We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Swiss hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Proceeded to stay at this hotel after reading guides from TripAdvisor. Perfect in every way. It's alil far off from Zurich city, but the hotel is just right in front of the train stop. Lobby was under renovations, but no problem for us.
We had a lovely room on the 23rd floor, and it was good.
The front desk even remembered my name and referred to me all the time during my stay. Didnt get to try the pork. Internet was good too. Shopping centre located just opposite it had some really good roast chicken and pork.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lups8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear lups8
I am more than happy to read, that we could "wow" you and I will forward your kind feedback to our Front Desk team! Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    889
    250
    78
    39
See reviews for
361
671
160
687
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed 5 nights in room 2014, booked directly from hotel website. Chosen this hotel because of it’s location.
Right opposite Oerlikon train station, one stop away from airport and 2 stop to Zurich HB. There is always a train to Zurich HB almost every 5-10 mins. Easy to purchase you day pass or the intercity ticket from the ticket office, it’s less crowed here than Zurich HB.

Check in/out was fast, front desk staff were cheerful and helpful.

I was delighted when I entered the room. Spacious clean room, looks like it was recently refurnished, except the carpeted floor there were obvious dirty stains left over by previous stayer. Furniture look new, big TV with many English channels. Room theme color green my favorite color, looks very refreshing. Good sound proof glass window, really keeps away the noise created by the construction and the passing trains. Being a Circle member, had free wifi in the room.
There are many supermarkets(one right in front of hotel-Migros & one back of hotel-Coop) ,eateries and fashion shops around hotel vicinity.

Overall – a pleasant stayed, will definitely stay here again in my next trip.

Room Tip: Premier room more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremySIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear JeremySIN
Sunny greetings! I am more than happy to read. that you enjoyed your stay in our "Premier room". Please let me know, when you stay with us the next time, then I'll get sure that you will have the same room. Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The rooms were small and old,furniture,
They removed the pay preview service that they had before
Allot of construction work in the lobby
limited number of restaurants in the hotel
good staff and good atmoposhere

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Faisal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Faisal K
Sunny greetings! Thank you for your review, as you have stated that we have limited number of restaurants, may I kindly ask for a more precise feedback as our "Le Muh" is open at any time. You can contact me directly under jenny.cardinaud@swissotel.com. Thank you & warm regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
أبو ظبي, الإمارات العربية المتحدة
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The location was amzing and good location for train station to every where you went it about 200 m from the hotel and the tranm 100 m
The room was very small
The brekfast excelant really
The toilet too small

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Hany A
Thank you for your rating and sunny greetings. As you have stated correctly, we are in the middle of buzzy Zurich Oerlikon and I am happy that you enjoyed it. Warm regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We began our Swiss trip here at the Swissotel in Zurich. The hotel was in a fantastic location and literally a stone throw away from the train station. Arriving, checking in and out were easy. The staff were pleasant. While we were there, there was a lot of road constructions going on below the hotel but it did not bother us too much.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor... its away from the street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_the_Globetrotter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear G_the_Globetrotter84
Thank you for your rating and enjoy the globetrotting☺ Warm regards Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Service:
Cleaning: extremely disapointed. After a long day, I was suprised to see in my room a dirty eaten dessert plate. I was wondering if someone entered my room and ordered it, but in fact it seems that the cleaning lady took it from another room while she was cleaning mine. Not professional at all
Value: expensive for what it is. Minimum CHF 230 per night without breakfast. Given the annoying renovation at lobby, I expected at least to have some reduction on the price
Sleep: disturbed by the neighboor via the connecting door or by the work outside on the railway - being done during all night
Room: room with connecting door to another room are to be avoided as you hear nearly the person breathing. Otherwise, a large number of rooms have been refurbished and well decorated.
location: this the main reason I stayed there as it is next to the railway station of Oerlikon and near the tram stop to go to Opfikon
spa: it was also disapointing to see that the pool was so hot (only to accomodate Asian - as it was indicated by the spa reception) so you cannot use it to swim or do sport but to only stay around for a couple of minutes. Nevertheless, the view is quite nice
gym: it is small and expected to have more machines. It is great that they provided TV for biking/walking machines
restaurant: the food for dinner time isn't really good (see my separate review) but the breakfast is great

Room Tip: Avoid any room with connecting door to another room (due to the noice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear M D
Thank you for your detailed review. As you have metioned, there were several things which were less than expected. I would be happy if you could contact me under jenny.cardinaud@swissotel.com. I would be delighted to make your next stay better than expected!
Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

A great place to stay, whether as a guests of few days in the hotel or a step-in customer for having one or two drinks/ lunch/ dinner.
The staff are SUPER COOL and FRIENDLY. Very helpful and give excellent service.

Very good location too. Only a few minutes by train to the both Zurich airport and city.
The train station is very close.

Bar and the restaurant has friendly and nice atmosphere. The food is great whether it's Caesar salad with chicken breast, fish dish or spaghetti, the food is really tasty and excellent.

I had to send an urgent business email and need to print a document. I asked one of the front desk and they were so helpful and happy to print the document for me. Very professional.

As a resident in Zurich, this is one of my absolute favorite places; after-work aperos, dinner or Sunday brunches. I'm just coming back here again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoosha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Anoosha A
WOW - what a great review! Thank you for being your first choice. I am more than happy to read that. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coronado Hotel
#29 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#20 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Property: Swissotel Zurich
Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#30 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing