We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zurich Swissotel”
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #38 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zurich Swissotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was my first time to stay at a Swissotel - it was fantastic. The hotel is across the street from Oerlikon station and very convenient to get to the hotel via train from the airport. Easy to get to old town area (1 stop away) where most tourist will want to go at least once to wonder around the stores and Lake Zurich. Have to try the dry sauna - it was so relaxing to watch the mountains and sunset (for those concerned it is no clothes and mixed gender - but really no one notices - just relax and enjoy the experience). Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank WillEKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear WillEKing
This is a great review - thank you! Seems, that you had a relaxing time at our hotel, including sauna on the 32nd floor with wonderful moutain view! Sunny regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    912
    257
    81
    41
See reviews for
375
681
162
717
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was the last hotel stop of our 10 day vacation before flying back to the USA. It was recommended to us by a friend back home who told us it was "right by the train station". And it IS but I didn't realize there are several train stations in Zurich and I had assumed it was by the main train station. It is actually one stop away at Oerlikon. Not a big deal, but wish I had known that ahead of time. When we got to street level at the Oerlikon station there was a lot of construction and it was confusing to figure out how to get over to the hotel, but once we got there we walked into a large, sleek, contemporary lobby, with lots of activity. Check-in was swift and professional and within minutes we were on our way to the 20th floor. You need your room key to activate the elevators (nice safety touch). The rooms we had were very nice, contemporary design with large windows and great views. Everything we needed was there: fast internet, plenty of outlets for charging our phones and ipad, coffee maker, nice toiletry products in the bathroom, plenty of towels, and interesting reading material on Zurich, to name a few. The air conditioning felt heavenly after spending time in other hotels and guest houses that did not have it. The beds were extremely comfortable (best of the trip) and we loved the pillows. Did not get to the pool, but heard it was great. Did have a drink in the bar downstairs (obviously a popular spot) and a very friendly employee helped us with suggestions of where to go that night. We took the train back into the city center to do some sightseeing which was simple enough, one short train stop away to the main station. Sleeping that night was a pleasure--no noise. We weren't going to eat breakfast there because it seemed pricey, but we ran out of time in the morning so decided to eat there afterall. Good move, because it was fabulous. Wide variety of all kinds of breakfast food, all very fresh and appetizing. The restaurant setting was comfortable and the staff were friendly and funny. Wish we could have lingered longer. It was an easy, short train trip to the airport. All in all, the location is very good for getting around due to its location next to the Oerlikon station. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 20th floor. Nice views. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear BGfamily
No more words than a big "THANK YOU" for this great review!
Happy regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have stayed here several times, on business and with my family. The hotel is quite a long way out of the Zurich centre but this causes no difficulties because there are tram stops and a train station directly opposite the hotel. What keeps drawing me back is the pool and spa. The gym is really small but is well maintained and provides a great view across Oerlikon, toward Zurich. Similarly, the pool provides a stunning view out from three sides of the hotel and across the town. Everything about the hotel is organised with the usual Swiss/German efficiency - it all works well and makes for a really easy stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear ExplorerLog
Sounds like, you are one of our frequent guests? :-)
Thank you for the reviwe and your loyality - I appreciate it!
Happy regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A good modern hotel ideally located opposite the train station with easy access all over Zurich. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were all very helpful and friendly and there is a very nice pool on the 32nd floor with great views over Zurich and gym next to it. We had breakfast which was varied and overall pretty decent. There are some major works going on to the train station opposite but we were there on a bank holiday and weekend so were not affected, not sure how loud it might have been otherwise, the hotel did provide ear plugs which may indicate that it could get noisy but I can not really comment on that. Overall very conveniently situated hotel with lovely staff that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arif X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Arif X
...great review - thank you! I appreciate your words about our pool and hotel.
Happy regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very nice, recently renovated the lobby, it's beautiful! The rooms are wonderful views of the town of Oerlikon. Hotel is across the street from the Oerlikon train station. Airport not far by train easy to reach every where in town .My favorite part is the Pool and stream room free cup of tea on the 32nd floor.pool heated and the views are breathtaking. a hotel to Consider when visiting Zurich

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pat1976_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear pat1976_12
Thank you for your compliments for our hotel, pool and location. Sunny regards from Zurich, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went back to a two-week vacation in the Black Forest waiting for a flight home the next day, the hotel is in an excellent location between the airport and the city center opposite the train station.
Great hotel service
Rooms are clean and equipped with everything needed
A rich breakfast
Spa and swimming pool at the 32th floor

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YossiAzoulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you, YossiAzoulay !
I hope you had a great time at the Blackforest :-)
Happy regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was modern, comfortable, and frankly did it's job very well for us. Proximity to train station is key with this property allowing for fast access to and from Zürich airport and the city center.
Built for the business traveler the room was full of amenities such as a suit presser, Nespresso machine, (which is awesome), DVD player, etc. The concierge was extremely helpful and stands out in our memory.
A couple of thoughts on this hotel: Unless you're under the age of 10 and enjoy humidity in the extreme, avoid the pool.
Also, note that if you plan on showering, you had better be very, very comfortable with your traveling companion seeing you completely naked. They will see you through the clear glass from just about every point of the room. We didn't mind but it did leave us chuckling to ourselves as we wondered out loud, "what on earth were they thinking."
At the end of the day this was a good value for the $ and we'd stay here again on a transit day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jhisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear jhisley
How lovely you did describe the shower situation :-) Indeed, all our so called "Swiss Business Advantage rooms" have a glass wall between bedroom and bathroom. But we also have other room categories, where the bathroom is completely seperated.
Thank you for your nice comments and I hope to welcome you back someday!
Warm regards, Jenny - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 139 in Zurich
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
590 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#19 of 139 in Zurich
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Property: Swissotel Zurich
Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing