bathroom they also bring you additional things if you ask. The food in the hotel restaurant is also excellent, very creative and tasty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
1  Thank Pavel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Pavel C
Winterly greetings from Zurich!
Thank you for your great feedback, I hope to welcome you back some day? ☺
Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stay: 1 night in November 2013.

Staff: English-speaking. Very friendly. Arrived at 8.30am after long flight and was given a room straight away - very much appreciated.

Room: Queen-size bed, on 11th floor. Very quiet for sleep quality. Very professional desk, plus chair with footrest.
Bathroom: Bath/shower combo.
Amenities: Mini-bar, individual aircon control (reasonably quiet operation). Flash Nespresso coffee-maker, DVD player, smallish Philips LCD TV.
WiFi: Free to Swissotel Circle Club members (membership is free, and I got a welcome gift of a small block of Swiss chocolate). Worked well, no blocked sites.

Breakfast: Good value "all you can eat" buffet (sausages, bacon, hash browns, boiled/scrambled eggs, pancakes, cereals, fruits).

Location: Barely 50m walk to Oerlikon train station, which is a major station with great connections to Kloten airport and Zurich city centre. You must get used to using the public transport in Zurich. For one thing, I'd hate to think what a taxi ride would cost in this very expensive city. And, the trains are frequent & reliable, stations/ticketing easy to handle, plus there's the tram and bus network (almost seems redundant in some places).
Migros, COOP supermarkets close by, as well as Starbucks, Maccas, and plenty of other shopping.

TV Channels (English): Bloomberg, Sky News, CNN, BBC World, BBC One, Russia Today, BBC News 24, ITV 2, Sky Sports 1, Eurosport. Much larger selection than most European hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaunt411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Jaunt411
Wow, thank you for your detailed feedback, I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay ☺ Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Located in Oerlikon Station the tall 32 Floor Building, good for business person, Rooms are small in size with coffee and maker, even bathroom so small and uncomfortable, there is lot of restaurant located close to the hotel,

Room Tip: City View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohamedMeeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear MohamedMeeran
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. Perhaps we can welcome you back some day? Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was the first stop on our 3 week European vacation and it was wonderful. We arrived early and the desk staff got us into our room immediately which was very welcome as we were a bit jet lagged. The location is excellent, the outdoor bar/lounge area comfortable and a good spot for people watching. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and made us feel at home. I'd say the train station is more like 30 seconds away than 2 minutes and that was so helpful as we were getting accustomed to European travel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views and if you can get up for the sunrise it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRtraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear DRtraveler55
Greetings from Zurich and THANK YOU for your kind words! I hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed 4 nights in swissotel and just came Back 2days ago. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from oerlikon station , 7 minutes from airport and 6 minutes to the city center. I got the room key even the time was 9:30 a.m. I stayed at room number 2301. Very nice room. You have everything you need in it. Mountains and platz view. Very quite in the room. Very very clean room. The air condition worked perfectly. On Saturday morning there is a food market in the platz outside the hotel which is a must visit. Also there is a mall with supermarket out of the hotel. The staff in the front desk are always welcoming and trying to help. The breakfast has everything you can think of and was delicious. The only minus is the very very high cost for wi-fi. Overall I had great stay at the hotel and for sure come again. I reccomend everybody to choose this hotel

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Michalstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear StephanStern
Thank you for your great feedback also on this platform. It is highly appreciated! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the surrounding area. We hope to welcome you back and then definetly with free wifi. Warmest regards, Carmen Kresse, Emotions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It's a very friendly hotel, with a good restaurant. The rooms are a little bit old, but it doesn't matter. The view is great. Public transport and parking facilities are given. Also parking isn't a problem at all. It was really a good time at the swissotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
1  Thank italien-fan-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear italian-fan-75
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Swissôtel! I hope you were able to visit the pool and maybe some Christmas markets? If not, I hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Carmen Kresse, Emotions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Consistent in quality, nice, functional rooms with excellent sound-proofing. The reception has their act together: Since I stayed here for the first time there is no further need to fill out forms at check-in. It's all done. My signature, that's it. (Eat your heart out, other hotels!).
The hotel's restaurant "Muh" offers very good quality meals, great buffet-breakfasts and has a very attentive service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bamboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Bamboo66
Thank you for your email and I am happy that check in went smoothly - it will be like that from now on ☺ Please let me know if i can be of any further assistance for future bookings. Best regards, Carmen Kresse - Emotions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
819 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#23 of 137 in Zurich
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#21 of 137 in Zurich
852 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#32 of 137 in Zurich
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#30 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £98 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing